Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 18, 2014

Ian Leslie: IMG Empathic Curiosity



Today, we wonder anxiously if digital media is changing our brains. But if there's any time in history when our mental operations changed... Continue »
  1. $18.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.00
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
3 Beaverton MYST- DISPLAY B
3 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z
8 Beaverton Featured Titles- Literature
4 Burnside Mystery- A to Z
1 Hawthorne Mystery- A to Z
25 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
25 Remote Warehouse Mystery- Historical

Ordinary Grace

by

Ordinary Grace Cover

 

Awards

2014 Edgar Award for Best Novel

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

From New York Times bestselling author William Kent Krueger comes a “pitch-perfect, wonderfully evocative” (Dennis Lehane) novel about a young man, a small town, and murder.

New Bremen, Minnesota, 1961. The Twins were playing their debut season, ice-cold root beers were selling out at the soda counter of Halderson’s Drugstore, and Hot Stuff comic books were a mainstay on every barbershop magazine rack. It was a time of innocence and hope for a country with a new, young president. But for thirteen-year-old Frank Drum it was a grim summer in which death visited frequently and assumed many forms. Accident. Nature. Suicide. Murder.

Frank begins the season preoccupied with the concerns of any teenage boy, but when tragedy unexpectedly strikes his family, which includes his Methodist minister father, his passionate, artistic mother, Juilliard-bound older sister, and wise-beyond-his-years kid brother—he finds himself thrust into an adult world full of secrets, lies, adultery, and betrayal.

Told from Frank’s perspective forty years after that fateful summer, Ordinary Grace is a brilliantly moving account of a boy standing at the door of adulthood, trying to understand a world that seems to be falling apart around him. Ultimately, it is a story of “redemptive grace and mercy…A novel that transforms narrator and reader alike” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).

Review:

“Not often does a story feel at once fresh and familiar. But Ordinary Grace, a new novel from William Kent Krueger, is both, and it is affecting.” Denver Post

Review:

Ordinary Grace is engaging from the first page, a quiet novel that unfurls its sad story slowly, but eloquently, leaving its mark on your heart.” The Missourian

Review:

“There’s such a quiet beauty in his prose and such depth to his characters that I was completely captivated by this book’s ordinary grace.” Minneapolis Star-Tribune

Review:

“A superb literary novel.” New York Journal of Books

Review:

“...the tone is much like To Kill a Mockingbird, with its combination of dread and nostalgia.” Detroit News

Review:

“Everything about this book, from language to ideas to Aeschylus’s epigram is beautiful and you’ll think about it long after you’re finished reading.” The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

Review:

“A pitch-perfect, wonderfully evocative examination of violent loss. In Frank Drum's journey away from the shores of childhood—a journey from which he can never return—we recognize the heartbreaking price of adulthood and it's 'wisdoms.' I loved this book.” Dennis Lehane, New York Times bestselling author of Live by Night and The Given Day

Review:

“A respected mystery writer turns his attention to the biggest mystery of all: God. An award-winning author for his long-running Cork O’ Connor series, Krueger aims higher and hits harder with a standalone novel that shares much with his other work.... 'the awful grace of God,' as it manifests itself within the novel, would try the faith of the most devout believer. Yet, ultimately, the world of this novel is one of redemptive grace and mercy, as well as unidentified corpses and unexplainable tragedy. A novel that transforms narrator and reader alike.” Kirkus Reviews (starred)

Review:

“...elegiac, evocative.... a resonant tale of fury, guilt, and redemption.” Publishers Weekly

Review:

“A thoughtful literary mystery that is wholly compelling and will appeal to fans of Dennis Lehane and Tom Franklin. . . Don’t take the title too literally, for Krueger has produced something that is anything but ordinary.” BookPage

Synopsis:

NOMINATED FOR THE 2014 EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL

New Bremen, Minnesota, 1961. The Twins were playing their debut season, ice-cold root beers, were selling out at the soda counter of Halderson’s Drugstore, and Hot Stuff comic books were a mainstay on every barbershop magazine rack. It was a time of innocence and hope for a country with a new, young president. But for thirteen-year-old Frank Drum, a preacher’s son, it was a grim summer in which death visited frequently and assumed many forms. Accident. Nature. Suicide. Murder.

Told from Frank’s perspective forty years later, Ordinary Grace is a brilliantly moving account of a boy standing at the door of his young manhood, trying to understand a world that seems to be falling apart around him. It is an unforgettable novel about discovering the terrible price of wisdom and the enduring grace of God.

About the Author

William Kent Krueger is the award-winning author of thirteen novels in the Cork O’Connor mystery series, including Trickster’s Point and Tamarack County. He lives in the Twin Cities with his family. Visit his website at WilliamKentKrueger.com.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781451645859
Author:
Krueger, William Kent
Publisher:
Atria Books
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paperback
Publication Date:
20140304
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
209.55 x 134.937 mm

Other books you might like

  1. Lost Light Used Hardcover $3.95
  2. Desert Heat Used Mass Market $3.50
  3. Undertakers Widow
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  4. The Burning Man Used Mass Market $3.50
  5. Chasing the Dime Used Hardcover $4.50
  6. Rattlesnake Crossing: A Joanna Brady... Used Mass Market $2.95

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Bestsellers
Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Coming of Age
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Sale Books
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Historical
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » New Arrivals
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Sale Books

Ordinary Grace New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.00 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Atria Books - English 9781451645859 Reviews:
"Review" by , “Not often does a story feel at once fresh and familiar. But Ordinary Grace, a new novel from William Kent Krueger, is both, and it is affecting.”
"Review" by , Ordinary Grace is engaging from the first page, a quiet novel that unfurls its sad story slowly, but eloquently, leaving its mark on your heart.”
"Review" by , “There’s such a quiet beauty in his prose and such depth to his characters that I was completely captivated by this book’s ordinary grace.”
"Review" by , “A superb literary novel.”
"Review" by , “...the tone is much like To Kill a Mockingbird, with its combination of dread and nostalgia.”
"Review" by , “Everything about this book, from language to ideas to Aeschylus’s epigram is beautiful and you’ll think about it long after you’re finished reading.”
"Review" by , “A pitch-perfect, wonderfully evocative examination of violent loss. In Frank Drum's journey away from the shores of childhood—a journey from which he can never return—we recognize the heartbreaking price of adulthood and it's 'wisdoms.' I loved this book.”
"Review" by , “A respected mystery writer turns his attention to the biggest mystery of all: God. An award-winning author for his long-running Cork O’ Connor series, Krueger aims higher and hits harder with a standalone novel that shares much with his other work.... 'the awful grace of God,' as it manifests itself within the novel, would try the faith of the most devout believer. Yet, ultimately, the world of this novel is one of redemptive grace and mercy, as well as unidentified corpses and unexplainable tragedy. A novel that transforms narrator and reader alike.”
"Review" by , “...elegiac, evocative.... a resonant tale of fury, guilt, and redemption.”
"Review" by , “A thoughtful literary mystery that is wholly compelling and will appeal to fans of Dennis Lehane and Tom Franklin. . . Don’t take the title too literally, for Krueger has produced something that is anything but ordinary.”
"Synopsis" by , NOMINATED FOR THE 2014 EDGAR AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL

New Bremen, Minnesota, 1961. The Twins were playing their debut season, ice-cold root beers, were selling out at the soda counter of Halderson’s Drugstore, and Hot Stuff comic books were a mainstay on every barbershop magazine rack. It was a time of innocence and hope for a country with a new, young president. But for thirteen-year-old Frank Drum, a preacher’s son, it was a grim summer in which death visited frequently and assumed many forms. Accident. Nature. Suicide. Murder.

Told from Frank’s perspective forty years later, Ordinary Grace is a brilliantly moving account of a boy standing at the door of his young manhood, trying to understand a world that seems to be falling apart around him. It is an unforgettable novel about discovering the terrible price of wisdom and the enduring grace of God.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.