Knockout Narratives Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | January 30, 2015

    Charles Baxter: IMG Writers and the Bottle



    Why are people so interested in drunk writers? Recently I was sent a very interesting nonfiction book, The Trip to Echo Spring: On Writers and... Continue »

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Horns

by

Horns Cover

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 14 comments:

tabula-rasa, January 26, 2011 (view all comments by tabula-rasa)
A spectacular work.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Pastry Chef, January 13, 2011 (view all comments by Pastry Chef)
The snarky stream-of-consciousness comments the main character hears when he confronts his "loved" ones (family) and friends are hilarious.

Some fresh points of view and unexpected twists and turns in the story are vastly entertaining.

And I like that I got a copy, signed by Joe Hill, "Demonically yours".
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
michelleshawa, January 10, 2011 (view all comments by michelleshawa)
I loved this book so much! I was so excited to see it on a few of the top 5 lists; after it came out, I didn't hear much about it again. I wish it wouldn't have been labeled a horror novel, I didn't find it particularly scary, and don't think most would. But it was a beautiful novel, funny, a love story, a good-vs-evil plotline...I never wanted it to end. I still think about Ig and Merrin sometimes, and cannot wait to forget enough of the book to re-read it :)
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Chastity Babineaux, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by Chastity Babineaux)
I really enjoyed 20th Century Ghosts and wanted to see if Joe Hill could write a novel as tight as the short stories. Um, he can. Good read! I'm eager to see what he does next.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
encgolsen, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by encgolsen)
This novel from the author of 20th Century Ghosts and Heart-Shaped Box is a searing glimpse into the soul of a good man consumed by guilt and regret, a man who suddenly knows the worst about everyone around him. It was a highly original and absolutely riveting story, and one I'll never forget.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
 1-5 of 14 next

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061147951
Subtitle:
A Novel
Publisher:
William Morrow
Author:
Becker, Robin
Author:
Bradford, Barbara Taylor
Author:
Hill, Joe
Author:
Herman, Arthur
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Horror - General
Subject:
Horror fiction
Subject:
Revenge
Subject:
Great britain
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Romance - Contemporary
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Contemporary Thrillers
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20100216
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.21 in 19.6 oz

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z

Horns
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 384 pages William Morrow & Company - English 9780061147951 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

After reading Joe Hill's newest novel, Horns, I am vastly relieved: there is a successor to Stephen King. I've spent a few traumatizing moments wondering what I'd do should there not ever be another King novel or short story. Well, as long as his son continues to produce stories like Horns, I'll relax. Hill's characters are as interesting and deeply drawn as King's and his storytelling skills make the reader hungry for each new revelation in the tale.

Horns is the story of Iggy Perrish, who stands accused of the heinous murder of his high-school sweetheart. After a night of heavy drinking on the anniversary of her death, Iggy wakes up with some unusual abilities and a pair of horns sprouting from his head. Using his new "powers," he goes on a journey of vengeance, uncovering the truth about the murder while revealing more about the people around him than he ever wanted to know.

"Staff Pick" by ,

Horns is the story of Ig Perrish, who wakes up after a night of debauchery to find himself saddled with a pair of horns. It's a fantastic, genre-busting hybrid that twists and turns like a thriller, but has the character development and nuanced dialogue of literary fiction. Horns is so good, I wish I could read it again for the first time.

"Staff Pick" by ,

I expected to like this book as a guilty pleasure. I was hungry for a fast-paced read, something that would effortlessly draw me in, but wouldn't require a lot of heavy thinking. I was so wrong: Horns is highly literary, in addition to all the other qualities I was craving. Joe Hill managed to create a world so ugly, terrifying, and heartbreakingly beautiful that I desperately didn't want to leave.

"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "In bestseller Hill's compulsively readable supernatural thriller, his second after Heart-Shaped Box, dissolute Ignatius Perrish wakes up one morning to find a pair of satanic horns sprouting from his forehead. To the residents of Gideon, N.H., this grotesque disfigurement only confirms their suspicions that Ig raped and murdered his girlfriend, Merrin Williams, a crime for which he was held but soon released for lack of evidence. Ig is also now privy to the deepest, and often darkest, private thoughts of anyone he touches. Once Ig discovers through this uncanny sensitivity the true killer's identity, he schemes to reveal the culprit's guilt through natural means. Toggling between past and present, and incidents that range from the supernaturally surreal to the brutally realistic, Hill spins a story that's both morbidly amusing and emotionally resonant. The explanations for Ig's weird travails won't satisfy every reader, but few will dispute that Hill has negotiated the sophomore slump. 6-city author tour. (Mar.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review A Day" by , "This second novel opens as 26-year-old Ignatius W. Perrish, "Ig" to his friends, wakes up with a homicidal hangover, dim notions of what he did the night before and a pair of demonic horns sprouting from his receding hairline. None of this strikes Ig as entirely inappropriate because it is the first anniversary of the brutal rape and murder of his sweetheart, Merrin Williams." (read the entire Oregonian review)
"Review" by , "Mr. Hill writes with such palpable enthusiasm that he has no trouble hooking readers....[He] is able to combine intrigue, editorializing, impassioned romance and even fiery theological debate in one well-told story."
"Review" by , "Hill has written a novel that is all his. Highly recommended, particularly for fans of Clive Barker and Christopher Moore."
"Review" by , "Hill has emerged as one of America's finest horror writers....That empathy with the Devil — taking a despicable character and slowly bringing us around to his side — is the sort of thing Hill does best. It's also what's missing from so much of the girl-meets-vampire gruel that dominates the genre these days."
"Review" by , "Horns isn't a perfect novel, but it's devilishly good....Hill is a terrific writer with a great imagination. He has a special talent for taking us and his characters to very weird places."
"Review" by , "Hill proves again that he is running on his own steam....The wise guys point out that the literature of horror fantasy tends to be both romantic and conservative. Normalcy is idealized and so precious that its violation is the essence of horror. Joe Hill's sweet, fanged demonology takes us there."
"Review" by , "Horns is more confident and unexpected [than Heart-shaped Box), taking risks in chronology and perspective....Hill's willingness to run with a supernatural concept without falling into predictable patterns keeps what could've been a simple revenge story from becoming stale. (Grade: A-)"
"Review" by , "Richly allusive, Horns references not only classical mythology, but Biblical texts, pre-Christian folklore, and such rock 'n' roll legends as Mitch Ryder and the Detroit Wheels....Though [Hill] never lets us ignore the sound of cracking bones and the smell of rotting offal endemic to horror, he explores large swathes of metaphysical territory, too."
"Synopsis" by , The New York Times-bestselling author of Heart-Shaped Box — "a major player in 21st-century fantastic fiction" (Washington Post) — returns with a relentless new supernatural thriller.
"Synopsis" by ,

“A major player in 21st-century fantastic fiction.”
—Washington Post

 

Joe Hills critically acclaimed, New York Times bestselling, Bram Stoker Award-winning debut chiller, Heart-Shaped Box, heralded the arrival of new royalty onto the dark fantasy scene. With Horns, he polishes his well-deserved crown. A twisted, terrifying new novel of psychological and supernatural suspense, Horns is a devilishly original triumph for the Ray Bradbury Fellowship recipient whose story collection, 20th Century Ghosts, was also honored with a Bram Stoker Award—and whose emotionally powerful and  macabre work has been praised by the New York Times as, “wild, mesmerizing, perversely witty…a Valentine from hell.”

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.