Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 7, 2014

    Karelia Stetz-Waters: IMG The Hot Sex Tip Cosmo Won't Tell You



    Cosmopolitan Magazine recently released an article titled "28 Mind-Blowing Lesbian Sex Positions." Where was this vital information when I was a... Continue »
    1. $10.47 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list

    spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

This title in other editions

Fierce Medicine: Breakthrough Practices to Heal the Body and Ignite the Spirit

by

Fierce Medicine: Breakthrough Practices to Heal the Body and Ignite the Spirit Cover

ISBN13: 9780061864247
ISBN10: 0061864242
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

As the creator of Forrest Yoga, Ana T. Forrest has been transforming people’s lives throughout the world for more than thirty-five years. Her unique blend of physical practice, Eastern wisdom, and profound Native American ceremony takes her teachings literally off the mat and into daily life—to heal everything from addictive behaviors and eating disorders to chronic pain and injury. In Fierce Medicine, Forrest tells her own story of healing from the scars of abuse and physical handicaps, and reveals the proven practices that enabled her to move beyond her past into a life committed to helping others reconnect with their bodies, cultivate balance, and start living in harmony with their Spirits.

In her unique, powerful, and inviting voice, Ana Forrest reveals how to:

  • Learn to stalk fear and break free from it instead of running from it.

  • Be attentive to your body, discovering its own inherent healing properties.

  • Speak and act from a place of honesty and compassion.

  • Cultivate an open heart that is feeling, responsive, and reflexive and able to embrace change.

  • Harness your intuition and the courage to live in alignment with your Spirit.

Whether you’ve never done yoga or are a seasoned practitioner, Ana Forrest’s practices, stories, and exercises will help you uncover your own warrior’s heart. With this wise woman as your trusted guide, you, too, can become centered, strong, and more alive than ever before.

Review:

"Fierce Medicine is classic Ana Forrest: straight ahead life tales from one of the meteors of the modern yoga movement...laced with the intense focus of a Tiger seeking the freedom of the heart." John Friend, Founder of Anusara yoga

Review:

"As a teacher, this is a book that I would certainly share with my students, but as a student myself, there is much in this book that will aid in my own growth and for that I am grateful. I highly recommend this book to all seekers on the path." Seane Corn, internationally acclaimed yoga teacher and founder of Off the Mat, Into the World

Review:

"One of the most compelling, inspiring, and eloquent stories you will ever read. I absolutely could not put it down and I'm thrilled for all the other readers who will be captivated by Ana's storytelling and wisdom." Martha Beck, bestselling author of Finding Your Own North Star

Synopsis:

Charismatic yoga master, respected teacher, and acclaimed healer Ana Forrest shares her inspiring life story for the first time in Fierce Medicine. Along the way, she reveals methods that anyone can use to overcome the emotional stresses and spiritual burdens that stand in the way of health and happiness. For readers of Yoga Journal and fans of Cameron Alborzian's The Guru in You or Judith Orlaff's Emotional Freedom, Forrest's moving, personal story and her profound lessons in physical, emotional, and mental healing will be a fierce — and very welcome — medicine.

About the Author

Ana T. Forrest is an internationally recognized pioneer in yoga and emotional healing. The creator of Forrest Yoga — a unique fusion of traditional yoga, new poses and sequences created by the author, Eastern wisdom, and Native American medicine — she is a contributing expert to Yoga Journal and other leading Asian and European wellness publications. Forrest teaches worldwide at yoga conferences, workshops, retreats, and teacher trainings. She lives on Orcas Island, Washington.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

Aliza E, July 15, 2012 (view all comments by Aliza E)
Even if you aren't trying to heal from something as traumatic as injury or sexual abuse, Forrest yoga is amazing. Everyone's body has some sort of injury or weakness; Ana Forrest yoga helps you develop greater awareness of these "impediments," resulting in learnings that aren't verbal at all, but move you past your own individual blockages and weaknesses to an integrated strength and energy flow.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
megster, January 1, 2012 (view all comments by megster)
Ana Forrest, is a renowned yoga instructor who has used her yoga practice to heal herself from a host of injuries (broken back, bulimia, trauma and sexual abuse, to name only a few). In this book she tells her story and gives a lot of wisdom and experiential techniques you can use to heal and connect into living in a way that delights your spirit. This isn't just a book for yogis--anyone can be inspired and benefit from Ana's tell-it-like-it-is, straightforward, fierce, yet compassionate approach.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
Janine Melzer, September 9, 2011 (view all comments by Janine Melzer)
Drawing from a life of living on the edge with alcohol, drugs, abuse, and a long list of physical ailments and injuries, Ana Forrest relates how she discovered yoga as a teenager and used this ancient art to change her path from one of destruction to one where she walks in beauty and harmony. Ana's writing is simultaneously from the heart and practical, offering guidance to the reader even without being in a yoga class. You will not want to put this book down, and you will find yourself feeling more alive and connected to your own spirit.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061864247
Subtitle:
Breakthrough Practices to Heal the Body and Ignite the Spirit
Publisher:
HarperOne
Author:
Forrest, Ana
Author:
Forrest, Ana T.
Author:
Moore, Christopher
Subject:
Spirituality - General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Religion Western-Mysticism
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20110503
Binding:
Hardback
Language:
English
Pages:
272
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 0.93 in 15.6 oz

Related Subjects


Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Natural Medicine
Metaphysics » Healing
Religion » Comparative Religion » General
Religion » Eastern Religions » Yoga
Religion » Western Religions » Mysticism

Fierce Medicine: Breakthrough Practices to Heal the Body and Ignite the Spirit
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 272 pages HarperOne - English 9780061864247 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Fierce Medicine is classic Ana Forrest: straight ahead life tales from one of the meteors of the modern yoga movement...laced with the intense focus of a Tiger seeking the freedom of the heart."
"Review" by , "As a teacher, this is a book that I would certainly share with my students, but as a student myself, there is much in this book that will aid in my own growth and for that I am grateful. I highly recommend this book to all seekers on the path."
"Review" by , "One of the most compelling, inspiring, and eloquent stories you will ever read. I absolutely could not put it down and I'm thrilled for all the other readers who will be captivated by Ana's storytelling and wisdom."
"Synopsis" by , Charismatic yoga master, respected teacher, and acclaimed healer Ana Forrest shares her inspiring life story for the first time in Fierce Medicine. Along the way, she reveals methods that anyone can use to overcome the emotional stresses and spiritual burdens that stand in the way of health and happiness. For readers of Yoga Journal and fans of Cameron Alborzian's The Guru in You or Judith Orlaff's Emotional Freedom, Forrest's moving, personal story and her profound lessons in physical, emotional, and mental healing will be a fierce — and very welcome — medicine.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.