Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | November 28, 2014

    Eleanor Catton: IMG Eleanor Catton: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$22.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z
16 Local Warehouse Horror- General
18 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

The Haunting of Hill House (Penguin Horror)

by

The Haunting of Hill House (Penguin Horror) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Part of a new six-volume series of the best in classic horror, selected by award-winning director Guillermo del Toro

 

Filmmaker and longtime horror literature fan Guillermo del Toro serves as the curator for the Penguin Horror series, a new collection of classic tales and poems by masters of the genre. Included here are some of del Toros favorites, from Mary Shelleys Frankenstein and Ray Russells short story “Sardonicus,” considered by Stephen King to be “perhaps the finest example of the modern Gothic ever written,” to Shirley Jacksons The Haunting of Hill House and stories by Ray Bradbury, Joyce Carol Oates, Ted Klein, and Robert E. Howard. Featuring original cover art by Penguin Art Director Paul Buckley, these stunningly creepy deluxe hardcovers will be perfect additions to the shelves of horror, sci-fi, fantasy, and paranormal aficionados everywhere.

The Haunting of Hill House

The classic supernatural thriller by an author who helped define the genre. First published in 1959, Shirley Jackson's The Haunting of Hill House has been hailed as a perfect work of unnerving terror. It is the story of four seekers who arrive at a notoriously unfriendly pile called Hill House: Dr. Montague, an occult scholar looking for solid evidence of a “haunting;' Theodora, his lighthearted assistant; Eleanor, a friendless, fragile young woman well acquainted with poltergeists; and Luke, the future heir of Hill House. At first, their stay seems destined to be merely a spooky encounter with inexplicable phenomena. But Hill House is gathering its powers—and soon it will choose one of them to make its own.

Synopsis:

A definitive collection of stories from the unrivaled master of twentieth-century horror

"I think it is beyond doubt that H. P. Lovecraft has yet to be surpassed as the twentieth century's greatest practitioner of the classic horror tale." -Stephen King

Frequently imitated and widely influential, Howard Philips Lovecraft reinvented the horror genre in the 1920s, discarding ghosts and witches and instead envisioning mankind as a tiny outpost of dwindling sanity in a chaotic and malevolent universe. S. T. Joshi, Lovecraft's preeminent interpreter, presents a selection of the master's fiction, from the early tales of nightmares and madness such as "The Outsider" to the overpowering cosmic terror of "The Call of Cthulhu." More than just a collection of terrifying tales, this volume reveals the development of Lovecraft's mesmerizing narrative style and establishes him as a canonical- and visionary-American writer.

For more than sixty-five years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,500 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

Synopsis:

Frequently imitated and widely influential, H. P. Lovecraft reinvented the horror genre for the twentieth century. Discarding witches and ghosts, he envisaged mankind as an outpost of dwindling sanity in a chaotic and malevolent universe. S. T. Joshi makes his selection from the early tales of nightmares and madness to the overpowering cosmic terror of 'The Call of Cthulhu'. This is the first paperback edition to include the definitive corrected texts of these classics of American fantasy fiction.

About the Author

Shirley Jackson (1919–1965), a celebrated writer of horror, wrote many stories as well as six novels and two works of nonfiction.

Laura Miller, previously an editor at Salon.com, writes essays and reviews for the New York Times, the New Yorker, and other publications.

Table of Contents

The Call of Cthulhu and Other Weird Stories Introduction

Suggestions for Further Reading

A Note on the Text

Dagon

The Statement of Randolph Carter

Facts Concerning the Late Arthur Jermyn and His Family

Celephais

Nyarlathotep

The Picture in the House

The Outsider

Herbert West - Reanimator

The Hound

The Rats in the Walls

The Festival

He

Cool Air

The Call of Cthulhu

The Colour Out of Space

The Whisperer in Darkness

The Shadow Over Innsmouth

The Haunter of the Dark

Explanatory Notes

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

lukas, November 14, 2014 (view all comments by lukas)
"The house was vile. She shivered and thoughts, the words coming freely into her mind, Hill house is vile, it is diseased; get away from here at once."
Shirley Jackson's famous short story "The Lottery" tends to overshadow her other books, which tend towards subtle, spooky gothic horror. This is one of her best and will appeal to fans of Poe, M.R. James, and "The Turn of the Screw." Also see her "We Have Always Lived at the Castle." Filmed twice as "The Haunting." Introduction by director Guillermo Del Toro.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780143122357
Author:
Jackson, Shirley
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Author:
Kostova, Elizabeth
Author:
Del Toro, Guillermo
Author:
Clowes, Daniel
Author:
Miller, Laura
Author:
Toro, Guillermo del
Author:
Hindle, Maurice
Author:
Lethem, Jonathan
Author:
Mary Shelley
Author:
Lovecraft, H.P.
Author:
Ott, Thomas
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Classics
Subject:
Horror
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Horror - General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Penguin Classics Deluxe
Publication Date:
20131031
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
448
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Tom McCall, Maverick :an autobiography Used Hardcover $8.95
  2. Small Sacrifices: A True Story of...
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  3. Clifford the Small Red Puppy... Used Pamphlet $1.95
  4. Look What I Did with a Leaf... Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. The Secret World of Arrietty Picture... New Hardcover $19.99
  6. Give Thanks for Each Day New Trade Paper $4.99

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Haunting of Hill House (Penguin Horror) New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$22.00 In Stock
Product details 448 pages Penguin Books - English 9780143122357 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by ,
A definitive collection of stories from the unrivaled master of twentieth-century horror

"I think it is beyond doubt that H. P. Lovecraft has yet to be surpassed as the twentieth century's greatest practitioner of the classic horror tale." -Stephen King

Frequently imitated and widely influential, Howard Philips Lovecraft reinvented the horror genre in the 1920s, discarding ghosts and witches and instead envisioning mankind as a tiny outpost of dwindling sanity in a chaotic and malevolent universe. S. T. Joshi, Lovecraft's preeminent interpreter, presents a selection of the master's fiction, from the early tales of nightmares and madness such as "The Outsider" to the overpowering cosmic terror of "The Call of Cthulhu." More than just a collection of terrifying tales, this volume reveals the development of Lovecraft's mesmerizing narrative style and establishes him as a canonical- and visionary-American writer.

For more than sixty-five years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,500 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

"Synopsis" by ,
Frequently imitated and widely influential, H. P. Lovecraft reinvented the horror genre for the twentieth century. Discarding witches and ghosts, he envisaged mankind as an outpost of dwindling sanity in a chaotic and malevolent universe. S. T. Joshi makes his selection from the early tales of nightmares and madness to the overpowering cosmic terror of 'The Call of Cthulhu'. This is the first paperback edition to include the definitive corrected texts of these classics of American fantasy fiction.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.