The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$26.00
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Burnside Literature- A to Z
25 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
25 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

The Deepest Secret

by

The Deepest Secret Cover

ISBN13: 9780345535245
ISBN10: 0345535243
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, The Deepest Secret is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we’re scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.

 

Eve Lattimore’s family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world.

 

Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control—and some secrets that not even love can conceal.

 

Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, The Deepest Secret is a novel of rare power—a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.

Praise for The Deepest Secret

 

“A taut family drama . . . smart and thrilling.”People

 

“Elegant, poignant, and utterly riveting . . . a suspenseful tale of love, forgiveness, and sacrifice that will leave you asking how far a mother really should go to protect her family and wondering about the cost of the secrets we all keep, even from ourselves.”—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Reconstructing Amelia

 

“Exceptionally moving and unrelentingly suspenseful . . . everything a great novel, and thriller, should be.”—Providence Journal

 

“Superb . . . The story offers the intricate suspense and surprise of a thriller, along with rich characterizations and nuanced writing. . . . A gripping read and a memorable reflection on the conflicting imperatives of love.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)

 

“Carla Buckley masterfully portrays an ordinary family trapped in a heart-wrenching crisis.”—William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob

 

“Fans of Jodi Picoult will enjoy this compelling blend of ripped-from-the-headlines suspense and close-to-your-heart characters.”—Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fear Nothing

Review:

"In Buckley's (Invisible) superb third novel, ordinary human nature and extraordinary circumstances collide to powerful effect. The story offers the intricate suspense and surprise of a thriller, along with rich characterizations and nuanced writing. Teenager Tyler Lattimore has xeroderma pigmentosum, which makes the slightest exposure to ultraviolet light potentially fatal. His mother, Eve, shapes their lives around his safekeeping, struggling to nurture her husband and daughter while managing Tyler's complex needs. On the way to the airport one rainy night, Eve's car hits something as she is texting. Horrified, she discovers not an animal but her best friend Charlotte's young daughter, dead, alongside a deserted road. If she simply drives on, Charlotte will suffer terror, confusion, perhaps even accusation. Yet reporting the accident risks jail time and depriving Tyler of Eve's protection, and Eve of precious moments in his fragile life. As Eve faces her choice, Tyler reaches for freedom and normalcy under cover of darkness. The story's suburban world is beautifully observed, its characters convincing, flawed, and sympathetic. Ultimately, Buckley delivers a gripping read and a memorable reflection on the conflicting imperatives of love." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

US

About the Author

Carla Buckley is the author of The Deepest Secret, Invisible, and The Things That Keep Us Here, which was nominated for a Thriller Award as a best first novel and the Ohioana Book Award for fiction. She has also worked as an assistant press secretary for a U.S. senator, an analyst with the Smithsonian Institution, and a technical writer for a defense contractor. She lives in Columbus, Ohio, with her husband, an environmental scientist, and their three children. She is currently at work on her next novel.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

The Lost Entwife, February 23, 2014 (view all comments by The Lost Entwife)
I seem to be reading quite a few books that center around the community that forms within the confines of a suburban neighborhood. I can immediately think of at least half a dozen books I've read in the past six months or so that have this theme and, considering the diversity of what I tend to read, that's pretty outstanding. I don't know if it's a theme to watch for, or if right now with so much in the world going crazy between school shootings and other attacks happening on children, it is something that is prominent in people's (see: authors) minds. And, as you have no doubt surmised, it was the theme in The Deepest Secret by Carla Buckley.

So the question is this: if you had a child who only had a limited time on this early due to a rare and serious disease, and you did something that could compromise the time you spent with that child and, quite possibly, the child's well-being, would you own up to what you did? That is the question that Eve faces. Her son, Tyler, has a rare disease that makes UV quite dangerous to him - as in fatal. She has taken care of him, given up everything for him, and now - due to circumstances beyond her control, she commits an act that would see her taken away from him for an extended period of time.

Buckley studies the dynamics of the decision that Eve makes within the context of the neighborhood as a whole. Some of the issues the family of a child with XP faces are brought to light as well as the behavior of the child that may be the result. Sometimes, Tyler's behavior confused me and that is, ultimately, why the book didn't get a 4-5 star rating...because there seemed to be quite a bit going on that just didn't make sense, given the complete control Eve supposedly had over Tyler's life.

As a mystery/suspense novel, however, this one had me biting my nails with worry. I kept telling myself not to care so much about Eve - but I couldn't help it. My heart ached for her and The Deepest Secret, if nothing else, showed me that seemingly black and white decisions are not always quite so black and white.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345535245
Author:
Buckley, Carla
Publisher:
Bantam
Subject:
Family saga
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Fiction
Subject:
fiction;family;thrillers;mystery and thrillers
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20140231
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
480
Dimensions:
9.55 x 6.41 x 1.4 in 1.48 lb

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense

The Deepest Secret New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$26.00 In Stock
Product details 480 pages Bantam - English 9780345535245 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In Buckley's (Invisible) superb third novel, ordinary human nature and extraordinary circumstances collide to powerful effect. The story offers the intricate suspense and surprise of a thriller, along with rich characterizations and nuanced writing. Teenager Tyler Lattimore has xeroderma pigmentosum, which makes the slightest exposure to ultraviolet light potentially fatal. His mother, Eve, shapes their lives around his safekeeping, struggling to nurture her husband and daughter while managing Tyler's complex needs. On the way to the airport one rainy night, Eve's car hits something as she is texting. Horrified, she discovers not an animal but her best friend Charlotte's young daughter, dead, alongside a deserted road. If she simply drives on, Charlotte will suffer terror, confusion, perhaps even accusation. Yet reporting the accident risks jail time and depriving Tyler of Eve's protection, and Eve of precious moments in his fragile life. As Eve faces her choice, Tyler reaches for freedom and normalcy under cover of darkness. The story's suburban world is beautifully observed, its characters convincing, flawed, and sympathetic. Ultimately, Buckley delivers a gripping read and a memorable reflection on the conflicting imperatives of love." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , US
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.