Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | April 11, 2014

Paul Laudiero: IMG Shit Rough Draft



I was sitting in a British and Irish romantic drama class my last semester in college when the idea for Shit Rough Drafts hit me. I was working... Continue »
  1. $9.07 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$49.95
New Compact Disc
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Audio Books- Nonfiction
25 Local Warehouse Sports and Fitness- Sports General
25 Remote Warehouse Sports and Fitness- Olympics

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics

by

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled  by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together—a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.

Drawing on the boys’ own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, The Boys in the Boat is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's The Amateurs.

About the Author

Daniel James Brown is the author of two previous nonfiction books, Under a Flaming Sky and The Indifferent Stars Above. He has taught writing at San Jose State University and Stanford. He lives near Seattle.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

njcur, October 15, 2013 (view all comments by njcur)
What an amazing book! The prologue brought tears to my eyes. We know from the title that this team wins gold in Berlin, and yet the suspense Mr Brown creates is wild. My heart was beating so fast, I was leaning into the beat and cheering and encouraging. I just loved these guys and felt for them with my whole heart. A wonderful story of building a crew and the power of trust and teamwork. Edward Herrmann does a masterful job reading this one.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9781611761696
Author:
Brown, Daniel James
Publisher:
Penguin Audiobooks
Author:
Herrmann, Edward
Subject:
Olympics
Subject:
US History - 20th Century
Subject:
Sports and Fitness-Sports General
Copyright:
Edition Description:
CD-Audio
Publication Date:
20130631
Binding:
COMPACT DISC
Language:
English
Dimensions:
5.79 x 5.22 x 1.49 in 0.64 lb

Related Subjects

Audio Books » Nonfiction
History and Social Science » US History » 20th Century » General
History and Social Science » World History » General
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Olympics
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Sports General
Transportation » Nautical » Boats » Boating

The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics New Compact Disc
0 stars - 0 reviews
$49.95 In Stock
Product details pages Penguin Audiobooks - English 9781611761696 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.