Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Best Books of the Year | December 8, 2014

    Tracey T.: IMG Best Cookbooks of 2014



    As the cookbook buyer for Powell's Books, I am the lucky one who gets to choose every new cookbook that comes into our stores. This means I have a... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Manic: A Memoir

by

Manic: A Memoir Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

I didn't tell anyone that I was going to Santa Fe to kill myself.

On the outside, Terri Cheney was a highly successful, attractive Beverly Hills entertainment lawyer. But behind her seemingly flawless facade lay a dangerous secret--for the better part of her life Cheney had been battling debilitating bipolar disorder and concealing a pharmacy's worth of prescriptions meant to stabilize her moods and make her normal.

In bursts of prose that mirror the devastating highs and extreme lows of her illness, Cheney describes her roller-coaster life with shocking honesty--from glamorous parties to a night in jail; from flying fourteen kites off the edge of a cliff in a thunderstorm to crying beneath her office desk; from electroshock therapy to a suicide attempt fueled by tequila and prescription painkillers.

With Manic, Cheney gives voice to the unarticulated madness she endured. The clinical terms used to describe her illness were so inadequate that she chose to focus instead on her own experience, in her words, on what bipolar disorder felt like inside my own body. Here the events unfold episodically, from mood to mood, the way she lived and remembers life. In this way the reader is able to viscerally experience the incredible speeding highs of mania and the crushing blows of depression, just as Cheney did. Manic does not simply explain bipolar disorder--it takes us in its grasp and does not let go.

In the tradition of Darkness Visible and An Unquiet Mind, Manic is Girl, Interrupted with the girl all grown up. This harrowing yet hopeful book is more than just a searing insider's account of what it's really like to live with bipolar disorder. It is a testament to the sharp beauty of a life lived in extremes.

Synopsis:

A personal account of life with bipolar disorder documents the

Synopsis:

In the tradition of "Girl, Interrupted" and "An Unquiet Mind" comes this heartbreaking, beautifully written memoir of one woman's experience with bipolar disorder.

Synopsis:

An attractive, highly successful Beverly Hills entertainment lawyer, Terri Cheney had been battling debilitating bipolar disorder for the better part of her life—and concealing a pharmacy’s worth of prescription drugs meant to stabilize her moods and make her "normal." In explosive bursts of prose that mirror the devastating mania and extreme despair of her illness, Cheney describes her roller-coaster existence with shocking honesty, giving brilliant voice to the previously unarticulated madness she endured. Brave, electrifying, poignant, and disturbing, Manic does not simply explain bipolar disorder—it takes us into its grasp and does not let go.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061747281
Subtitle:
A Memoir
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Author:
Cheney, Terri
Author:
Terri Cheney
Subject:
Biography & Autobiography : Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Specific Groups - Special Needs
Subject:
Psychopathology - Manic Depressive Illness
Subject:
Psychopathology - Bipolar Disorder
Subject:
Biography - General
Subject:
Psychology-Bipolar Disorder
Subject:
Psychology-General Disorders
Subject:
Psychology-Mood Disorders and Depression
Subject:
Psychology: Personality Disorders
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
20090203
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Language:
English
Pages:
272

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Psychopathology » Bipolar Disorder
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » General

Manic: A Memoir
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 272 pages HarperCollins - English 9780061747281 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , A personal account of life with bipolar disorder documents the
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of "Girl, Interrupted" and "An Unquiet Mind" comes this heartbreaking, beautifully written memoir of one woman's experience with bipolar disorder.
"Synopsis" by , An attractive, highly successful Beverly Hills entertainment lawyer, Terri Cheney had been battling debilitating bipolar disorder for the better part of her life—and concealing a pharmacy’s worth of prescription drugs meant to stabilize her moods and make her "normal." In explosive bursts of prose that mirror the devastating mania and extreme despair of her illness, Cheney describes her roller-coaster existence with shocking honesty, giving brilliant voice to the previously unarticulated madness she endured. Brave, electrifying, poignant, and disturbing, Manic does not simply explain bipolar disorder—it takes us into its grasp and does not let go.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.