Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 21, 2014

Richard Bausch: IMG Why Literature Can Save Us



Our title is, of course, a problem. "Why Literature Can Save Us." And of course the problem is one of definition: what those words mean. What is... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Before, During, After

    Richard Bausch 9780307266262

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.99
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
25 Local Warehouse Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy
20 Remote Warehouse Children's- Science Fiction and Fantasy

Other titles in the Magic Thief series:

Magic Thief #01: The Magic Thief, Book One

by

Magic Thief #01: The Magic Thief, Book One Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From T.A. Barron, the New York Times bestselling author of the Merlin Saga, comes a new fantasy world about the origins of Atlantis, perfect for fans of The Lord of the Rings, Eragon, The Beyonders and Percy Jackson and the Olympians.

In a magical land called Ellegandia, a young boy named Promi scrapes by, stealing pies, cakes and sweets to survive. But little does he know that his country is a pawn in an ages-old war between good and evil, battled both in the spirit realm and in the human world. Harboring secrets of his own, Promi teams up with a courageous girl named Atlanta and the two vow to save their

land—and each other—no matter the cost. But their vow has greater repercussions than they ever could imagine—in fact, it may just bring about the creation of Atlantis, an island cut off from the rest of the world, where magic reigns supreme.

With his trademark action, adventure, and poignancy,master of fantasy, T.A. Barron explores a new mythology—the origin of the legendary isle of Atlantis. This book is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, Christopher Paolini and, of course, T. A. Barrons Merlin Saga.

Praise for T. A. Barrons novels:

 

“Brilliant, significant, and illuminating . . . an intense and profoundly spiritual adventure.”—Lloyd Alexander

 

“A crescendo of miracles.”—Madeleine LEngle

  

“Interesting and august . . . compelling.”—The New York Times

 

“In the best tradition . . . classic.”—Parents Magazine

 

Synopsis:

In a city that runs on a dwindling supply of magic, a young boy is drawn into a life of wizardry and adventure. Conn should have dropped dead the day he picked Nevery's pocket and touched the wizard's locus magicalicus, a stone used to focus magic and work spells. But for some reason he did not. Nevery finds that interesting, and he takes Conn as his apprentice on the provision that the boy find a locus stone of his own. But Conn has little time to search for his stone between wizard lessons and helping Nevery discover who—or what—is stealing the city of Wellmet's magic.

About the Author

Sarah Prineas lives in the midst of the corn in rural Iowa and can usually be found writing fantasy novels on a stealthy silver MacBook Air called Dash. Prineas's Magic Thief series introduced readers to the irascible wizard Nevery and his gutterboy apprentice, Connwaer. Sarah holds a PhD in English literature and recently taught honors seminars on fantasy and science fiction literature at the University of Iowa. She has an amazing dragon action-figure collection and occasionally bakes biscuits (although she says hers never seem to turn out as tasty as Benet's do in The Magic Thief). She is also the author of Winterling, Summerkin, and Moonkind.

Sarah is married to John Prineas, a physics professor, which comes in handy when she's writing about magic. They are the parents of Maud and Theo.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061375903
Author:
Prineas, Sarah
Publisher:
HarperTrophy
Illustrator:
Caparo, Antonio Javier
Author:
Prineas, Sar
Author:
Barron, T. A.
Author:
Caparo, Antonio Javier
Author:
, A.H.
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Subject:
Legends, Myths, & Fables - General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback
Series:
Magic Thief
Series Volume:
01
Publication Date:
20090431
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 5
Language:
English
Illustrations:
YES
Pages:
448
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.44 in 21.44 oz
Age Level:
10-14

Other books you might like

  1. Chasing Vermeer
    Used Book Club Paperback $2.50
  2. Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls, School,... Used Hardcover $7.50
  3. Zorgamazoo
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  4. Alvin Ho #02: Allergic to Camping,... Used Trade Paper $3.50

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General

Magic Thief #01: The Magic Thief, Book One New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.99 In Stock
Product details 448 pages HarperTrophy - English 9780061375903 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In a city that runs on a dwindling supply of magic, a young boy is drawn into a life of wizardry and adventure. Conn should have dropped dead the day he picked Nevery's pocket and touched the wizard's locus magicalicus, a stone used to focus magic and work spells. But for some reason he did not. Nevery finds that interesting, and he takes Conn as his apprentice on the provision that the boy find a locus stone of his own. But Conn has little time to search for his stone between wizard lessons and helping Nevery discover who—or what—is stealing the city of Wellmet's magic.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.