25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 8, 2014

Peter Mendelsund: IMG The Powell's Playlist: Water Music by Peter Mendelsund



We "see" when we read, and we "see" when we listen. There are many ways in which music can create the cross-sensory experience of this seeing...... Continue »
  1. $11.87 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Burnside - Bldg. 2 Environmental Studies- Management

Fire Season: Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout

by

Fire Season: Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout Cover

ISBN13: 9780061859366
ISBN10: 0061859362
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $11.95!

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 4 comments:

Urchina, January 19, 2012 (view all comments by Urchina)
In this lyrical and compelling book, Connors discusses life as a Forest Service wildnerness area lookout, one of the few remaining from what used to be a large company of individuals who spent entire summers on top of remote mountains looking for wisps of smoke. The book has plenty about fire and wildnerness, as one would expect, but also covers topics such as marriage, bartending, and friendship with observant and clear language. It's a charming book and one I'd recommend for outdoorsy types as well as introverts.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
darkfirewoman, January 19, 2012 (view all comments by darkfirewoman)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I don't often find time to read but I made time to read a bit of this book each morning, early, until I reached the end. (Some books I never make it to the end). Since wilderness is dear to my heart, this book echoed my own feelings and it was a balm to my soul. I learned a few things along the way as well. It's more than a memoir, Connors has researched well and provides enlightening information on the origins and doctrines of the US Forest Service. I also learned about the London Review of Books which I hadn't known about! Good Stuff.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
James Kelly, January 3, 2012 (view all comments by James Kelly)
For eight years, the author and his dog have hiked into the forests of New Mexico to climb a lookout tower to watch for and report fires over the radio. Five months of the year he basically spends in complete isolation. This book is a chronicle of that time as well as a rumination on loneliness and solitude, nature and work. The book is beautifully written, and full of thoughtfulness and things to stir the reader's thoughts. I loved it, and highly recommend it.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
trevlarson, September 19, 2011 (view all comments by trevlarson)
Fantastic account of what it’s like to be a modern day fire lookout. Each year we stay in a different Forest Service lookout rental - this year I had a new perspective while reading Fire Season in the Gold Butte Lookout.

Fire Season make me want to ditch my office job for the summer and sign up with the Forest Service!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
 1-4 of 4

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061859366
Author:
Connors, Philip
Publisher:
Ecco
Subject:
Natural Resources
Subject:
General Nature
Subject:
Biology-Reference
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20110405
Binding:
Book
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 0.89 in 14.4 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Sacred Hoops: Spiritual Lessons of a... Used Trade Paper $1.50
  2. Hint Fiction: An Anthology of... Used Trade Paper $8.00
  3. The Jamestown Experiment: The... Sale Trade Paper $7.98
  4. A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and...
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  5. Bicycle Diaries Used Trade Paper $10.95
  6. The Composer Is Dead
    Sale Hardcover $7.98

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Engineering » Environmental Engineering » Forestry
History and Social Science » Americana » Fire Fighting
Science and Mathematics » Biology » Reference
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » Forests
Science and Mathematics » Environmental Studies » Management
Science and Mathematics » Forestry » General
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » General

Fire Season: Field Notes from a Wilderness Lookout Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Ecco - English 9780061859366 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Every summer Philip Connors runs away from home. He spends half the year in a remote fire lookout savoring the solitude and the joy of monotasking. His wonderful book, Fire Season, will make you want to quit your job, sell the house, and find your own little piece of wilderness. You've been warned.

"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "For almost a decade, former Wall Street Journal reporter Connors has spent half a year keeping vigil over 20,000 square miles of desert, forest, and mountain chains from atop a tower 10,000 feet above sea level. One of a handful of seasoned, seasonal fire-watchers in New Mexico's Gila National Forest, Connors introduces us to his wilderness in this ruminative, lyrical, occasionally suspenseful account that bristles with the narrative energy and descriptive precision of Annie Dillard and dovetails between elegiac introspection and a history of his curious and lonely occupation. Poet Gary Snyder, environmental advocate Edward Abbey, and beat novelist Jack Kerouac once stood watch over the woods, but today, 90% of American lookout towers have been decommissioned, with only a few hundred remaining. The world at large intrudes in Connors's account of contented isolation only in a discussion of evolving forest fire — fighting policies, in which advocates of ruthlessly suppressing fires are pitted against a new generation of Forest Service professionals who choose, when it's safe, to let forest fires burn themselves out. (Apr.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Review" by , "Philip Connors has crafted a book illumined by the gob-smacked, wide-eyed, inquisitional wonder at creation....Fire Season is for pilgrims, pedestrians, hikers and anchorites, city dwellers, and solitary sorts: a treat for the senses, fit for the long haul. Bravo!"
"Review" by , "Philip Connors's remarkable account of his seasons as a fire lookout on the Gila National Forest in New Mexico is enlightening and well-informed. The surprise in the book is the author's willingness — his courage, actually — to examine his own naivete about the natural world. His is a most welcome new voice."
"Review" by , "What a wonderful book. Philip Connors went up to the mountaintop to serve as a lookout — and he has come down with a masterwork of close observation, deep reflection, and hard-won wisdom. This is an unforgettable reckoning with the American land."
"Review" by , "Fire Season is an urgent, clear, bright book; it is both lyrical enough to arrest breath and absolutely compelling, reminding us why we need fire, solitude, wilderness. Find room on your bookshelf next to Wallace Stegner and Norman Maclean; Philip Connors is here to stay."
"Review" by , "In an age of relentless connectivity, Philip Connors is a conscientious objector. His adventures in radical solitude make for profoundly absorbing, restorative reading. The soul that learns to keep its own company, this book reminds us, can never be alone."
"Review" by , "Fire Season is enlightening and well-informed...and Philip Connors is a most welcome new voice."
"Review" by , "Print journalist and fire lookout: When it comes to paying jobs, Connors has a death wish, but he has made the very best of it."
"Review" by , "[R]uminative, lyrical, occasionally suspenseful.... [Fire Season] bristles with the narrative energy and descriptive precision of Annie Dillard and dovetails between elegiac introspection and a history of [Connor's] curious and lonely occupation."
"Review" by , “An excellent, informative, and delightful book.”
"Review" by , “[A]n exultant take on the natural world....[Connors] describes his lookoutry with understated exuberance, an engaging and measured enthusiasm for being alone in a beautiful place.”
"Review" by , “A fine prose stylist with a splendid eye for detail, Connors allows his readers to see the natural beauty he witnesses....All lovers of nature will understand the allure and wonder that Connors so gracefully describes.”
"Review" by , “[R]eading this book is like taking a vacation in beautiful scenery with an observant and clever guide. So relax and enjoy.”
"Review" by , “[F]ull of wry wisdom and humor....[O]ne of the best books to come out of a government gig since Ed Abbey turned a ranger’s wage into Desert Solitaire.”
"Review" by , “[A] fascinating, pyro-charged reflection....For a man so drawn to solitude, Connors has a particular knack for writing characters....[Fire Season] proves a nifty way to shake off the last of winter’s cold.”
"Review" by , “[A] lyrical, masterly debut from a first-class writer.”
"Review" by , “[A] finely, wryly, at times poetically wrought first book....Connors has succeeded in weaving many stories into one [and has found] a voice and new literary life in arid terrain where I, for one, had suspected there was little new life to be found.”
"Synopsis" by , In the tradition of Desert Solitaire and Shop Class as Soulcraft, a remarkable debut from a major new voice in American nonfiction — a meditation on nature and life, witnessed from the heights of one of the last fire lookout towers in America.
"Synopsis" by , Fire Season both evokes and honors the great hermit celebrants of nature, from Dillard to Kerouac to Thoreau—and I loved it.”
—J.R. Moehringer, author of The Tender Bar

“[Connorss] adventures in radical solitude make for profoundly absorbing, restorative reading.”
—Walter Kirn, author of Up in the Air

Phillip Connors is a major new voice in American nonfiction, and his remarkable debut, Fire Season, is destined to become a modern classic. An absorbing chronicle of the days and nights of one of the last fire lookouts in the American West, Fire Season is a marvel of a book, as rugged and soulful as Matthew Crawfords bestselling Shop Class as Soulcraft, and it immediately places Connors in the august company of Edward Abbey, Annie Dillard, Aldo Leopold, Barry Lopez, and others in the respected fraternity of hard-boiled nature writers.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.