Signed Edition Sweepstakes
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

The Perfect Mile: Three Athletes, One Goal, and Less than Four Minutes to Achieve It

by

The Perfect Mile: Three Athletes, One Goal, and Less than Four Minutes to Achieve It Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

There was a time when running the mile in four minutes was believed to be beyond the limits of human foot speed, and in all of sport it was the elusive holy grail. In 1952, after suffering defeat at the Helsinki Olympics, three world-class runners each set out to break this barrier. Roger Bannister was a young English medical student who epitomized the ideal of the amateur — still driven not just by winning but by the nobility of the pursuit. John Landy was the privileged son of a genteel Australian family, who as a boy preferred butterfly collecting to running but who trained relentlessly in an almost spiritual attempt to shape his body to this singular task. Then there was Wes Santee, the swaggering American, a Kansas farm boy and natural athlete who believed he was just plain better than everybody else.

Spanning three continents and defying the odds, their collective quest captivated the world and stole headlines from the Korean War, the atomic race, and such legendary figures as Edmund Hillary, Willie Mays, Native Dancer, and Ben Hogan. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and Chariots of Fire, Neal Bascomb delivers a breathtaking story of unlikely heroes and leaves us with a lasting portrait of the twilight years of the golden age of sport.

Synopsis:

A stirring account of athleticism in the face of adversity follows the remarkable journey of three young men--John Landy, Wes Santee, and Roger Bannister--who suffered defeat at the Helsinki Olympics in 1952 but nevertheless vowed to break the four-minute mile, training tirelessly to accomplish their goal. 75,000 first printing.

About the Author

There was a time when running the mile in four minutes was believed to be beyond the limits of human foot speed, and in all of sport it was the elusive holy grail. In 1952, after suffering defeat at the Helsinki Olympics, three world-class runners each set out to break this barrier. Roger Bannister was a young English medical student who epitomized the ideal of the amateur and#151; still driven not just by winning but by the nobility of the pursuit. John Landy was the privileged son of a genteel Australian family, who as a boy preferred butterfly collecting to running but who trained relentlessly in an almost spiritual attempt to shape his body to this singular task. Then there was Wes Santee, the swaggering American, a Kansas farm boy and natural athlete who believed he was just plain better than everybody else.

Spanning three continents and defying the odds, their collective quest captivated the world and stole headlines from the Korean War, the atomic race, and such legendary figures as Edmund Hillary, Willie Mays, Native Dancer, and Ben Hogan. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and Chariots of Fire, Neal Bascomb delivers a breathtaking story of unlikely heroes and leaves us with a lasting portrait of the twilight years of the golden age of sport.

NEAL BASCOMB is the author of the national bestseller The Perfect Mile, the critically acclaimed Higher, and the award-winning Red Mutiny. A former editor and international journalist, he has also contributed to the New York Times. For Hunting Eichmann, Bascomb tracked down former Nazi soldiers and right-wing radicals in Buenos Aires, traveled to Tel Aviv and Jerusalem to meet with legendary Mossad operatives, uncovered an old memoir by Eichmann on his escape from Germany, and interviewed members of the El Al flight crew involved in Eichmannand#8217;s transport to Israel, a story that has never been told. He also made numerous archival discoveries, most notably unearthing the passport that Eichmann used to escape Europe, a discovery that made international headlines.

Table of Contents

A reason to run — The barrier — The perfect mile — Epilogue.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780547525068
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Subject:
Running & Jogging
Author:
Neal Bascomb
Author:
Bascomb, Neal
Subject:
History
Subject:
General
Subject:
Audio Books-Sports and Fitness
Subject:
Sale Books-Sports and Leisure
Subject:
Sports and Fitness-Running
Subject:
Sports and Fitness-Track and Field
Subject:
Track & Field
Subject:
Runners
Subject:
Runners (Sports)
Subject:
Bannister, Roger
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Subject:
Sports & Recreation : History
Subject:
Sports & Recreation : Running & Jogging
Subject:
History : General
Publication Date:
April 2005
Binding:
eBooks
Language:
English
Pages:
336

Related Subjects

Biography » Sports
History and Social Science » World History » General
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Running » General
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Sports General
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Track and Field

The Perfect Mile: Three Athletes, One Goal, and Less than Four Minutes to Achieve It
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 336 pages Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - English 9780547525068 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , A stirring account of athleticism in the face of adversity follows the remarkable journey of three young men--John Landy, Wes Santee, and Roger Bannister--who suffered defeat at the Helsinki Olympics in 1952 but nevertheless vowed to break the four-minute mile, training tirelessly to accomplish their goal. 75,000 first printing.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.