25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Q&A | August 19, 2014

Richard Kadrey: IMG Powell’s Q&A: Richard Kadrey



Describe your latest book. The Getaway God is the sixth book in the Sandman Slim series. In it, the very unholy nephilim, James Stark, aka Sandman... Continue »
  1. $17.49 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$3.95
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

The Secret Life of Bees

by

The Secret Life of Bees Cover

ISBN13: 9780142001745
ISBN10: 0142001740
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $3.95!

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 16 comments:

bookcrossingaddict, December 6, 2011 (view all comments by bookcrossingaddict)
Set during the civil rights era, The Secret Life of Bees is a coming-of-age story about a young girl as she stuggles to make sense of her past, her present and the changing world around her. Though racial issues form a backdrop to the story and do trigger some events, this is not the main theme of this novel. Rather this book is about journeys - physical journeys, emotional journeys and the journey of understanding that happens to us all as we grow up. I highly recommend this book for adults and young adults alike.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
MM, September 14, 2011 (view all comments by MM)
This is a book I find myself returning to time and time again to warm my heart and feed my spirit. The book describes the secret life of bees in rich and mesmerizing detail, but also is about the secret life of women, and the female kinship which transcends ethnicity and age. From the first time I read it I felt myself with old friends, as did my real-life friends, and I strongly believe there is a little of Lily, August, June, and May in each of us.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
emmejo, October 11, 2010 (view all comments by emmejo)
Lily Owens' mother died when she was four and she has been raised by a violent father and their hired help; mostly Rosaleen, a strong-willed black woman who is determined not to let the racists in their town stop her from doing what she has a right to. This attitude leads her to fight back against the town's 3 deepest racists, and she ends up badly beaten and in jail. Lily decides she's had enough, springs Rosaleen, and they set off to a town whose name is written on one of the few belongings Lily has of her mother's. They are taken in by three beekeeping sisters and Lily learns not just about beekeeping, but about what it means to have a family.

I devoured this book in a couple hours. Once I started I just couldn't put it down, the characters had such a hold on me. They seemed so real and fleshed-out, like people who actually might exist. The writing was graceful and unobtrusive, a smooth flow of words that conveyed information clearly without being wordy.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 3 readers found this comment helpful)
bjane, January 29, 2010 (view all comments by bjane)
The Secret Life of Bees is a delightful book. It touches upon so many aspects of human life. I became mermerized by Sue Monk Kidd's characters. They become special to us just like the bees. As we unravel the intricate layers of all of their lives, we discover how much sweeetness each one adds to this story and what a wonderful colony of unity and perserverance exists in their world of Tiburon,South Carolina.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
Lucy Little, January 12, 2010 (view all comments by Lucy Little)
This was my favorite book of the decade. It was very freeing. The characters were comfortable breaking rules of conventional society and religion. Yet all they did was in the name of truth and goodness.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)
 1-5 of 16 next

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142001745
Author:
Kidd, Sue Monk
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Author:
Pneuman, Angela
Location:
New York
Subject:
General
Subject:
Race relations
Subject:
Sisters
Subject:
South carolina
Subject:
Teenage girls
Subject:
Domestic fiction
Subject:
Maternal deprivation.
Subject:
Beekeepers.
Subject:
African-American women
Subject:
Bildungsromans
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Literature-Coming of Age
Subject:
General Fiction
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Series Volume:
57
Publication Date:
January 2003
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8 x 5.31 in
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. The Passion of Artemisia Used Hardcover $4.95
  2. Three Junes
    Used Hardcover $2.95
  3. Life of Pi
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  4. The Kite Runner
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  5. The Virgin Blue
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  6. Curious Incident of the Dog in the... Used Trade Paper $3.95

Related Subjects


Children's » Oregon Battle of the Books
Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Miscellaneous Award Winners
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » African American » Historical
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Coming of Age
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Family Life

The Secret Life of Bees Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$3.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Penguin Books - English 9780142001745 Reviews:
"Review" by , "Sue Monk Kidd is an extraordinary storyteller. Beautifully written."
"Review" by , "Sue Monk Kidd's eccentric, inventive, and ultimately forgiving novel is reminscent of the work of Reynolds Price in its ability to create a truly original Southern voice."
"Review" by , "A wonderful novel about mothers and daughters and the transcendent power of love."
"Synopsis" by , A wry, moving debut novel from a Stegner fellow and "one of the most gifted young writers around" (Lorrie Moore), Lay It on My Heart takes us through one unforgettable month in Charmaine Peake's thirteenth year, as she and her mother come of age in Kentucky.
"Synopsis" by ,
This piercing, sly debut novel tells the story of one unforgettable month in a Kentucky girls thirteenth year. Charmaine Peakes prophet father has been committed to a psychiatric institution. Her mother, forced to rent out their house and move them down to a trailer on the river, wont stop telling Charmaine things she doesnt want to hear—from marital details and middle-aged doubts to uncomfortable preoccupations with Charmaines changing body. A sanctimonious missionary kid has taken over her real bedroom, where Charmaine discovers his stash of strange and questionable photos. She is being tested at every turn: Where will her choices take her? And her faith? She tries to pray ceaselessly as her father taught, but with so much upheaval, even God seems to have changed.

Like the beloved Ya-Ya Sisterhood, Lay It on My Heart unleashes Southern humor on the effects of a parents mental illness. It brings us into the heart of a family weathering the toughest patch in their lives. But most of all, it marks out the seemingly unbearable realities of adolescence and the power that comes from discovering—and accepting—who you are. A moving, hilarious portrayal of the relationship between mothers and daughters, this book fulfills Angela Pneumans promise as “one of the most astonishingly talented writers today”(Julie Orringer).

"Synopsis" by ,
Sue Monk Kidd’s The Secret Life of Bees, a heartwarming coming of age tale set in 1960s South Carolina, a multi-million copy New York Times bestseller, now an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys

Fans of  Kathryn Stockett’s The Help and Beth Hoffman’s Saving CeeCee Honeycutt will love Sue Monk Kidd’s Southern coming of age tale. The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than 125 weeks, a Good Morning America “Read This” Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys. Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.

When Lily's fierce-hearted black "stand-in mother," Rosaleen, insults three of the town's most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina—a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love—a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.