Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 22, 2014

Nick Harkaway: IMG The Florist-Assassins



The three men lit up in my mind's eye, with footnotes. They were converging on me — and on the object I was carrying — in a way that had... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Tigerman

    Nick Harkaway 9780385352413

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.99
New Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
25 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- Social Issue Fiction
25 Remote Warehouse Children's Young Adult- Social Issue Fiction

Stargirl

by

Stargirl Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Stargirl. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of "Stargirl, Stargirl." She captures Leo Borlock's heart with just one smile. She sparks a school-spirit revolution with just one cheer. The students of Mica High are enchanted. At first.

Then they turn on her. Stargirl is suddenly shunned for everything that makes her different, and Leo, panicked and desperate with love, urges her to become the very thing that can destroy her: normal. In this celebration of nonconformity, Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli weaves a tense, emotional tale about the perils of popularity and the thrill and inspiration of first love.

Review:

"A magical and heartbreaking tale." Kirkus Reviews (Starred)

Review:

"There are both light moments and poetic, emotionally mature observations in Stargirl. With the book's high school setting and situations, this entertaining and thought-provoking story will appeal to and be enjoyed by junior high and high school readers." VOYA

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasnt kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

 

Suddenly Willows world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way Ive never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that Ill never forget.”—John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."—Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons

"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation thats a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Whered You Go, Bernadette

 

 

About the Author

Holly Goldberg Sloan, the acclaimed author of Ill Be There, has worked as an advertising copywriter and a writer and director of feature films. She lives in Santa Monica, California.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

felizgirl, January 25, 2008 (view all comments by felizgirl)
i love this book,i cant wait to read the second one...(cant find it in the libaray) i coulding stop reading the moment i read the first chapter!!!!!!!i read the whole book in one day....(my mom got mad cuz i forgot to do my chores)anyways,i need to find the second book,i look in the libaray,i cant buy it cuz i got no money:-(
well i loveeeeeee stargirl it kinda open a new door to not caring what people think.im a person who cares what people think,my parent dont have alot money to buy brand clothes,so i use to get mad cuz i didnt dress the way i wanted.but now i say who cares what people think....this book really woke me up!!!!!!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(23 of 27 readers found this comment helpful)
jazzy32, March 1, 2007 (view all comments by jazzy32)
that this book is god so far im reading it in my class and sometimes i read it 2 myself but i only have three chapters left but this book is really good i like it i hope they have tha movie out
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(19 of 33 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780440416777
Author:
Spinelli, Jerry
Publisher:
Laurel Leaf Library
Author:
Sloan, Holly Goldberg
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - General
Subject:
Social Situations - Adolescence
Subject:
Children's Baby - Fiction - General
Subject:
Children s All Ages - Fiction - General
Subject:
Social Issues - Adolescence
Subject:
Situations / Adolescence
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Adolescence
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Family - Parents
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Publication Date:
20040531
Binding:
MASS MARKET
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
13-17

Other books you might like

  1. Tangerine
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. Before I Go Used Hardcover $7.50
  3. The Chicken Dance New Trade Paper $13.55
  4. Do the Math: Secrets, Lies, and Algebra
    Used Hardcover $5.50
  5. Monster
    Used Book Club Hardcover $3.95
  6. Speak
    Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects


Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
Young Adult » General

Stargirl New Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.99 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Laurel-Leaf Books - English 9780440416777 Reviews:
"Review" by , "A magical and heartbreaking tale." (Starred)
"Review" by , "There are both light moments and poetic, emotionally mature observations in Stargirl. With the book's high school setting and situations, this entertaining and thought-provoking story will appeal to and be enjoyed by junior high and high school readers."
"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasnt kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

 

Suddenly Willows world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way Ive never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that Ill never forget.”—John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."—Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons

"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation thats a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Whered You Go, Bernadette

 

 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.