25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $17.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Beaverton Children's Young Adult- General
2 Burnside Children's Young Adult- General
1 Hawthorne Children's Young Adult- General
2 Local Warehouse Children's Young Adult- General

More copies of this ISBN

Before I Fall

by

Before I Fall Cover

ISBN13: 9780061726804
ISBN10: 006172680x
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

ashelynnhetland, September 8, 2011 (view all comments by ashelynnhetland)
Wow. What a brilliant debut! I love Lauren Oliver, and this is my second book I've read from her (haha, as it should be, since she only has two published/out in the world books. I do have an ARC of Liesl & Po, and I'm very excited to dive into it!)

All I knew about Before I Fall is 1) a lot of people liked it 2) A lot of people hated Sam and her group since they were bitches and 3) she has to relive the same day for seven days in a row.

I freaking love this book, and Sam. I didn't find her mean or overall horrible in the beginning (some of the things Sam and her friends did make me sad). And I loved how Sam grew as a character over the story.

Each day is different, which I love, because if it had been the same day over and over again, that would have been very boring to read. But it wasn't, and oh my god, it was addictive. I kept reading and reading and reading until there was nothing else to read.

And what an ending. I'm not entirely sure I like it, but maybe it'll grow on me. What I really loved about this book was the friendship relationship between Sam and her friends. Lately YA is filled with sexual relationships that a friendship relationship book is amazing and I devour it (think LIKE MANDARIN by Kirsten Hubbard.) These books are amazing, and I loved how Oliver managed to grasp the friendship with this group of teens. Really, really loved that friendship dynamic. More of this, please?
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Kaiya, January 6, 2011 (view all comments by Kaiya)
In a world where thousands of books each month this book was able to find the way through the darkness and into the light.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Josephine1800, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by Josephine1800)
Although technically in the YA section this novel is one of those rare books that spans the age barrier. "Before I Fall" deals with identity and a girls struggle to find herself. Oliver's beautiful prose portrays this struggle in a manner that every reader will relate to.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
things that last, March 16, 2010 (view all comments by things that last)
I'm just curious why this review's last line says, In portraying the life of Jesus, two new picture books blend the traditional with the contemporary." --Publisher's Weekly, starred review.

What?? Is this from a different review? It's not a picture book and not about Jesus....
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
 1-4 of 4

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061726804
Author:
Oliver, Lauren
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Author:
Davis, Heather
Author:
Asher, Jay
Author:
Bass, Ron
Author:
Mackler, Carolyn
Author:
Stoltz, Adrienne
Author:
Wunder, Wendy
Subject:
Conduct of life
Subject:
Schools
Subject:
Social Issues - Death & Dying
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Social Issues - Adolescence
Subject:
Situations / Death & Dying
Subject:
Family - Multigenerational
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction-Death and Dying
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-Social Issue Fiction
Subject:
Bedtime & Dreams
Subject:
Situations / Emotions & Feelings
Subject:
Situations / Adolescence
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20100302
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
from 7
Language:
English
Illustrations:
None
Pages:
480
Dimensions:
8.25 x 5.5 in 1 lb
Age Level:
from 14

Other books you might like

  1. Meanwhile: Pick Any Path 3,856 Story...
    Used Hardcover $7.95
  2. Out of My Mind
    Used Hardcover $5.50
  3. Good Fortune New Trade Paper $9.99
  4. Wake
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  5. Wishing for Tomorrow: The Sequel to... Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. Knightley Academy New Trade Paper $5.99

Related Subjects


Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Adolescence
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Death and Dying
Young Adult » Fiction » Social Issues » Friendship
Young Adult » General

Before I Fall Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 480 pages HarperCollins - English 9780061726804 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

I hardly ever find young-adult books whose main character is a maddeningly popular girl — the girl with the hot jock boyfriend and the fiercely close but catty top-tier friends — and yet, here one is. Before I Fall is a fantastically authentic read (verging on character study, in the way Sam and her posse grow throughout) all bundled tightly in a warm cocoon of page-turning loveliness. This YA novel is going to go places. Mark my words.

"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Beautiful, popular Samantha and her three best friends are the ruthless queen bees of their high school. But Samantha is living a nightmare: throughout the book, she relives the day of her death seven times, with some dramatic alterations and revelations depending on her choices — ditching school to spend time with her younger sister or, on a day when life's rules have all but lost their meaning, seducing a teacher. She faces the often tragic consequences of even the smallest acts, awakens to the casual cruelties all around her, and tries to get things right and maybe even redeem herself. If this sounds too much like a Groundhog Day — style plot, make no mistake: evocative of Jenny Downham's Before I Die, Oliver's debut novel is raw, emotional, and, at times, beautiful ('It amazes me how easy it is for things to change,' Samantha thinks. 'how easy it is to start off down the same road you always take and wind up somewhere new'). Samantha's best friends are funny, likable, and maddening, but readers will love Samantha best as she hurtles toward an end as brave as it is heartbreaking. Ages 14 — up." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
What if you could see how your life would unfold--just by clicking a button?

It's 1996, and less than half of all American high school students have ever used the Internet. Emma just got her first computer and an America Online CD-ROM. Josh is her best friend. They power up and log on--and discover themselves on Facebook, fifteen years in the future. Everybody wonders what their destiny will be. Josh and Emma are about to find out.

"Synopsis" by ,
A dying teen learns to live in this heart-wrenching debut, perfect for fans of If I Stay

Campbell Cooper has never been in love. And if the doctors are right, she'll never have the chance. So when she's told she needs a miracle, her family moves 1,500 miles north to Promise, Maine--a place where amazing, unexplainable events are said to occur--like it or not. And when a mysterious envelope arrives, containing a list of things for Cam to do before she dies, she finally learns to believe--in love, in herself, and maybe even in miracles, as improbable as they may seem.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.