Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | June 18, 2014

Daniel H. Wilson: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Daniel H. Wilson



Like many writers, I'm constantly haunting coffee shops with a laptop out and my headphones on. I listen to a lot of music while I write, and songs... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Robogenesis

    Daniel H. Wilson 9780385537094

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

This title in other editions

Stiltsville

by

Stiltsville Cover

ISBN13: 9780061963070
ISBN10: 0061963070
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $3.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

One sunny morning in 1969, near the end of her first trip to Miami, twenty-six-year-old Frances Ellerby finds herself in a place called Stiltsville, a community of houses built on pilings in the middle of Biscayne Bay.

It's the first time the Atlanta native has been out on the open water, and she's captivated. On the dock of a stilt house, with the dazzling skyline in the distance and the unknowable ocean beneath her, she meets the house's owner, Dennis DuVal—and a new future reveals itself.

Turning away from her quiet, predictable life back home, Frances moves to Miami to be with Dennis. Over time, she earns the confidence of his wild-at-heart sister and wins the approval of his oldest friend. Frances and Dennis marry and have a child—but rather than growing complacent about their good fortune, they continue to face the challenges of intimacy and the complicated city they call home.

Stiltsville is the family's island oasis—until suddenly it's gone, and Frances is forced to figure out how to make her family work on dry land. Against a backdrop of lush tropical beauty, Frances and Dennis struggle with the mutability of love and Florida's weather, as well as temptation, chaos, and disappointment. But just when Frances thinks she's reached some semblance of higher ground, she must confront an obstacle so great that even the lessons she's learned about navigating the uncharted waters of family life can't keep them afloat.

With Stiltsville, Susanna Daniel weaves the beauty, violence, and humanity of Miami's coming-of-age with an enduring story of a marriage's beginning, maturity, and heartbreaking demise.

Review:

"With its lush flora and constant sun, South Florida is the true star of Daniel's exquisite debut, which follows a marriage over the course of 30 years. In 1969, having traveled from Atlanta to Miami for a college friend's wedding, 26-year-old Frances Ellerby meets glamorous Miami native Marse Heiger, who introduces her to Dennis DuVals and his house on stilts in Biscayne Bay. Though Marse has set her cap for Dennis, he and Frances fall in love and marry within a year. 'I had no idea then,' Frances says, 'what would happen to my love, what nourishment it would receive, how mighty it would grow.' Dennis and Frances have a daughter, Margo, buy a house in Coral Gables, and their life together proceeds as a series of ups and downs, beautifully told from Frances's pensive, sharp perspective. As the years pass and Miami changes, so do Frances, Dennis, and Margo, and the nuances of their relationships shift and realign, drawing inexorably toward a moving resolution. (Aug.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

“A wise and loving portrait of a marriage….Susanna Daniel writes beautifully of matters of the heart.”
— Jennifer Haigh, author of The Condition

 

Against a vivid South Florida background, Susanna Daniels Stiltsville offers a gripping, bittersweet portrait of a marriage—and a romance—that deepens over the course of three decades. Called “an elegantly crafted work of art and a great read” by Curtis Sittenfeld (American Wife, Prep) Stiltsville is a stunningly assured debut novel sure to appeal to readers of Anita Shreve, Sue Miller, and Annie Dillard, or anyone enchanted by the sultry magic of Miami.

About the Author

Susanna Daniel was born and raised in Miami, Florida, where she spent much of her childhood at her family's stilt house in Biscayne Bay. She is a graduate of Columbia University and the Iowa Writers' Workshop, and was a fellow at the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing. She currently lives in Madison, Wisconsin.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

kherrmann, January 1, 2012 (view all comments by kherrmann)
Beautiful book set in Miami that will pull at your heart strings and will leave you not wanting the book to end. As a former Miami resident, Ms.Daniel does an amazing job casting Miami as one of the characters. I loved this book and recommended it to many friends and family members.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
sarge338, August 25, 2010 (view all comments by sarge338)
My sister's husband Jim Harden...Lived on the Stilthouse too....I am sure they are going to buy the book soon....My daughter Juliet works at Powells
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780061963070
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Daniel, Susanna
Publisher:
Harper
Subject:
General
Subject:
Miami (fla.)
Subject:
Domestic fiction
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Literary
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20100803
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.05 in 16.96 oz

Other books you might like

  1. Hope Against Darkness: The... Used Trade Paper $7.95
  2. The Financial Lives of the Poets (P.S.)
    Used Trade Paper $8.00

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Historical

Stiltsville Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 320 pages Harper - English 9780061963070 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "With its lush flora and constant sun, South Florida is the true star of Daniel's exquisite debut, which follows a marriage over the course of 30 years. In 1969, having traveled from Atlanta to Miami for a college friend's wedding, 26-year-old Frances Ellerby meets glamorous Miami native Marse Heiger, who introduces her to Dennis DuVals and his house on stilts in Biscayne Bay. Though Marse has set her cap for Dennis, he and Frances fall in love and marry within a year. 'I had no idea then,' Frances says, 'what would happen to my love, what nourishment it would receive, how mighty it would grow.' Dennis and Frances have a daughter, Margo, buy a house in Coral Gables, and their life together proceeds as a series of ups and downs, beautifully told from Frances's pensive, sharp perspective. As the years pass and Miami changes, so do Frances, Dennis, and Margo, and the nuances of their relationships shift and realign, drawing inexorably toward a moving resolution. (Aug.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by ,

“A wise and loving portrait of a marriage….Susanna Daniel writes beautifully of matters of the heart.”
— Jennifer Haigh, author of The Condition

 

Against a vivid South Florida background, Susanna Daniels Stiltsville offers a gripping, bittersweet portrait of a marriage—and a romance—that deepens over the course of three decades. Called “an elegantly crafted work of art and a great read” by Curtis Sittenfeld (American Wife, Prep) Stiltsville is a stunningly assured debut novel sure to appeal to readers of Anita Shreve, Sue Miller, and Annie Dillard, or anyone enchanted by the sultry magic of Miami.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.