We Need Diverse Ya Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    The Powell's Playlist | June 29, 2015

    Roger Hobbs: IMG Soundtrack of Macau: Roger Hobbs's Playlist for Vanishing Games



    My new novel, Vanishing Games, is a heist thriller set in the gambling city of Macau, China. I lived there briefly while researching the book and... Continue »
    1. $18.17 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Vanishing Games

      Roger Hobbs 9780385352642

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.50
List price: $25.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

The Devil's Star

by

The Devil's Star Cover

ISBN13: 9780061133978
ISBN10: 0061133973
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $11.50!

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

Katie M, January 2, 2011 (view all comments by Katie M)
This book had me on the edge of my seat - I finished it in a weekend. I was so happy to find something as fast-paced as the Millennium trilogy. This is the best thriller I've read in a long time, and I can't wait to read more of Nesbo's books.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)
Ronrose, June 22, 2010 (view all comments by Ronrose)
This is a very good crime novel set in Norway, the authors home country. The characters and the plot are well thought out. I was surprised by a number of turns that the plot took. The main character, police detective, Harry Hole is on his last legs with the police department, his girlfriend, and humanity in general. He has been haunted since his childhood by his quilt of losing his younger sister in a bizarre elevator accident, which he was powerless to stop. Now the young female detective he had been working with on a police corruption case, has been murdered and he feels it is his fault. He tries drowning his guilt with liquor and pushing away all his acquaintances, including his girlfriend. An opportunity to redeem himself and to avenge the killing of his partner arises when he is forced to work a case with detective Waaler, whom Harry suspects of murdering his partner. The case starts when a girl is found naked, murdered in her apartment with one finger cut off. Under one eyelid a red star shaped diamond is found. This and two similar murders set in motion the twisting plot that brings the murder and Harry's problems to a denouement.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(6 of 10 readers found this comment helpful)
nancy93065, March 16, 2010 (view all comments by nancy93065)
Jo Nesbø is one of the best writers of Scandinavian crime fiction out there today.


summary, no spoilers:
Set in Oslo, Devil's Star features Detective Harry Hole, whose life started zooming out of control when his friend and fellow detective, Ellen Gjelten was murdered while working a case. Harry has spent much of the time since in an alcoholic stupor, neglecting his work to try to catch Ellen's killer, and putting his personal life in the trash. He knows who murdered Ellen, but proving it is a whole different story. Suffice it to say that you must read (in order) Redbreast, and then Nemesis to understand this part of Harry's life. In this book, he is assigned to work on the case of a dead woman who is found with a) a finger cut off and b) a diamond cut in the shape of a star under her eyelid. As the investigation gets rolling, and there are more deaths, Harry begins to uncover a pattern, but with time winding down on his own career, he has to come to grips with his past, present and future as well.

Nesbø's writing, his ability to craft a clever and engrossing series of plotlines that weave together effortlessly, and his excellent characterizations are consistent throughout the entire series. Harry Hole is one of my favorite crime fiction characters, but Nesbø doesn't stop with him. Each one of the supporting characters has a distinct reality of his or her own.

Nesbø is one of the reasons I continue to be fascinated with Scandinavian crime fiction. He is a talented writer, so much so that he is my favorite author within this genre. His books are dark and often broody, but well worth every second of reading time. My advice: read Redbreast and Nemesis prior to this one because prior knowledge of what's happening will raise the suspense level for you. Very highly recommended.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 11 readers found this comment helpful)
nancy93065, March 16, 2010 (view all comments by nancy93065)
Jo Nesbø is one of the best writers of Scandinavian crime fiction out there today.


summary, no spoilers:
Set in Oslo, Devil's Star features Detective Harry Hole, whose life started zooming out of control when his friend and fellow detective, Ellen Gjelten was murdered while working a case. Harry has spent much of the time since in an alcoholic stupor, neglecting his work to try to catch Ellen's killer, and putting his personal life in the trash. He knows who murdered Ellen, but proving it is a whole different story. Suffice it to say that you must read (in order) Redbreast, and then Nemesis to understand this part of Harry's life. In this book, he is assigned to work on the case of a dead woman who is found with a) a finger cut off and b) a diamond cut in the shape of a star under her eyelid. As the investigation gets rolling, and there are more deaths, Harry begins to uncover a pattern, but with time winding down on his own career, he has to come to grips with his past, present and future as well.

Nesbø's writing, his ability to craft a clever and engrossing series of plotlines that weave together effortlessly, and his excellent characterizations are consistent throughout the entire series. Harry Hole is one of my favorite crime fiction characters, but Nesbø doesn't stop with him. Each one of the supporting characters has a distinct reality of his or her own.

Nesbø is one of the reasons I continue to be fascinated with Scandinavian crime fiction. He is a talented writer, so much so that he is my favorite author within this genre. His books are dark and often broody, but well worth every second of reading time. My advice: read Redbreast and Nemesis prior to this one because prior knowledge of what's happening will raise the suspense level for you. Very highly recommended.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(9 of 13 readers found this comment helpful)
 1-4 of 4

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061133978
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Nesbo, Jo
Translator:
Bartlett, Don
Author:
Jo Nesbo
Author:
Jo Nesbo
Author:
Nesb, Jo
Publisher:
Harper
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Series:
Harry Hole Series
Series Volume:
5
Publication Date:
20100309
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
464
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.41 in 21.68 oz

Other books you might like

  1. My Times in Black and White: Race... New Hardcover $35.00
  2. Hellraisers: The Life and Inebriated... Used Hardcover $6.95
  3. The Fourth Assassin (Omar Yussef... Used Hardcover $4.95
  4. Gate At the Stairs Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. Olive Kitteridge
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  6. The Piano Teacher
    Used Hardcover $4.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

The Devil's Star Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.50 In Stock
Product details 464 pages Harper - English 9780061133978 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

When did Northern Europe turn into a hotbed of great crime novels? Fans of Henning Mankell and Stieg Larsson can rejoice, as Scandinavian writer Jo Nesbø's Harry Hole series continues with The Devil's Star. Expect a bit of gloom and introspection, yes, but also a first-rate thriller with unforgettable characters that will make you rush to get the previous books.

"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "A serial killer taunts Harry Hole in Nesb's searing third crime novel to feature the Oslo police detective to be made available in the U.S. (after Nemesis). Still suffering from alcohol-fueled demons and obsessed with hunting for evidence against a clearly dirty cop, Hole grudgingly agrees to help look into the murder of a woman whose finger has been amputated and a red diamond stuck under her eyelid. More bodies follow, with the murderer leaving identical five-pointed diamonds (the titular devil's star) at each crime scene. At first the killings appear to be random, but Hole soon discovers an ominous pattern. Nesb brilliantly incorporates threads from earlier novels, including Hole's often tumultuous relationship with his lover, Rakel, without ever losing the current story's rhythm. Even with — or perhaps because of — his flaws, Hole is arguably one of today's most fascinating fictional detectives. 5-city author tour. (Mar.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Jo Nesbo is my new favorite thriller writer and Harry Hole my new hero."
"Review" by , "Compelling . . . Shocking and surprising . . . Expertly paced . . . I place Nesbo high up in the Scandinavian mystery league."
"Review" by , "A well-crafted rollercoaster of a book . . . Nesbo sets a cracking pace . . . A series of spectacular plot twists lead to a thrilling finale. Highly recommended."
"Synopsis" by , “Astonishingly confident. . . . The Devils Star scores with an intriguing plot and Nesbos mastery of pace and tension.” — The Times (London)

From one of the most celebrated crime writers in Europe and the award-winning author of The Redbreast comes an epic thriller featuring Police Detective Harry Hole. In the vein of the crime novels of James Patterson and Dennis Lehane, Jo Nesbos The Devils Star is an intricately plotted and suspenseful thrill-ride from beginning to end.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.