Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | Yesterday, 9:37am

    Edward Carey: IMG 10 Best Books by Writer-Illustrators



    As a child who loved books I was fascinated by the illustrations just as much as the text. The same is true for me today, and I'm happy to be among... Continue »
    1. $11.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Foulsham (Iremonger Series #2)

      Edward Carey 9781468309546

    spacer

On Order

$39.99
New Compact Disc
Currently out of stock.
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
- Local Warehouse Sports and Fitness- Medicine Nutrition and Psychology

Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal

by

Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

If a piece of individually wrapped cheese retains its shape, color, and texture for years, what does it say about the food we eat and feed our children? Former New York Times reporter and mother Melanie Warner decided to explore that question when she observed the phenomenon of the indestructible cheese. She began an investigative journey that took her to research labs, food science departments, and factories around the country. What she discovered provides a rare, eye-opening—and sometimes disturbing—account of what we're really eating. Warner looks at how decades of food science have resulted in the cheapest, most abundant, most addictive, and most nutritionally devastating food in the world, and she uncovers startling evidence about the profound health implications of the packaged and fast foods that we eat on a daily basis.

From breakfast cereal to chicken subs to nutrition bars, processed foods account for roughly seventy percent of our nation's calories. Despite the growing presence of farmers' markets and organic produce, strange food additives are nearly impossible to avoid. Combining meticulous research, vivid writing, and cultural analysis, Warner blows the lid off the largely undocumented—and lightly regulated—world of chemically treated and processed foods and lays bare the potential price we may pay for consuming even so-called healthy foods.

Review:

"This eye-opening expose of the food industry in America was conceived after Warner, while working as a journalist for The New York Times, made a trip to the supermarket and purchased a rather unhealthy amount of packaged foods in an attempt to see what would happen to them once all the expiry dates came and went. The results, as she states, were rather anti-climactic as she discovered that the foods were pretty much the same. But this left her asking one question: What do expiry dates really mean, and is 'food' really food anymore? Narrated by Ann Marie Lee, this absolutely fascinating — and rather infuriating — look at what society is really eating is a must for any responsible adult. Lee's delivery is simple and understated. She lets the shocking discoveries speak for themselves and her tone mirrors that of the text: she sounds like a concerned citizen who simply wants to know why we are being misled about what we eat. A Scribner hardcover. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore's Dilemma, a fascinating and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.

About the Author

Melanie Warner is a freelance writer who has covered the food industry as a staff writer for the New York Times.Ann Marie Lee has worked extensively as an actress in the theater, as well as on television and film. She has recorded numerous audiobooks and has received several AudioFile Earphones Awards and a Publishers Weekly Listen-Up Award.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781452613215
Author:
Warner, Melanie
Publisher:
Tantor Audio
Author:
Lee, Ann Marie
Location:
Old Saybrook
Subject:
General Health & Fitness
Subject:
Health and Medicine-General
Subject:
Sports and Fitness-Medicine Nutrition and Psychology
Subject:
General Business & Economics
Edition Description:
Unabridged,Unabridged CD
Publication Date:
20130431
Binding:
COMPACT DISC
Language:
English
Dimensions:
5.3 x 6.4 x 1.1 in

Related Subjects

» Business » General
» Business » Management
» Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General
» Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » General Medicine

Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal New Compact Disc
0 stars - 0 reviews
$39.99 Backorder
Product details pages Tantor Media - English 9781452613215 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "This eye-opening expose of the food industry in America was conceived after Warner, while working as a journalist for The New York Times, made a trip to the supermarket and purchased a rather unhealthy amount of packaged foods in an attempt to see what would happen to them once all the expiry dates came and went. The results, as she states, were rather anti-climactic as she discovered that the foods were pretty much the same. But this left her asking one question: What do expiry dates really mean, and is 'food' really food anymore? Narrated by Ann Marie Lee, this absolutely fascinating — and rather infuriating — look at what society is really eating is a must for any responsible adult. Lee's delivery is simple and understated. She lets the shocking discoveries speak for themselves and her tone mirrors that of the text: she sounds like a concerned citizen who simply wants to know why we are being misled about what we eat. A Scribner hardcover. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore's Dilemma, a fascinating and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.