25 Women to Read Before You Die
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | August 28, 2015

    Sara Jaffe: IMG Summer Friction



    I was crying or almost crying for most of Fun Home: The Musical — I already loved Alison Bechdel's graphic novel, and I've always been a... Continue »
    1. $10.47 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

      Dryland

      Sara Jaffe 9781941040133

    spacer

On Order

$19.95
New Hardcover
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Poetry- A to Z

The Prophet

by

The Prophet Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A bestseller around the world and translated into more than 20 languages, this timeless masterpiece is presented in a small, elegant gift edition

Inspired largely by the beauty and timelessness of nature, the best-loved of Kahlil Gibran's many writings speaks of love and marriage, joy and sorrow, reason and passion, beauty and death, and conveys the yearning for a Unity of Being that can only be achieved through love. Illustrated with his own enchanting and mystical drawings, this is perhaps the most famous work of religious fiction of the 20th century, a necessity for fans of The Secret and The Alchemist, and a wonderful companion for anybody embarking on their own spiritual journey.

Synopsis:

First published in the 1920s, this book attempts to provide the reader with a guide to living. Gibran lets his protagonist, called simply the prophet, deliver homilies on a variety of topics central to daily life: love marriage and children, work and play, possessions, beauty, truth, joy and sorrow and death.

About the Author

Kahlil Gibran (1883-1931) is an artist, poet, and writer. He is best-known in the English-speaking world for The Prophet.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780434290819
Author:
GIBRAN, KAHLIL
Illustrator:
GIBRAN, KAHLIL
Author:
Gibran
Publisher:
Random House UK
Location:
N
Subject:
General Philosophy
Subject:
Encyclopedias
Subject:
Inspirational & Religious
Subject:
Poetry-A to Z
Subject:
poetry;philosophy;spirituality;religion;fiction;mysticism;literature;spiritual;classic;inspiration;classics;non-fiction;inspirational;love;gibran;wisdom;middle east;lebanon;20th century;kahlil gibran;lebanese;islam;essays;marriage;friendship;ethics;childr
Subject:
poetry;philosophy;spirituality;religion;fiction;mysticism;literature;spiritual;classic;inspiration;classics;non-fiction;inspirational;love;gibran;wisdom;middle east;lebanon;20th century;kahlil gibran;lebanese;islam;essays;marriage;friendship;ethics;childr
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Cloth
Publication Date:
19930913
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
128
Dimensions:
172 x 133 in.

Other books you might like

  1. Collected Poems, 1909-1962 Used Trade Paper $12.00
  2. Twenty Love Poems: And a Song of Despair Used Mass Market $2.95
  3. Leaves of Grass (Bantam Classics) Used Trade Paper $4.00
  4. Story S-T-R-E-T-C-H-E-R-Sb.:... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  5. Outlander
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  6. Age-Defying Fitness: Making the Most...
    Used Trade Paper $12.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Poetry » A to Z
Humanities » Philosophy » General
Reference » Encyclopedias » General
Religion » Christianity » Kahlil Gibran

The Prophet New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$19.95 Backorder
Product details 128 pages Random House UK - English 9780434290819 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , First published in the 1920s, this book attempts to provide the reader with a guide to living. Gibran lets his protagonist, called simply the prophet, deliver homilies on a variety of topics central to daily life: love marriage and children, work and play, possessions, beauty, truth, joy and sorrow and death.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

       
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.