Tournament of Books 2015
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | January 19, 2015

    Emma Hooper: IMG From Musician to Novelist



    I was asleep on the floor of the magicians' apartment. Not one, but three magicians lived there, and their mysterious, mischievous, and sometimes... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Code of the Street: Decency, Violence, and the Moral Life of the Inner City

by

Code of the Street: Decency, Violence, and the Moral Life of the Inner City Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Inner-city black America is often stereotyped as a place of random violence; in fact, violence in the inner city is regulated through an informal but well-known code of the street. How you dress, talk, and behave can have life-or-death consequences, with young people particularly at risk. The most powerful force counteracting this code and its reign of terror is the strong, loving, decent family, and we meet many heroic figures in the course of this narrative. Unfortunately, the culture of the street thrives and often defeats decency because it controls public spaces, so that individuals with higher, better aspirations are often entangled in the code and its self-destructive behaviors. Writing in the tradition of Jane Jacobs and William Julius Wilson, the

Synopsis:

Unsparing and important. . . . An informative, clearheaded and sobering book.--Jonathan Yardley, Washington Post (1999 Critic's Choice)

Synopsis:

Provides an in-depth, insider's look at the life of inner-city black America by delving into the codes that exist among peers and the overwhelming control the code has had continuously on the community throughout recent times. Reprint. 10,000 first printing.

About the Author

'Elijah Andersonis the William K. Lanman, Jr. Professor of Sociology at Yale University. His work has appeared in The Atlantic, the Washington Post, and the New York Times Book Review. He lives in New Haven and Philadelphia.'

Table of Contents

Down Germantown Avenue — Decent and street families — Campaigning for respect — Drugs, violence, and street crime — The mating game — The decent daddy — The black inner-city grandmother in transition — John Turner's story — The conversion of a role model: looking for Mr. Johnson.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780393070385
Subtitle:
Decency, Violence, and the Moral Life of the Inner City
Publisher:
W. W. Norton & Company
Creator:
Elijah Anderson
Author:
Anderson, Elijah
Author:
Elijah Anderson
Subject:
Sociology - Urban
Subject:
African American Studies
Subject:
Social life and customs
Subject:
Inner cities
Subject:
Pennsylvania
Subject:
Ethnic Studies - African American Studies
Subject:
Ethnic Studies - African American Studies - General
Subject:
African Americans
Subject:
Philadelphia
Subject:
Afro-americans
Subject:
Book Notes
Subject:
Inner cities -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia.
Subject:
Philadelphia (Pa.) Social life and customs.
Subject:
African American Studies-General
Subject:
Sociology - General
Subject:
Sociology-Urban Studies
Subject:
SOCIO-URB-CITY729EndCap
Subject:
Sociology-Urban Studies City Specific
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Subject:
Social Science : Sociology - Urban
Subject:
Social Science : Ethnic Studies - African American Studies -
Publication Date:
20000917
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
21.08 x 14.22 x 2.29 mm 0.4 kg

Related Subjects

History and Social Science » African American Studies » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » General
History and Social Science » Sociology » Urban Studies » General

Code of the Street: Decency, Violence, and the Moral Life of the Inner City
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 352 pages W. W. Norton - English 9780393070385 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Unsparing and important. . . . An informative, clearheaded and sobering book.--Jonathan Yardley, Washington Post (1999 Critic's Choice)
"Synopsis" by , Provides an in-depth, insider's look at the life of inner-city black America by delving into the codes that exist among peers and the overwhelming control the code has had continuously on the community throughout recent times. Reprint. 10,000 first printing.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.