Summer Reading Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 22, 2014

Nick Harkaway: IMG The Florist-Assassins



The three men lit up in my mind's eye, with footnotes. They were converging on me — and on the object I was carrying — in a way that had... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Tigerman

    Nick Harkaway 9780385352413

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $27.99
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

The Son

by

The Son Cover

ISBN13: 9780062120397
ISBN10: 0062120395
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $9.95!

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 5 comments:

t engle, August 29, 2013 (view all comments by t engle)
As this novel tears thru Texas from 1836 to almost present day it left my emotions ragged. It has all of invasion, Comanches, Texans, Mexicans, extermination, cattle, oil, loyalty, and betrayal. The characters are full - you hate them then love them then hate them. If you want a book that you will end up wishing you had not finished, pick up The Son.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 4 readers found this comment helpful)
t engle, August 29, 2013 (view all comments by t engle)
As this novel tears thru Texas from 1836 to almost present day it left my emotions ragged. It has all of invasion, Comanches, Texans, Mexicans, extermination, cattle, oil, loyalty, and betrayal. The characters are full - you hate them then love them then hate them. If you want a book that you will end up wishing you had not finished, pick up The Son.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
Charla Oppenlander, August 17, 2013 (view all comments by Charla Oppenlander)
This was the best book I have read this year! Sometimes amazingly brutal and sometimes amazingly beautiful, the story has stayed with me. It reminded me of other books I have loved by Wallace Stegner and John Steinbeck in scope and style. I can't wait for Phillip Meyer to publish more!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
Laney F, August 7, 2013 (view all comments by Laney F)
The Son is, flat-out, the most incredible book to be written about Texas in a long time. The well-written, easy-to-follow story covers over 100 years of a family's history, from the latter 1800s, when Comanches still lived free in West Texas, through modern oil-centric Houston. Meyer obviously meticulously researched all aspects of Texas history and the peoples involved, but does not let these details detract from this splendid book. Comparisons have been made between him and other famous writers, but I disagree; Meyer has a unique voice which is rich, strong, most entertaining, and should not be missed.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Voli, July 10, 2013 (view all comments by Voli)
Family sagas can be fun reads, long, engaging and hopefully educational. They can, of course, be over-long, post too many characters to keep track of and become tedious. Sometimes, though, they exceed all expectations and levitate above the crowd in the genre due to the craft of their creation, the quality of their characters, and the depth of their historical portraits. Some, like Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s One Hundred Years of Solitude, Margaret Mitchell’s Gone with the Wind, and Pearl S. Buck’s The Good Earth rise to the level of literature. The Son also rises.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
 1-5 of 5

Product Details

ISBN:
9780062120397
Author:
Meyer, Philipp
Publisher:
Ecco Press
Author:
Philipp Meyer
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Hardcover
Publication Date:
20130531
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
576
Dimensions:
9 x 6 x 1.41 in 22.8 oz

Other books you might like

  1. And the Mountains Echoed
    Used Hardcover $10.95
  2. The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans...
    Sale Trade Paper $11.90
  3. The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind:...
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  4. The School for Good and Evil New Trade Paper $6.99
  5. Magicians Nephew Used Mass Market $1.00

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Arts
Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » New Arrivals
Featured Titles » Staff Favorites
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Westerns » General

The Son Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 576 pages Ecco Press - English 9780062120397 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

Three cultures (Hispanic, white, and Native American) collide in Texas through the story of one man and subsequent generations. A cross between James Michener and Cormac McCarthy's work, The Son exposes the foundations of current American character.

"Review" by , “The story of our founding mythology; of the men and women who tore a country from the wilderness and the price paid in blood by subsequent generations. An epic in the tradition of Faulkner and Melville, this is the work of a writer at the height of his power.”
"Review" by , "With its vast scope, The Son makes a viable claim to be a Great American Novel of the sort John Dos Passos and Frank Norris once produced...an extraordinary orchestration of American history."
"Review" by , "There is an extravagant quantity of birth, death and bitter passion in Philipp Meyer's grand and engrossing Texas saga."
"Review" by , "Philipp Meyer offers a tale that spans generations and, in its own way, encapsulates the history of the state itself."
"Review" by , "As bold, ambitious and brutal as its subject: the rise of Texas as seen through the tortured history of one family. At 561 pages, The Son is a demanding read....But by the end, Meyer ties it together and not too neatly. Tougher-than-tough Eli McCullough would respect that."
"Review" by , "One of the most solid, unsparing pieces of American historical fiction to come out this century... a brilliant chronicle of Texas...stunning, raw and epic....The Son is vast, brave and, finally, unstoppable."
"Review" by , "This is the book you want to read this summer....Every facet of Meyer's world — scent and sight and sensation — has weight and heft...Meyer's dream is a nightmare in which blood seeks power. It's also un-put-down-able."
"Review" by , "A novel that is an epic in the truest sense of the word: massive in scope, replete with transformations in fortune and fate, and drenched in the blood of war."
"Review" by , "The stuff of Great American Literature. Like all destined classics, Meyer's second novel speaks volumes about humanity — our insatiable greed, our inherent frailty, the endless cycle of conquer or be conquered."
"Review" by , "Treading on similar ground to James Michener, Larry McMurtry, and Cormac McCarthy, Meyer brings the bloody, racially fraught history of Texas to life. Call it a family saga or an epic, this novel is a violent and harrowing read."
"Review" by , "The greatest things about The Son are its scope and ambition....It's an enveloping, extremely well-wrought, popular novel with passionate convictions about the people, places and battles that it conjures."
"Review" by , "By the novel's end, Philipp Meyer has demonstrated that he can write a potboiler of the first rank, aswirl with pulpy pleasures: impossible love affairs, illicit sex, strife between fathers and sons, the unhappiness of the rich, the corruption of power."
"Review" by , "Sweeping, absorbing epic....An expertly written tale of ancient crimes, with every period detail — and every detail, period — just right."
"Review" by , "Meyer's massive Texas saga is perhaps the best Indian captive story ever written....[Meyer's] tale is best compared to Giant. Little Big Man and Lonesome Dove also come to mind."
"Review" by , "One of those books that remind you how totally absorbing a novel can be...the work of an uncommonly visionary and skillful writer with a superb sense of pacing...a beautiful, violent and frequently heartbreaking book, but it is not without a sense of fun."
"Review" by , "Meyer's tale is vast, volcanic, prodigious in violence, intermittently hard to fathom, not infrequently hard to stomach, and difficult to ignore."
"Synopsis" by , Philipp Meyer, the acclaimed author of American Rust, returns with The Son: an epic of the American West and a multigenerational saga of power, blood, land, and oil that follows the rise of one unforgettable Texas family, from the Comanche raids of the 1800s to the to the oil booms of the 20th century.

Harrowing, panoramic, and deeply evocative, The Son is a fully realized masterwork in the greatest tradition of the American canon — an unforgettable novel that combines the narrative prowess of Larry McMurtry with the knife-edge sharpness of Cormac McCarthy.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.