Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    What I'm Giving | December 3, 2014

    Mary Oliver: IMG Mary Oliver: What I'm Giving



    At Powell's, we feel the holidays are the perfect time to share our love of books with those close to us. For this special blog series, we reached... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$14.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
available for shipping or prepaid pickup only
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
5 Remote Warehouse Biology- Reference

This title in other editions

The Rural Life

by

The Rural Life Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

This is a collection of Klinkenborg's writings on the natural world and the changing seasons which appear frequently in a column entitled "The Rural Life" on the editorial page of the "New York Times."

Synopsis:

In the tradition of E. B. White and Henry David Thoreau, a yearlong meditation on the deep joys of country life by one of America's best loved writers. In the pages of the New Yorker, Harpers, the New York Times, and his acclaimed books Making Hay and The Last Fine Time, Verlyn Klinkenborg has mastered a voice of singular lyricism and precision. His subject is the American landscape: not the landscape admired from a scenic overlook, but one taken in from a rusty chair propped against the worn siding of a screened-in porch, or from the window of a pick-up driving down an empty highway in the teeth of an approaching storm. Klinkenborg gives us in The Rural Life a fresh view of our greatest subject, the ordinary beauty of our daily lives.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316735513
Editor:
Baker, Deborah
Publisher:
Back Bay Books
Author:
Klinkenborg, Verlyn
Location:
Boston Mass.
Subject:
General
Subject:
Nature
Subject:
Essays
Subject:
Country life
Subject:
Natural history
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Biology-Reference
Copyright:
Edition Description:
1st Back Bay pbk. ed.
Series Volume:
no. 02-09-046
Publication Date:
20040105
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
224
Dimensions:
8.26x5.48x.59 in. .45 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Midnight Folk Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. The Hydrogen Economy: The Creation... Used Hardcover $5.50
  3. Companion to a Sand County Almanac Used Trade Paper $11.00
  4. A Sand County Almanac: And Sketches... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  5. Passionate Nomad: The Life of Freya... Used Trade Paper $6.95
  6. The Art of Garden Photography Used Trade Paper $8.95

Related Subjects


Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » General
Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » Profiles and Biographies
Science and Mathematics » Biology » Reference

The Rural Life New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$14.00 In Stock
Product details 224 pages Back Bay Books - English 9780316735513 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of E. B. White and Henry David Thoreau, a yearlong meditation on the deep joys of country life by one of America's best loved writers. In the pages of the New Yorker, Harpers, the New York Times, and his acclaimed books Making Hay and The Last Fine Time, Verlyn Klinkenborg has mastered a voice of singular lyricism and precision. His subject is the American landscape: not the landscape admired from a scenic overlook, but one taken in from a rusty chair propped against the worn siding of a screened-in porch, or from the window of a pick-up driving down an empty highway in the teeth of an approaching storm. Klinkenborg gives us in The Rural Life a fresh view of our greatest subject, the ordinary beauty of our daily lives.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.