Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | October 23, 2014

    Kathryn Harrison: IMG On Joan of Arc: A Life Transfigured



    I'm always sorry to finish a book, to let go of characters I love, people I've struggled to understand for years, people who evolve before me.... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

The Political Mind: A Cognitive Scientist's Guide to Your Brain and Its Politics

by

The Political Mind: A Cognitive Scientist's Guide to Your Brain and Its Politics Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In What's the Matter with Kansas?, Thomas Frank pointed out that a great number of Americans actually vote against their own interests. In The Political Mind, George Lakoff explains why.As it turns out, human beings are not the rational creatures we've so long imagined ourselves to be. Ideas, morals, and values do not exist somewhere outside the body, ready to be examined and put to use. Instead, they exist quite literally inside the brain-and they take physical shape there. For example, we form particular kinds of narratives in our minds just like we form specific muscle memories such as typing or dancing, and then we fit new information into those narratives. Getting that information out of one narrative type and into another-or building a whole new narrative altogether-can be as hard as learning to play the banjo. Changing your mind isn't like changing your body-it's the same thing.But as long as progressive politicians and activists persist in believing that people use an objective system of reasoning to decide on their politics, the Democrats will continue to lose elections. They must wrest control of the terms of the debate from their opponents rather than accepting their frame and trying to argue within it.This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.

Synopsis:

A forefront linguist and cognitive scientist offers insight into the latest discoveries about the scientific origins of human reason, revealing its functioning as a physical, emotional, and largely unconscious process that may be effectively evaluated on philosophical and political levels. Reprint.

About the Author

George Lakoff is Richard and Rhoda Goldman Distinguished Professor of Cognitive Science and Linguistics at the University of California, Berkeley.

Table of Contents

Introduction : brain change and social change — How the brain shapes the political mind — Anna Nicole on the brain — The political unconscious — The brain's role in family values — The brain's role in political ideologies — Political challenges for the twenty-first-century mind — A new consciousness — Traumatic ideas : the War on Terror — Framing reality : privateering — Fear of framing — Confronting stereotypes : sons of the welfare queen — Aim above the bad apples — Cognitive policy — Contested concepts everywhere — The technical is the political — Exploring the political brain — The problem of self-interest — The metaphors defining rational action — Why hawks win — The brain's language — Language in the new enlightenment — Afterword : what if it works? — Acknowledgments — Notes — Index.

Product Details

ISBN:
9781440637834
Subtitle:
A Cognitive Scientist's Guide to Your Brain and Its Politics
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Author:
Lakoff, George
Author:
George Lakoff
Subject:
Political Science : Government - National
Subject:
Political Process - General
Subject:
Government - U.S. Government
Subject:
Government - National
Subject:
Political Ideologies - Conservatism & Liberalism
Subject:
Cognitive Psychology
Subject:
Progressivism (united states politics)
Subject:
Thought and thinking
Subject:
Politics - General
Subject:
Politics-United States Culture
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
20090602
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Language:
English
Pages:
292

Related Subjects

Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Cognitive Science
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
History and Social Science » Politics » General

The Political Mind: A Cognitive Scientist's Guide to Your Brain and Its Politics
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 292 pages Penguin Books - English 9781440637834 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , A forefront linguist and cognitive scientist offers insight into the latest discoveries about the scientific origins of human reason, revealing its functioning as a physical, emotional, and largely unconscious process that may be effectively evaluated on philosophical and political levels. Reprint.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.