25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.50
List price: $14.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

In the Bag

by

In the Bag Cover

ISBN13: 9780062108050
ISBN10: 0062108050
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $5.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A European vacation. A luggage mix-up. A note from a secret admirer.

Meet two single parents who think they're too busy to date.
And two teenagers who can't stop writing flirty emails.
This is a tale of connections—missed and made—in a universe that seems to have its heart set on reuniting Ms. 6B and Mr. 13C.

Webb
I can't believe I picked up the wrong bag at the airport. My dad is never going to let me hear the end of it.

Coco
I don't understand why Mom told me to pack my worst underwear. And now I've lost my bag? Ack!

Andrew
I cannot stop thinking about that woman in seat 6B on the flight to Paris.

Daisy
I don't have time to worry about the creep sitting in 13C who slipped a note in my purse. I have to find my daughter's missing bag before this ruins our vacation.

In the Bag is a smart and stylish story that explores the old-fashioned art of romance in a modern world, where falling in love can be as risky as checking a bag on an international flight. Buckle your seat belt—it's going to be a bumpy vacation!

Review:

"Klise takes a break from her bestselling children's books for her first foray into adult fiction. This lively love story is told through four voices — those of star chef Daisy Sprinkle; her precocious 18-year-old daughter, Coco; the art installation designer Andrew Nelson; and his 17-year-old son, Webb, a computer geek. Traveling separately on the same flight to Paris with their kids, Andrew is immediately smitten with Daisy, but is too shy to chat with her, so he slips a note in her purse in hopes that she'll e-mail him. Unfortunately, her response reveals that she found his behavior 'completely unacceptable.' But Coco's lost suitcase, mistakenly swapped with Webb's at the airport, connects the teens, and through attempts to be reunited with their luggage, they start an online flirtation. Coincidentally, Andrew and Daisy cross paths and the sparks fly, while their kids' clandestine rendezvous ends awkwardly. Klise's portrait of modern romance is infused with the trappings of a digitized world, and while she wraps up all the loose ends too swiftly, the brisk pace will keep readers happily engaged. Agent: Kelly Siegel, Michael Siegel & Associates." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Synopsis:

Bestselling YA author Kate Klise flies high with her first novel for grown-ups. In the Bag is Youve Got Mail meets The Parent Trap in the 21st century—an absolutely enthralling story of globe-hopping, lost luggage, found opportunities…and the old-fashioned art of flirtation in a modern world. Told from the alternating perspectives of two single parents and their two teenage children, In the Bag is warm and witty, surprising, stylish, and smart contemporary womens fiction for fans of Jennifer Weiner, Jane Green, and Megan McCafferty. Kate Klises sparkling career as a novelist for adults has taken glorious flight!

About the Author

Kate Klise lives in Norwood, Missouri, where she works as a correspondent for People magazine. M. Sarah Klise lives in Berkeley, California. Regarding the Fountain is the first book for young readers from this pair, who are sisters as well as collaborators.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

bookwoman51, August 4, 2012 (view all comments by bookwoman51)
Highly entertaining! In the Bag is a perfect book for summer. It is a quick read with a different twist on mother-teen daughter relationships and has plenty of laughs. If you're a mother, have a teenager, like to travel or simply want to go somewhere fun for a few hours, this is your book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
bookwoman51, August 4, 2012 (view all comments by bookwoman51)
Highly entertaining! In the Bag is a perfect book for summer. It is a quick read with a different twist on mother-teen daughter relationships and has plenty of laughs. If you're a mother, have a teenager, like to travel or simply want to go somewhere fun for a few hours, this is your book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062108050
Subtitle:
A Novel
Author:
Klise, Kate
Publisher:
William Morrow Paperbacks
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade PB
Publication Date:
20120501
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
320
Dimensions:
7.125 x 5 x 0.8 in 8 oz

Related Subjects


Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Debut Fiction

In the Bag Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.50 In Stock
Product details 320 pages William Morrow & Company - English 9780062108050 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Klise takes a break from her bestselling children's books for her first foray into adult fiction. This lively love story is told through four voices — those of star chef Daisy Sprinkle; her precocious 18-year-old daughter, Coco; the art installation designer Andrew Nelson; and his 17-year-old son, Webb, a computer geek. Traveling separately on the same flight to Paris with their kids, Andrew is immediately smitten with Daisy, but is too shy to chat with her, so he slips a note in her purse in hopes that she'll e-mail him. Unfortunately, her response reveals that she found his behavior 'completely unacceptable.' But Coco's lost suitcase, mistakenly swapped with Webb's at the airport, connects the teens, and through attempts to be reunited with their luggage, they start an online flirtation. Coincidentally, Andrew and Daisy cross paths and the sparks fly, while their kids' clandestine rendezvous ends awkwardly. Klise's portrait of modern romance is infused with the trappings of a digitized world, and while she wraps up all the loose ends too swiftly, the brisk pace will keep readers happily engaged. Agent: Kelly Siegel, Michael Siegel & Associates." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Synopsis" by , Bestselling YA author Kate Klise flies high with her first novel for grown-ups. In the Bag is Youve Got Mail meets The Parent Trap in the 21st century—an absolutely enthralling story of globe-hopping, lost luggage, found opportunities…and the old-fashioned art of flirtation in a modern world. Told from the alternating perspectives of two single parents and their two teenage children, In the Bag is warm and witty, surprising, stylish, and smart contemporary womens fiction for fans of Jennifer Weiner, Jane Green, and Megan McCafferty. Kate Klises sparkling career as a novelist for adults has taken glorious flight!
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.