Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$7.75
List price: $16.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
19 Local Warehouse SF- F

The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next #01)

by

The Eyre Affair  (Thursday Next #01) Cover

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 21 comments:

Angela McGreevey, March 1, 2014 (view all comments by Angela McGreevey)
This is the first book in the Thursday Next series. Next is a former soldier, working for LiteraTech as a special ops literary detective. The book takes place in a some what futuristic 1985. Thursday finds herself in the middle of a dangerous case involving criminal mastermind Acheron Hades. Thursday will do anything to save her family and beloved books from Hades. This book is a fun detective fiction read , with a strong, relatable female character in the lead.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Amb Crist, August 30, 2012 (view all comments by Amb Crist)
The entire oeuvre of Jasper Fford is a pleasure not to be missed, but The Eyre Affair is an excellent place to start. Yes, that's Eyre as in the beloved Austin novel which is in peril. Enter Thursday Next, a heroine of wit and style, employed as a literary detective. Next is as hardboiled as Spade and as genteel as Marple, but her tongue remains firmly in her cheek and she leaves no malapropism unturned in her pursuit of literary justice. Behind the scenes, great literature is a hotbed of characters and plots requiring vigilance and intervention to maintain the author's intent, or something like it. Everyone who reads, whether it's the Sunday funnies or cherished classics, will find something in Fford's work that gets them where they live. Be warned that addiction to Fford is likely, but his website helps ease the pain of waiting for his next case file.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Sophie Pattison, August 5, 2012 (view all comments by Sophie Pattison)
Jasper Fforde is a genius. If you love to read, as I'm assuming you do if you're taking the time to read this comment, you will love this book. Particularly if you've read many of the English classics. Fforde is a great one for references, and I've got to tell you there's nothing that makes you feel smarter than understanding a good literary pun. Not only that, but Thursday Next is a delightful character who gets into all kinds of sticky situations with characters such as Millon de Floss, Jack Schitt, Hamlet, and Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday Next. Even if you don't get all the references (which, I can assure you, I did not) it's still a great mystery novel and an all around well written book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
saracastic, January 2, 2011 (view all comments by saracastic)
If you were the kid who loved doing book reports because it meant you got to read a book for homework- if you know that the answer to the meaning of life, the universe and everything is 42- if you enjoy nerdy wordplay and have an irreverent sense of humor- then READ THIS BOOK and enjoy a trip into the wacky and fun world of Thursday Next! Seriously, you will love it and it'll just make ya feel good!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
katee, September 9, 2010 (view all comments by katee)
The first in a fantastical series by Jasper Fforde. Literary Detective Thursday Next's tale is one of a stunted love life, a strange re-working of history in which the Crimean War had raged for decades, a beloved pet dodo whose intelligence explains why the species went extinct, and the dastardly villian Acheron Hades. Full of literary, mythological, and historical references, what more could one ask from a book?
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
 1-5 of 21 next

Product Details

ISBN:
9780142001806
Author:
Fforde, Jasper
Publisher:
Penguin Books
Author:
Duerden, Susan
Location:
New York, N.Y., U.S.A.
Subject:
General
Subject:
Fathers and daughters
Subject:
Fantasy fiction
Subject:
Wales
Subject:
Censorship
Subject:
Characters and characteristics in literature
Subject:
Crimean War, 185
Subject:
Alternative histories
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - Women Sleuths
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Number:
1st American ed.
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Thursday Next Novels
Series Volume:
#1
Publication Date:
20030231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
7.70x5.10x.72 in. .58 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Lost in a Good Book (Thursday Next...
    Used Trade Paper $5.95
  2. The Well of Lost Plots: A Thursday...
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  3. Moving Pictures (Discworld Novels) Used Mass Market $5.50
  4. Dirk Gently Omnibus New Hardcover $31.50
  5. By a Lady: Being the Adventures of...
    Used Trade Paper $9.95

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » Genre
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » Contemporary

The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next #01) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$7.75 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Penguin Books - English 9780142001806 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

The Eyre Affair took me a little time to really get into, but once Thursday Next — a literary detective from the future — enters Charlotte Bronte's novel and tries to save Jane and the story, the book is thoroughly fun, with all the digs at the classics, the fantasy element, and the crazy names of the characters. It works for someone who enjoys the classics (like me) or for those who enjoy fantasy (like my husband). For me the best fun was re-reading Jane Eyre and knowing between which chapters Thursday visited and when the Japanese tourist arrived....

"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Witty and clever, this literate romp heralds a fun new series set in a wonderfully original world." Publishers Weekly
"Review" by , "[Thursday Next is] part Bridget Jones, part Nancy Drew, and part Dirty Harry."
"Review" by , "The Eyre Affair is mostly a collection of jokes, conceits, and puzzles. It's smart, frisky, and sheer catnip for former English majors, a cross between Douglas Adams's A Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy and Jonathan Lethem's Gun, With Occasional Music, with a big chunk of The Norton Anthology of English Literature tossed in."
"Review" by , "An unusually sure-footed first novel, this literary folly serves up a generally unique stew of fantasy, science fiction, procedural, and cozy literary mystery — but in the end is more dancing bear than ballet."
"Review" by , "If you have read any of the classics of English Literature, you will feel strangely at home in the action-packed alternative universe of Thursday Next....Hectic, humorous...and most satisfying."
"Review" by , "So unusual you've got to read it to believe it; and please do."
"Review" by , "For five years, I dragged freshman boys kicking and screaming through Charlotte Brontë's Jane Eyre. It was torture ? part of the academy's "Nip a Love of Literature in the Bud" program. But finally, those plaintive cries have been answered: Through the miracle of literary-genetic engineering, Jasper Fforde has crossbred Jane Eyre with James Bond and Harry Potter....This is about as much fun as you can have in the classics section without being thrown out of the library. To those students who swore they wouldn't reread Jane Eyre 'til Hades freezes over, I have good news: He's out cold. Start reading." (read the entire Christian Science Monitor review)
"Synopsis" by , The New York Times bestseller is the first in a series of outlandishly clever adventures featuring the resourceful, fearless literary detective Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative.
"Synopsis" by ,

The first installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series of Thursday Next novels introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England

Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Brontë's novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde's ingenious fantasy—enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel—unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with six more bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and the upcoming The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.