Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | February 27, 2014

Rene Denfeld: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Rene Denfeld



Describe your latest book. The Enchanted is a story narrated by a man on death row. The novel was inspired by my work as a death penalty... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Enchanted

    Rene Denfeld 9780062285508

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$25.95
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
17 Remote Warehouse Popular Fiction- Suspense
8 Remote Warehouse Popular Fiction- Suspense

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

No Regrets, Coyote

by

No Regrets, Coyote Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

On Christmas Eve in Eden, Florida, Wylie “Coyote” Melville, therapist and forensic consultant, is summoned to a horrific crime scene. Five members of the Halliday family have been brutally killed. Wylie’s rare talent is an ability to read a crime scene, consider the evidence seen and unseen, and determine what’s likely to have happened. The police are soon convinced that the deaths were a murder-suicide carried out by a broken and desperate Chafin Halliday, but Wylie’s not so sure.

As Wylie begins his own investigation with the help of his friend Bay Lettique—a poker-playing sleight-of-hand artist with links to the Everglades County underworld—he discovers a web of corruption involving the police union, Ponzi-scheming lawyers, county politicians, and the Russian mob. What follows is a heart-stopping, edgy novel that introduces a completely original crime solver.

Review:

"The Eden, Fla., police believe that Chafin Halliday slaughtered his wife and three young children before killing himself in this absorbing if at times frustrating noir from Dufresne (Louisiana Power & Light). However, therapist Wylie 'Coyote' Melville, a volunteer forensic consultant, thinks the supposed murder/suicide looks staged. He also has his doubts about the typed note Halliday left at the scene. Distracted by his own family's emotional troubles, Wylie is too unfocused to deal with Eden's escalating tangle of police corruption or to realize how close to its center he is. Lauded as a man of keen insight, Wylie knows something is seriously wrong, but is unaware that he's become a pawn in a game he no longer understands. His inability to apply his analytic skills to himself is plausible, as is the ease with which those around him steer him for their own benefit, but the result is a story ever so slightly out of focus. Agent: Richard P. McDonough, Richard P. McDonough Literary Agency. (July)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

For readers of Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane, a South Florida noir from the best-selling author of Louisiana Power & Light.

About the Author

John Dufresne has written several books, including the novels Requiem, Mass. and Love Warps the Mind a Little (a New York Times Notable Book), and the fiction writing guides The Lie That Tells a Truth and Is Life Like This? He lives in Dania Beach, Florida.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780393070538
Author:
Dufresne, John
Publisher:
W. W. Norton & Company
Author:
DuFresne, John
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Suspense
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20130731
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
9.25 x 6.125 in

Other books you might like

  1. North American Indian Sign Language Used Trade Paper $2.50
  2. Indian Sign Language Used Trade Paper $2.95

Related Subjects

Business » General
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense

No Regrets, Coyote New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$25.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages W. W. Norton & Company - English 9780393070538 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "The Eden, Fla., police believe that Chafin Halliday slaughtered his wife and three young children before killing himself in this absorbing if at times frustrating noir from Dufresne (Louisiana Power & Light). However, therapist Wylie 'Coyote' Melville, a volunteer forensic consultant, thinks the supposed murder/suicide looks staged. He also has his doubts about the typed note Halliday left at the scene. Distracted by his own family's emotional troubles, Wylie is too unfocused to deal with Eden's escalating tangle of police corruption or to realize how close to its center he is. Lauded as a man of keen insight, Wylie knows something is seriously wrong, but is unaware that he's become a pawn in a game he no longer understands. His inability to apply his analytic skills to himself is plausible, as is the ease with which those around him steer him for their own benefit, but the result is a story ever so slightly out of focus. Agent: Richard P. McDonough, Richard P. McDonough Literary Agency. (July)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , For readers of Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane, a South Florida noir from the best-selling author of Louisiana Power & Light.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.