25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$35.00
New Compact Disc
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Available for In-store Pickup
in 7 to 12 days
Qty Store Section
2 Remote Warehouse Biography- General
4 Remote Warehouse Biography- General

The Heavy: A Mother, a Daughter, a Diet: A Memoir

by

The Heavy: A Mother, a Daughter, a Diet: A Memoir Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For readers of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and Bringing Up Bebe, a mother’s unflinching memoir about helping her seven year-old daughter lose weight, and the challenges of modern parenting.

 

When a doctor pronounced Dara-Lynn Weiss’s daughter Bea obese at age seven, the mother of two knew she had to take action. But how can a woman with her own food and body issues—not to mention poor eating habits—successfully parent a little girl around the issue of obesity?

 

In this much-anticipated, controversial memoir, Dara-Lynn Weiss chronicles the struggle and journey to get Bea healthy. In describing their process—complete with frustrations, self-recriminations, dark humor, and some surprising strategies—Weiss reveals the hypocrisy inherent in the debates over many cultural hot-button issues: from processed snacks, organic foods, and school lunches to dieting, eating disorders, parenting methods, discipline, and kids’ self-esteem.

 

Compounding the challenge were eating environments—from school to restaurants to birthday parties—that set Bea up to fail, and unwelcome judgments from fellow parents. Childhood obesity, Weiss discovered, is a crucible not just for the child but also for the parents. She was criticized as readily for enabling Bea’s condition as she was for enforcing the discipline and, yes, the deprivation necessary to address it. Never before had Weiss been made to feel so wrong for trying to do the right thing.

 

The damned if you do/damned if you don’t predicament came into sharp relief when Weiss raised some of these issues in a Vogue article. Critics came out in full force, and Weiss unwittingly found herself at the center of an emotional and highly charged debate on childhood obesity.

 

A touching and relatable story of loving a child enough to be unpopular, The Heavy will leave readers applauding Weiss’s success, her bravery, and her unconditional love for her daughter.

About the Author

Dara-Lynn Weiss is a freelance writer and producer of Internet, print, and television content. In April 2012, she wrote about helping her daughter lose weight in Vogue magazine’s “Up Front” column. She lives with her husband and two children in New York City.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780804120609
Author:
Weiss, Dara-lynn
Publisher:
Random House Audio Publishing Group
Author:
Tepe, Amanda
Author:
Weiss, Dara-Lynn
Subject:
Biography - General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Eight CD
Publication Date:
20130131
Binding:
COMPACT DISC
Language:
English
Dimensions:
5.91 x 5.1 x 1.15 in 0.5 lb

Related Subjects

Audio Books » Nonfiction
Biography » General
Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » Children's Health
Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » Mothering

The Heavy: A Mother, a Daughter, a Diet: A Memoir New Compact Disc
0 stars - 0 reviews
$35.00 In Stock
Product details pages Random House Audio - English 9780804120609 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.