It's Raining Books Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 18, 2014

Lin Enger: IMG Knowing vs. Knowing



On a hot July evening years ago, my Toyota Tercel overheated on a flat stretch of highway north of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. A steam geyser shot up from... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The High Divide

    Lin Enger 9781616203757

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z

Hell or High Water

by

Hell or High Water Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Nola Céspedes, an ambitious young reporter at the Times-Picayune, finally catches a break: an assignment to write her first full-length feature. While investigating her story, she also becomes fixated on the search for a missing tourist in the French Quarter. As Nolas work leads her into a violent criminal underworld, shes forced to face disturbing truths from her own past and is confronted with the question: In the aftermath of devastation, who is responsible for rebuilding what's been broken?

Vividly rendered in razor-sharp prose, this haunting thriller is a riveting journey of trust betrayed—and the courageous struggle to rebuild. Fast-paced, atmospheric, and with a knockout twist, Hell or High Water features an unforgettable heroine as fascinating and multilayered as New Orleans itself.

 

Review:

"Post-Katrina New Orleans provides the vivid backdrop for this uneven first novel, the first in a new crime thriller series from Castro (The Truth Book: A Memoir). In 2008, Times-Picayune reporter Nola Céspedes, who's eager to leave lifestyle fluff pieces behind, takes on the unenviable challenge of reporting on sex offenders still living off the grid after the devastating hurricane. Interviewing potentially dangerous rapists and child molesters isn't how Nola, who was raised in poverty by her Cuban-born single mother, thought she'd start writing features, but a story is a story. The more involved Nola becomes, to the detriment of her personal life, the more convinced she is that the recent disappearance of 25-year-old tourist Amber Waybridge from the French Quarter is connected to the men she's investigating. Nola's obsession with the Waybridge case — and the possible perpetrators — deepens with ominous results. Nola's gritty appeal compensates only in part for a plot with too many holes. Agent: Mitchell Waters, Curtis Brown. (July)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Nola Céspedes, an ambitious young reporter at the Times-Picayune, finally catches a break: an assignment to write her first full-length feature. While investigating her story, she also becomes fixated on the search for a missing tourist in the French Quarter. As Nolas work leads her into a violent criminal underworld, shes forced to face disturbing truths from her own past and is confronted with the question: In the aftermath of devastation, who is responsible for rebuilding what's been broken?

Vividly rendered in razor-sharp prose, this haunting thriller is a riveting journey of trust betrayed—and the courageous struggle to rebuild. Fast-paced, atmospheric, and with a knockout twist, Hell or High Water features an unforgettable heroine as fascinating and multilayered as New Orleans itself.

 

Synopsis:

A psychological thriller in the vein of Kate Atkinson and Tana French that introduces Nola Céspedes, an intense and spellbinding protagonist
 
 
Nola Céspedes, an ambitious young reporter at the Times-Picayune, catches a break: An assignment to write her first full-length feature. While researching her story, she also becomes fixated on the search for a missing tourist in New Orleans. As Nolas work leads her into darker corners of the city, a singular narrative voice emerges, and an even more compelling question surfaces: Who is Nola Céspedes? Vividly rendered in razor sharp prose, this novel is a riveting journey of trust betrayed—and the courageous struggle toward recovery.

About the Author

JOY CASTRO teaches literature, creative writing, and Latino studies at the University of Nebraska- Lincoln. Her 2005 memoir, The Truth Book, was elected an ABA Book Sense Notable Book.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781250004574
Author:
Castro, Joy
Publisher:
Thomas Dunne Books
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Hard-Boiled
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Series Volume:
1
Publication Date:
20120731
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in

Other books you might like

  1. Garfield Minus Garfield Used Trade Paper $8.95
  2. Producing and Mixing Contemporary Jazz New Trade Paper $24.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense

Hell or High Water Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Thomas Dunne Books - English 9781250004574 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Post-Katrina New Orleans provides the vivid backdrop for this uneven first novel, the first in a new crime thriller series from Castro (The Truth Book: A Memoir). In 2008, Times-Picayune reporter Nola Céspedes, who's eager to leave lifestyle fluff pieces behind, takes on the unenviable challenge of reporting on sex offenders still living off the grid after the devastating hurricane. Interviewing potentially dangerous rapists and child molesters isn't how Nola, who was raised in poverty by her Cuban-born single mother, thought she'd start writing features, but a story is a story. The more involved Nola becomes, to the detriment of her personal life, the more convinced she is that the recent disappearance of 25-year-old tourist Amber Waybridge from the French Quarter is connected to the men she's investigating. Nola's obsession with the Waybridge case — and the possible perpetrators — deepens with ominous results. Nola's gritty appeal compensates only in part for a plot with too many holes. Agent: Mitchell Waters, Curtis Brown. (July)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by ,

Nola Céspedes, an ambitious young reporter at the Times-Picayune, finally catches a break: an assignment to write her first full-length feature. While investigating her story, she also becomes fixated on the search for a missing tourist in the French Quarter. As Nolas work leads her into a violent criminal underworld, shes forced to face disturbing truths from her own past and is confronted with the question: In the aftermath of devastation, who is responsible for rebuilding what's been broken?

Vividly rendered in razor-sharp prose, this haunting thriller is a riveting journey of trust betrayed—and the courageous struggle to rebuild. Fast-paced, atmospheric, and with a knockout twist, Hell or High Water features an unforgettable heroine as fascinating and multilayered as New Orleans itself.

 

"Synopsis" by ,
A psychological thriller in the vein of Kate Atkinson and Tana French that introduces Nola Céspedes, an intense and spellbinding protagonist
 
 
Nola Céspedes, an ambitious young reporter at the Times-Picayune, catches a break: An assignment to write her first full-length feature. While researching her story, she also becomes fixated on the search for a missing tourist in New Orleans. As Nolas work leads her into darker corners of the city, a singular narrative voice emerges, and an even more compelling question surfaces: Who is Nola Céspedes? Vividly rendered in razor sharp prose, this novel is a riveting journey of trust betrayed—and the courageous struggle toward recovery.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.