This is Real Life Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | February 16, 2015

    Mary Pilon: IMG The Coffee Shops I Have Loved



    "Should I kill myself, or have a cup of coffee?" – Albert Camus In the five years it took for me to complete my book, The Monopolists, I wrote... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.50
List price: $14.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
7 Burnside Literature- A to Z
2 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z
3 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

The Financial Lives of the Poets (P.S.)

by

The Financial Lives of the Poets (P.S.) Cover

ISBN13: 9780061916052
ISBN10: 0061916056
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

Heidi Utz, January 1, 2013 (view all comments by Heidi Utz)
This book is really the story of our uneasy times, something that should be easily related to by millions of Americans who have lost homes, jobs, spouses, and career paths over the last 5 years. Jess Walter is a hell of a writer. He portrays an endearing couple who are trying, at middle age, to figure out the landscape of this brave new world, where catastrophe looms much closer than it did just a decade ago, and even a small mistake can have disastrous consequences. Despite the gravity of the situation, the author's light touch makes it engaging and even compelling via his bone-dry humor, wryly drawn characters, and artful sentence pacing. I found myself laughing pretty much continuously throughout. Former journalists will especially relate to the protagonist's situation. Very much looking forward to reading Beautiful Ruins after thoroughly enjoying this one.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
Paul Lindholdt, January 1, 2011 (view all comments by Paul Lindholdt)
Walking a fine line between humor and dire reporting, this book excavates the ways our follies and foibles have deepened the Great Recession brought on by renegade bankers and brokers.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
scratch, August 12, 2010 (view all comments by scratch)
A cautionary tale of sorts about a man whose life is about to fall to pieces, thanks in part to our crumbling economy, the decline of print media, and the ability of Facebook and text messaging to greatly streamline the process of adultery. Plus, there's marijuana. Highly recommended for fans of David Gates, Richard Russo, and Richard Ford. Jess Walter's previous novels were very good, but this is his clear best to date.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 9 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061916052
Author:
Walter, Jess
Publisher:
Harper Perennial
Author:
Lindsey, Johanna
Author:
Cornwell, Bernard
Subject:
General
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Romance - Historical
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Series:
P.S.
Publication Date:
20100931
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
7.84x5.28x.77 in. .54 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Imperium: A Novel of Ancient Rome Used Book Club Hardcover $1.95
  2. Manhattan Transfer Used Trade Paper $4.95

Related Subjects


Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » Staff Picks
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Sale Books
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
History and Social Science » Pacific Northwest » Literature Folklore and Memoirs
Reference » Writing » General

The Financial Lives of the Poets (P.S.) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.50 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Harper Perennial - English 9780061916052 Reviews:
"Review" by , "When it comes to explaining to me my own too often baffling nation, there's no one writing today whom I trust as completely as Jess Walter. His intelligence and sympathy and great wit inform every page — indeed every sentence — of his terrific new novel, The Financial Lives of the Poets. "
"Review" by , "Cynical yet warm, this novel about a financial reporter (with a failing website written entirely in blank verse) is a delight."
"Review" by , "America's first Great Recession novel."
"Review" by , "Hilarious and timely...Walter grounds the story with moments of genuine feeling...bitter, funny and accurate...Jess Walter's buoyant voice is a fresh pleasure."
"Review" by , "A real find....the ultimate something-for-everyone-don't-skip-must-read."
"Review" by , "One of the best American writers working today....It's a testament to this author's genius that I could not stop laughing even as he drives home some necessary truths. Walter has written a profound, and profoundly funny, book; this may well be the classic novel of our post-boom era."
"Review" by , "Jess Walter"s smart and big-hearted take on our bleak national moment is a welcome relief. The Financial Lives of the Poets is a rollicking fiction and an affecting family portrait, as well as a mordantly funny cautionary tale."
"Review" by , "Would be so sad if it weren't so funny, and so funny if it weren't so sad....Compassionate, witty and drawn from today's heartless world, it's a terrific book."
"Review" by , "In this cautionary tale of fiscal follies and collapse Walter delivers a comic and gut-wrenching fable for these impecunious times."
"Review" by , "Darkly funny, surprisingly tender...witheringly dead-on."
"Review" by , "Walter's The Financial Lives of the Poets is gasp out loud funny. It's also sufficiently true to life that you're grateful it's not your life. Middle-class mayhem is just the best, at least in Walter's hands."
"Review" by , "[A] superb farce."
"Review" by , "National Book Award-finalist Walter does for the nation's bleak financial landscape what he did for 9-11 in The Zero: whip-smart satire with heart."
"Review" by , "Matt Prior...is an Everyman for our parlous times."
"Review" by , "Jess Walter's The Financial Lives of the Poets is a comic, graceful parable of marriage and money troubles in which a well-meaning family man makes decisions that are seriously stupid — and entertaining and American."
"Review" by , "A comic masterpiece...packed [with] life and wry truth."
"Review" by , "The funniest way-we-live-now book of the year."
"Review" by , "A deliciously antic tale of an American dream gone very sour...part noir gumshoe, part average Joe, [Matt Prior] is a sharp, wide-eyed, soulful observer, with a keen eye for the layers of bureaucracy and doublespeak."
"Review" by , "Jess Walter is a brilliant writer, one of the freshest new voices in American literature."
"Synopsis" by , What happens when small-time reporter Matthew Prior quits his job to gamble everything on a quixotic notion: a Web site devoted to financial journalism in the form of blank verse? Before long, he wakes up to find himself jobless, hobbled with debt, spying on his wife's online flirtation, and six days away from losing his home... Until, one night on a desperate two a.m. run to 7-Eleven, he falls in with some local stoners, and they end up hatching the biggest — and most misbegotten — plan yet.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.