Poetry Madness
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | March 2, 2015

    Anna Lyndsey: IMG My Top 10 Talking Books



    I have always been a reader, but eight years ago, strange circumstances conspired to make me totally book-dependent. I was stuck within four walls,... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$2.25
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

Say the Word

by

Say the Word Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Dredging up the past can knock the present right off balance.

The world expects perfection from seventeen-year-old Shawna Gallagher, and for the most part, thats what they get. She dates the right boys, gets good grades, and follows her fathers every rule. But when her estranged lesbian mother dies, its more than perfect Shawna can take. Suddenly, anger from being abandoned ten years ago is resurfacing along with Shawnas embarrassment over her mothers other family. As she confronts family secrets and questions from the past, Shawna realizes theres a difference between doing the perfect thing and doing the right thing.

Shawnas honest and relatable voice will draw readers in and hold them until the last page in this coming-of-age story. Jeannine Garsee has delivered a compulsively readable second novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Laurie Halse Anderson.

Review:

"Garsee's (Before, After, and Somebody in Between) second novel hits the ground running and doesn't let up. Shawna Gallagher, a high school senior trying to live up to her domineering father's expectations, is awakened one night by a phone call: her estranged mother, who left Shawna and her father years earlier for a woman, Fran, has had a stroke. Following her mother's death, Shawna must confront her feelings about her mother and her own prejudices (she has particular issues with gay people, which are further complicated when her best friend comes out). Shawna's father, learning that one of Fran's sons is in fact his child by Shawna's mother, fights for (and gains) custody of the boy — finally spurring Shawna to defy him. The novel overflows with story lines and plot twists — Shawna's romance with her stepbrother (and her father's with her former babysitter), her ailing grandfather and the ridicule she faces in school. Nevertheless, Garsee presents a compelling portrait of a young woman growing up and coping with an overwhelming array of problems. Ages 14 — up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

After her estranged lesbian mother dies, 17-year-old Shawna Gallagher's anger from being abandoned 10 years before resurfaces. As she confronts family secrets and questions from the past, Shawna realizes there's a difference between doing the perfect thing and doing the right thing.

Synopsis:

Perfectionist Shawna dates the right boys, gets good grades, and follows her father's every rule. So when her estranged lesbian mother dies, Shawna needs to figure out how to have the perfect reaction. But anger from being abandoned ten years ago, combined with the introduction of her mother's other family, threatens to leave Shawna spinning out of control. A relatable and honest teen voice-and a shocking secret-make this novel a true page-turner.

About the Author

JEANNINE GARSEE received a typewriter for her thirteenth birthday and says she hasnt stopped writing since. She lives with her husband and two children in the suburbs of Cleveland, Ohio, where she works as a nurse. www.jeanninegarsee.com

Product Details

ISBN:
9781599903330
Author:
Garsee, Jeannine
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Subject:
Grief
Subject:
Family problems
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Juvenile Fiction
Subject:
Homosexuality
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Social Issues - Homosexuality
Subject:
Family - Stepfamilies
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Family - Parents
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Young Adult Fiction
Publication Date:
20090331
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
from 9 up to 12
Language:
English
Pages:
368
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.50 in
Age Level:
from 14 up to 19

Other books you might like

  1. Muchacho
    New Trade Paper $8.99
  2. In the Path of Falling Objects Used Hardcover $7.95
  3. No More Us for You Used Hardcover $9.00
  4. Crossing Stones Used Hardcover $6.95
  5. The Stolen One
    Used Hardcover $12.50
  6. Love You Hate You Miss You
    Used Trade Paper $6.50

Related Subjects

Children's » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Death and Dying
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Homosexuality
Young Adult » General

Say the Word Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$2.25 In Stock
Product details 368 pages Bloomsbury Publishing PLC - English 9781599903330 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Garsee's (Before, After, and Somebody in Between) second novel hits the ground running and doesn't let up. Shawna Gallagher, a high school senior trying to live up to her domineering father's expectations, is awakened one night by a phone call: her estranged mother, who left Shawna and her father years earlier for a woman, Fran, has had a stroke. Following her mother's death, Shawna must confront her feelings about her mother and her own prejudices (she has particular issues with gay people, which are further complicated when her best friend comes out). Shawna's father, learning that one of Fran's sons is in fact his child by Shawna's mother, fights for (and gains) custody of the boy — finally spurring Shawna to defy him. The novel overflows with story lines and plot twists — Shawna's romance with her stepbrother (and her father's with her former babysitter), her ailing grandfather and the ridicule she faces in school. Nevertheless, Garsee presents a compelling portrait of a young woman growing up and coping with an overwhelming array of problems. Ages 14 — up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , After her estranged lesbian mother dies, 17-year-old Shawna Gallagher's anger from being abandoned 10 years before resurfaces. As she confronts family secrets and questions from the past, Shawna realizes there's a difference between doing the perfect thing and doing the right thing.
"Synopsis" by ,
Perfectionist Shawna dates the right boys, gets good grades, and follows her father's every rule. So when her estranged lesbian mother dies, Shawna needs to figure out how to have the perfect reaction. But anger from being abandoned ten years ago, combined with the introduction of her mother's other family, threatens to leave Shawna spinning out of control. A relatable and honest teen voice-and a shocking secret-make this novel a true page-turner.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.