Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | February 27, 2014

Rene Denfeld: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Rene Denfeld



Describe your latest book. The Enchanted is a story narrated by a man on death row. The novel was inspired by my work as a death penalty... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Enchanted

    Rene Denfeld 9780062285508

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General

Other titles in the Luxe series:

The Luxe (Luxe)

by

The Luxe (Luxe) Cover

ISBN13: 9780061345661
ISBN10: 0061345660
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $4.95!

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Mark Clark, August 14, 2008 (view all comments by Mark Clark)
It is a little slow but still good. But, on a better side you would not see what was comeing up next which kept me reading to the end.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 14 readers found this comment helpful)
chlsea_pierce, December 29, 2007 (view all comments by chlsea_pierce)
The Luxe takes place in the most romantic time in American history. Love, desception, and passion is what you'll find in this book!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061345661
Author:
Godbersen, Anna
Publisher:
Dial
Author:
by Anna Godbersen
Author:
Paul, Fiona
Author:
Hagen, Bethany
Subject:
Girls & Women
Subject:
Historical - United States - General
Subject:
Social Issues - Adolescence
Subject:
Conduct of life
Subject:
History
Subject:
Social Issues - General
Subject:
Situations / Adolescence
Subject:
Wealth
Subject:
Love & Romance
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardback
Series:
Secrets of the Eternal Rose
Publication Date:
20140204
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 9
Language:
English
Pages:
384
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
14-17

Other books you might like

  1. Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. Junie B.'s Essential Survival Guide...
    Used Spiral/comb $8.95
  3. The Knife of Never Letting Go: Chaos...
    Used Trade Paper $6.00
  4. The Taste of Night (Dangerous Girls #2)
    Used Hardcover $6.95
  5. Clay Sale Trade Paper $4.98
  6. Gossip Girl #4: Because I'm Worth It
    Used Trade Paper $0.95

Related Subjects

» Children's » Historical Fiction » United States » General
» Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
» Young Adult » General

The Luxe (Luxe) Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 384 pages HarperCollins - English 9780061345661 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "With a quote from The Age of Innocence as an epigraph and an enthusiastic blurb from the creator of Gossip Girl on its back cover, this lavishly produced debut makes no secret of its twin influences. The story opens in 1899 with the funeral of Elizabeth Holland, a well-bred beauty said to have plunged to her death in the Hudson River. The narrative then travels back several weeks, tracing the relationships and events that have led to the somber assembly. This tangled web includes not one but two sets of star-crossed lovers; an upstairs/downstairs romance; a scheming social climber; a bitter servant girl; and oodles of money, all set in a Edith Wharton via Hollywood vision of Old New York. The dialogue has its clunky moments, and the plot twist that drives the tale is telegraphed from the very start, but readers caught up in the fancy dress intrigue are unlikely to mind much: it's all part of the dishy fun. Needless to say, the ending paves the way for at least one sequel. Ages 14-up." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
“Downton Abbey” meets The Selection in this dystopian tale of love and betrayal

Sixteen-year-old Madeline Landry is practically Gentry royalty. Her ancestor developed the nuclear energy that has replaced electricity, and her parents exemplify the glamour of the upper class. As for Madeline, she would much rather read a book than attend yet another debutante ball. But when she learns about the devastating impact the Gentry lifestyle—her lifestyle—is having on those less fortunate, her whole world is turned upside down.  As Madeline begins to question everything she has been told, she finds herself increasingly drawn to handsome, beguiling David Dana, who seems to be hiding secrets of his own. Soon, rumors of war and rebellion start to spread, and Madeline finds herself at the center of it all. Ultimately, she must make a choice between duty—her family and the estate she loves dearly—and desire.

Fans of Ally Condie, Kiera Cass, Veronica Roth, and even Jane Austen will be enthralled by this breathtaking read.

"Synopsis" by ,
Love, lust, murder, mayhem and high society converge in one thrilling debut

Part Gossip Girl, part Edgar Allan Poe, and wholly beautiful, elegant and suspenseful, this novel set in Venice during the Renaissance is a true romantic thriller. When Cassandra Caravallo visits her friend Liviana's crypt and finds a murdered courtesan inside, her world is turned upside down. Before she knows it, Cass is involved with Falco, a grave-robbing artist, and on her way to discovering corruption in the elite Venetian society.

But will she find the man who's been savagely murdering beautiful young girls before he finds her? Will she stay true to her fiance, who's off studying law in France? Or will she succumb to Falco's charms? Beauty, love, romance and murder combine in a novel that's as seductive and stunning as Venice itself.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and eBooks — here at Powells.com.