Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Contributors | November 26, 2014

    Chris Faatz: IMG The Collected Poems of James Laughlin



    Fall has brought us a true gift in the publication of the massive The Collected Poems of James Laughlin, published by New Directions in an... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
25 Local Warehouse General- General
25 Remote Warehouse Children's Middle Readers- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin

by

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In a magical kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke.

Rump has never known his full name—his mother died before she could tell him. So all his life he's been teased and bullied for his half-a-name. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. For Rump discovers he can spin straw into gold. Magical gold.

His best friend Red Riding Hood warns him that magic is dangerous—and she's right! That gold is worth its weight in trouble. And with each thread he spins, Rump weaves himself deeper into a curse.

There's only one way to break the spell: Rump must go on a quest to find his true name, along the way defending himself against pixies, trolls, poison apples, and one beautiful but vile-mannered queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—Rump just might triumph in the end.

An inventive fairytale retelling, perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine or Shannon Hale.

Review:

"Debut author Shurtliff upends the traditional characterization of this fairy tale's antihero, recasting Rumpelstiltskin as a sympathetic and tragically doomed protagonist. His mother dies shortly after childbirth and only manages to utter half a name, Rump, making him the butt of jokes and also influencing his fate. 'In The Kingdom your name isn't just what people call you. Your name is full of meaning and power. Your name is your destiny,' he explains. The author effectively builds the devastating events — including the death of his Gran, hunger, and hopelessness — that lead Rump to discover his ability to spin straw into gold, riches he trades to the town swindler, the miller. When the miller lies to the king and tells him his daughter possesses this ability, Rump steals into the castle to help her, trading magic for trinkets until she offers her firstborn, which the rules of magic dictate he must accept. Shurtliff fills Rump's world with common magic and deadpan humor; the picaresque-style narrative gives the maligned character a refreshingly plainspoken voice, while honoring the original story's hauntingly strange events. Ages 8 — 12. Agent: Michelle Andelman, Regal Literary. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

Liesl Shurtliff was born and raised in Salt Lake City, Utah, with the mountains for her playground. Just like Rump, Liesl was shy about her name, growing up. Not only did it rhyme with weasel, she could never find it on any of those personalized key chains in gift shops. But over the years she’s grown to love having an unusual name—and today she wouldn’t change it for the world!

Before she became a writer, Liesl graduated from Brigham Young University with a degree in music, dance, and theater. She now lives in Chicago with her husband and three young children, where she still dreams of the mountains. Rump is her first novel.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307977939
Author:
Shurtliff, Liesl
Publisher:
Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Subject:
Children s-Adventure Stories
Subject:
fantasy;fairy tale;fiction
Subject:
fantasy;fiction;fairy tale;fairy tales;magic
Subject:
fairy tale;fairy tales;middle grade fantasy;middle grade humor;funny middle grade;magic;funny fairy tale;funny fairy tales;middle grade fiction;Rumpelstiltskin;fairytale;fairytales;fractured fairy tales;fractured fairy tale;middle grade fairy tale;middle
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20130431
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 3 up to 7
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
8.5 x 5.9 x 1.01 in 0.825 lb
Age Level:
from 8 up to 12

Other books you might like

  1. Brotherband Chronicles #01: The Outcasts Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  2. The Council of Mirrors (The Sisters...
    Used Hardcover $7.50
  3. Splintered
    New Mass Market $12.50
  4. Beyonders #03: Chasing the Prophecy Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  5. Candy Shop War #2: The Candy Shop... Used Hardcover $13.50
  6. Poison New Trade Paper $9.99

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Fairy Tales » Adaptations
Children's » Humor
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Middle Readers » New Arrivals

Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.99 In Stock
Product details 272 pages Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - English 9780307977939 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Debut author Shurtliff upends the traditional characterization of this fairy tale's antihero, recasting Rumpelstiltskin as a sympathetic and tragically doomed protagonist. His mother dies shortly after childbirth and only manages to utter half a name, Rump, making him the butt of jokes and also influencing his fate. 'In The Kingdom your name isn't just what people call you. Your name is full of meaning and power. Your name is your destiny,' he explains. The author effectively builds the devastating events — including the death of his Gran, hunger, and hopelessness — that lead Rump to discover his ability to spin straw into gold, riches he trades to the town swindler, the miller. When the miller lies to the king and tells him his daughter possesses this ability, Rump steals into the castle to help her, trading magic for trinkets until she offers her firstborn, which the rules of magic dictate he must accept. Shurtliff fills Rump's world with common magic and deadpan humor; the picaresque-style narrative gives the maligned character a refreshingly plainspoken voice, while honoring the original story's hauntingly strange events. Ages 8 — 12. Agent: Michelle Andelman, Regal Literary. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.