Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.95
New Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Literature- A to Z
25 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
6 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z
25 Remote Warehouse Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

Monument Road

by

Monument Road Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Leonard Self has spent a year unwinding his ranch, paying down debts, and fending off the darkening. Just one thing left: taking his wife's ashes to her favorite overlook, where he plans to step off the cliff with her into a stark and beautiful landscape. But Leonard finds he has company on a route that intertwines old wounds and new insights that make him question whether his life is over after all.

Review:

"Part modern western, part mystery, this first novel will appeal to fans of Louise Erdrich and Kent Haruf. Quimby's prose reads so true, it breaks the heart." Booklist, starred review

Review:

"Monument Road is so rich with landscape, character and event that such a small telling cannot begin to do it justice. Read this exquisite story; it is a joy and a wonder and a tour de force of authorship." Shelf Awareness

Review:

"Quimby's storytelling, his humane impulses and his lyrical passages on the meaning of love and time, and on the history, geology and botany of the region, will surely impress readers." Minneapolis Star Tribune

Synopsis:

Leonard Self knows where he's going to end his life. But the road there is winding, and he has company.

About the Author

Charlie Quimby's writing life has always crossed divides. A playwright turned critic. A protest songwriter who worked for a defense contractor. A blogger about taxpaying and homelessness. He wrote award-winning words for others in Harvard Business Review, Financial World magazine and the NFL Hall of Fame. Naturally, he splits time between Minneapolis and his native western Colorado.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781937226251
Author:
Quimby, Charlie
Publisher:
Torrey House Press
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
SELF-HELP / Depression
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20131112
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Language:
English
Pages:
365
Dimensions:
8 x 5.25 in

Other books you might like

  1. Mrs Queen Takes the Train
    Used Hardcover $10.50
  2. Cat Sense: How the New Feline... New Trade Paper $16.99
  3. The Tangled Bank: Writings from Orion
    Used Trade Paper $12.95
  4. North Sea Requiem
    Used Trade Paper $10.95
  5. The Land of Dreams Used Hardcover $17.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Family Life
Fiction and Poetry » Westerns » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Depression
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Grief

Monument Road New Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.95 In Stock
Product details 365 pages Torrey House Press - English 9781937226251 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Part modern western, part mystery, this first novel will appeal to fans of Louise Erdrich and Kent Haruf. Quimby's prose reads so true, it breaks the heart."
"Review" by , "Monument Road is so rich with landscape, character and event that such a small telling cannot begin to do it justice. Read this exquisite story; it is a joy and a wonder and a tour de force of authorship."
"Review" by , "Quimby's storytelling, his humane impulses and his lyrical passages on the meaning of love and time, and on the history, geology and botany of the region, will surely impress readers."
"Synopsis" by , Leonard Self knows where he's going to end his life. But the road there is winding, and he has company.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.