Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside Literature- A to Z

The Lace Reader

by

The Lace Reader Cover

ISBN13: 9780061624766
ISBN10: 0061624764
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $4.95!

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 7 comments:

mgdallas, July 4, 2009 (view all comments by mgdallas)
OOOOhhhhh, what a great book! Sort of a historical fiction, with a thriller thrown in for good measure. A fantastic read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(7 of 14 readers found this comment helpful)
Ambrosia4All, January 24, 2009 (view all comments by Ambrosia4All)
All I can say is wow. This book tells the story of Towner Whitney of recent-past Salem, Massachusetts. A modern day witch-hunt against a woman with a dark secret and mental illness that makes it hard to discern fact from fiction are the draw here. The self-declared unreliable narrator lives up to that title, making the entire book all that more interesting to ponder over in the end.

The hardest parts of this book were: the beginning, which was difficult to understand because you don't get what's going on at first, and everything in Part 2 and on, which is when I was so hooked I couldn't put it down. When you get to the end, you take a deep breath look around and try to put everything you just read together.

While at times the novel does get ambiguous, I rather liked this technique because it brings to mind the hazy memories a mental illness can create. In other words, it makes sense in the context of the book, however, it's not for all readers and you should pick this book up warned in advance. I tend to like books where you have to work at the end to figure out what's happened. If you don't, you probably want to stay away from this (although, in all honesty, I thought the ending was rather straightforward and explained what had happened quite clearly...).

All together a fabulous story which is hard to define (mystery/suspense and drama with a dash of understated romance and great characters is my best guess). Highly recommended to anyone with a penchant for mystery novels or a flair for the dramatic.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(9 of 19 readers found this comment helpful)
Lucyspal3, September 1, 2008 (view all comments by Lucyspal3)
This book had some major flaws. In the end the book was about redemption, forgiveness and healing, but the way the reader gets there is too tangled. Other than Rafferty’s past alcohol abuse you never know why he’s so damaged. You only find out in the end why Jack is so damaged with a glimpse in his head, but that glimpse makes him a monster, not a victim.

Did Towner suffer from multiple personalities? Did she suffer from memory loss because of the shock treatment and then made up Lindley to hide her wounds? Did Eva kill herself to awaken Towner?

I felt that the questions left were too many, and the ones answered were too few.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(15 of 26 readers found this comment helpful)
Elizabeth Elliott, August 17, 2008 (view all comments by Elizabeth Elliott)
I've been waiting for this book since our local paper reviewed it in January. It has certainly been worth the wait... a delight from cover to cover.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(15 of 23 readers found this comment helpful)
Tracey, August 1, 2008 (view all comments by Tracey)
This is a charming, dark romp of a read. There is a lot in this book, neowitches, dysfuntional families, romance, mystery, wild wild dogs, and evangelists. Whew! But it all works together into an engaging few hours of escapist reading time. If you are interested in a historical novel about lace making, look for the out of print: The Lacemaker by Jeanne Montupet. It was a best seller in France many years ago. It has a bit of romance, but it is mostly about the lives of the lace making community of Alsace.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(61 of 70 readers found this comment helpful)
 1-5 of 7 next

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061624766
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Barry, Brunonia
Author:
by Brunonia Barry
Author:
by Brunonia Barry
Publisher:
William Morrow
Subject:
General
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Historical
Subject:
Psychics
Subject:
New england
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Suspense fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
August 2008
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.25 in 20.48 oz

Other books you might like

  1. The Girl Who Stopped Swimming
    Used Trade Paper $1.95
  2. Practical Magic Used Mass Market $1.00
  3. Blackbird House
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  4. The Guernsey Literary and Potato...
    Used Hardcover $3.95
  5. The Probable Future
    Used Trade Paper $3.50
  6. The Third Angel Used Hardcover $6.71

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » Historical

The Lace Reader Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 400 pages William Morrow & Company - English 9780061624766 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

The Lace Reader is a wonderfully layered novel of gothic suspense set in Salem, Massachusetts. The women of the Whitney family are psychics who can see the future by concentrating on the patterns in handmade lace. Each chapter opens with a passage from the fictional Lace Reader's Guide. As Towner Whitney revisits Salem (a world she left behind years before) to look for her missing aunt, she uncovers a mystery that is deeper and more complex than the lace that she is compelled to read again. A captivating and smart debut with which to while away a summer afternoon.

"Review" by , "[A] most unusual and bewitching novel. Highly recommended."
"Review" by , "[A]n ambitious debut....Unusual and otherworldly, this is a blizzard of a story which surprisingly manages to pull together its historical, supernatural and psychiatric elements."
"Review" by , "Fans of Dennis Lehane's Shutter Island (2003), Chris Bohjalian's The Double Bind (2007), and other modern pop-psych mysteries will not be disappointed."
"Review" by , "Evocative, layered, smart, and astonishing, The Lace Reader is a fever dream of a novel that will haunt me for a long time to come. The Salem, Massachusetts, that the Whitney women inhabit is a wild, dark place, and I loved every moment that I spent there."
"Synopsis" by , In Barry's captivating debut, Towner Whitney, a young woman descended from a long line of mind readers and fortune tellers, has returned to her hometown of Salem, Massachusetts, for rest and relaxation. Any tranquility in her life is short-lived, however, when her aunt drowns under mysterious circumstances.
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barrys bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic Salem family who can foretell the future in patterns of lace. The Lace Reader was a runaway New York Times bestseller—hitting the top lists in major cities across the country, from Boston to Chicago to Los Angeles—and has immediately established debut author Brunonia Barry as a major force in contemporary American fiction.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.