The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 22, 2014

Nick Harkaway: IMG The Florist-Assassins



The three men lit up in my mind's eye, with footnotes. They were converging on me — and on the object I was carrying — in a way that had... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Tigerman

    Nick Harkaway 9780385352413

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.99
New Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
25 Local Warehouse Children's- General
14 Remote Warehouse Children's Young Adult- Social Issue Fiction

Stargirl

by

Stargirl Cover

 

Review-A-Day

"Stargirl...solidifies Spinelli's ability to view the world through the lens of a child and weave his observations into a profoundly enriching and thought-provoking novel." Sarah Miller, Powells.com (read the entire Powells.com review)

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

She's as magical as the desert sky. As strange as her pet rat. As mysterious as her own name. From the day she arrives at quiet Mica High School in a burst of color and sound, the hallways hum with the murmur of "Stargirl, Stargirl." She captures Leo Borlock's heart with just one smile. The students of Mica High are enchanted. At first.Then they turn on her. Stargirl is suddenly shunned. And Leo, panicked and desperate with love, urges her to become the very thing that can destroy her: normal.

Review:

"Spinelli poses searching questions about loyalty to one's friends and oneself and leaves readers to form their own answers." Publishers Weekly

Review:

"Once again Spinelli takes his readers on a journey where choices between the self and the group must be made, and he is wise enough to show how hard they are, even when sweet." Kirkus Reviews

Review:

"[A] poetic allegorical tale about the magnificence and rarity of true nonconformity." New York Times

Review:

"With the book's high school setting and situations, this entertaining and thought-provoking story will appeal to and be enjoyed by junior high and high school readers." VOYA

Synopsis:

Stargirl is a true celebration of nonconformity.

This oftentimes tense and emotional story explores the fleeting, cruel nature of popularity — and the thrill and inspiration of first love. The questions, discussion topics, and author information that follow are intended to guide readers and spark discussion as they begin to analyze the larger emotional, sociological, and literary elements of this exceptional and thought-provoking novel.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasnt kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

 

Suddenly Willows world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way Ive never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that Ill never forget.”—John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."—Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons

"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation thats a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Whered You Go, Bernadette

 

 

About the Author

Jerry Spinelli is the author of more than a dozen books for young readers, including Maniac Magee, winner of the Newbery Medal; Wringer, a Newbery Honor Book; Crash; and Knots in My Yo-Yo String, his autobiography. He grew up in Norristown, Pennsylvania, where he once dreamed of becoming a major league baseball player. All of this changed at age 16, when his poem about a football game was published in the local newspaper. From then on, he wanted to become a writer. Jerry's first book for children was published when he was 41 years old. He still lives in Pennsylvania with his "Stargirl," his wife, Eileen Spinelli, who is also an author of children's books.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

caulfield_saves, March 30, 2009 (view all comments by caulfield_saves)
it has been some time since ive read this book, but i have to say, stargirl changed me. she is so sweet, and now, after reading this book, i think about my everyday actions, i actually find myself leaving coins on the ground for toddlers. this is a must read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780679886372
Author:
Spinelli, Jerry
Publisher:
Alfred A. Knopf
Author:
Sloan, Holly Goldberg
Location:
New York
Subject:
Children's fiction
Subject:
Children's 12-Up - Fiction - General
Subject:
Social Situations - General
Subject:
Social Situations - Adolescence
Subject:
Schools
Subject:
Girls
Subject:
School & Education
Subject:
High schools
Subject:
Social Issues - General
Subject:
Individuality
Subject:
Situations / Adolescence
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Family - Parents
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series Volume:
6
Publication Date:
20000831
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Pages:
192
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
12-17

Other books you might like

  1. Tangerine
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  2. Before I Go Used Hardcover $7.50
  3. The Chicken Dance New Trade Paper $13.55
  4. Do the Math: Secrets, Lies, and Algebra
    Used Hardcover $5.50
  5. Monster
    Used Book Club Hardcover $3.95
  6. Speak
    Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Children's » Situations » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Peer Pressure
Young Adult » General

Stargirl New Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.99 In Stock
Product details 192 pages Alfred A. Knopf - English 9780679886372 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Spinelli poses searching questions about loyalty to one's friends and oneself and leaves readers to form their own answers." Publishers Weekly
"Review A Day" by , "Stargirl...solidifies Spinelli's ability to view the world through the lens of a child and weave his observations into a profoundly enriching and thought-provoking novel." (read the entire Powells.com review)
"Review" by , "Once again Spinelli takes his readers on a journey where choices between the self and the group must be made, and he is wise enough to show how hard they are, even when sweet."
"Review" by , "[A] poetic allegorical tale about the magnificence and rarity of true nonconformity."
"Review" by , "With the book's high school setting and situations, this entertaining and thought-provoking story will appeal to and be enjoyed by junior high and high school readers."
"Synopsis" by , Stargirl is a true celebration of nonconformity.

This oftentimes tense and emotional story explores the fleeting, cruel nature of popularity — and the thrill and inspiration of first love. The questions, discussion topics, and author information that follow are intended to guide readers and spark discussion as they begin to analyze the larger emotional, sociological, and literary elements of this exceptional and thought-provoking novel.

"Synopsis" by ,
In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasnt kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

 

Suddenly Willows world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.

“Holly Goldberg Sloan writes about belonging in a way Ive never quite seen in any other book. This is a gorgeous, funny, and heartwarming novel that Ill never forget.”—John Corey Whaley, author of Where Things Come Back

"Willow Chance subtly drew me into her head and her life, so much so that I was holding my breath for her by the end. Holly Goldberg Sloan has created distinct characters who will stay with you long after you finish the book."—Sharon Creech, Newbery Award-winning author of Walk Two Moons

"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation thats a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."—Maria Semple, author of Whered You Go, Bernadette

 

 

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.