The Super Fun Kids' Graphic Novel Sale

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores

    Recently Viewed clear list

    The Powell's Playlist | September 25, 2015

    Caitlin Doughty: IMG Caitlin Doughty's Playlist for Smoke Gets in Your Eyes

    The soundtrack perfectly suited to facing your own mortality. ("My Way," "Wind beneath My Wings," and other popular funeral songs need not apply.)... Continue »
    1. $11.17 Sale Trade Paper add to wish list


The Tiger: A True Story of Vengeance and Survival


The Tiger: A True Story of Vengeance and Survival Cover

ISBN13: 9780307268938
ISBN10: 0307268934
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $9.95!


What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 14 comments:

Colette Janning, January 17, 2012 (view all comments by Colette Janning)
Easily the best book I read this year. Mixing a ripping good yarn with relevant and fascinating ventures into history, evolutionary biology, ethology, and more, Vaillant presents an incredible story credibly, weaving painstaking research and hours of interviews into a final product that he the author then recedes from, so we are not distracted from the story, the people who were there--I devoured this book!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
gamonlamon, January 28, 2011 (view all comments by gamonlamon)
I thought more would happen in the book. Too much background for my tastes.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Janet Anderson, January 21, 2011 (view all comments by Janet Anderson)
I stayed awake all night to finish this book, and I already knew how it would end! The author supplied the background information about the political situation, the countryside, and the people, so that the main storyline was fully fleshed out. The tiger and the humans all come alive and worthy of study and understanding. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute I spent with the book.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Word Eater, January 4, 2011 (view all comments by Word Eater)
In the category of impeccably written nonfiction, natural history of the taiga's major non-human predator books, that include an overview of the authentic heroes of the conservation movement before, during, and beyond the Joseph Stalen led Soviet Union, with all the gristle, chill, and traction of a first rate thriller, this book is the ONLY pick for 2010 - and may well reign for years to come or until John Vaillant publishes his next book. If you thought Mr. Vaillant deserved all of the tributes he received for "The Golden Spruce," you will be pleased, if not amazed to see that his prowess as a writer is still on the rise.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(0 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
maggiebooks, January 3, 2011 (view all comments by maggiebooks)
A mesmerizing and original book, combining mystery, anthropology and human motivations.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
 1-5 of 14 next

Product Details

Searching for Survivors in the African Desert
Vaillant, John
Bass, Rick
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Animals - General
Animals - Big Cats
Tiger hunting - Russia - Russian far east
Tiger attacks - Russia - Russian far east
Black Rhino;Namibia;Africa;Namib Desert;poachers;conservation;tracking;animal pr
Edition Description:
Publication Date:
Grade Level:
9.50x6.58x1.26 in. 1.47 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
    Used Trade Paper $5.50
  2. Incarceron
    Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. Sin in the Second City: Madams,...
    Used Hardcover $4.95
  4. Never Let Me Go
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  5. Oaxacan Woodcarving: The Magic in... Used Trade Paper $7.50
  6. Finch Used Trade Paper $9.95

Related Subjects

Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Mammals » General
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » Mammals » Wild Cats
Science and Mathematics » Nature Studies » World Wildlife

The Tiger: A True Story of Vengeance and Survival Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Knopf Publishing Group - English 9780307268938 Reviews:
"Staff Pick" by ,

A fascinating attempt to see through the eyes of another creature, John Vaillant's The Tiger is an intelligent and beautifully written blend of history, anthropology, zoology, ecology, and adventure. Compelling and resonant, The Tiger is a rare work of nonfiction that reads as urgently as a good novel.

"Review A Day" by , "Tigers are cunning creatures, and the structure of John Vaillant's The Tiger does their craftiness credit. The subtitle reads 'a true story of vengeance and survival,' words chosen to immediately grab one's attention, aided by the ragged, red claw marks scratched into the cover behind them. But, while visceral thrills abound throughout the book, what Vaillant is attempting proves much more elusive (and ultimately more compelling) than any mere story of bloody attacks." (Read the entire review)
"Review" by , "This elegant work of narrative non-fiction has it all — beauty, intrigue, a primeval locale, fully realized characters, and a conflict that speaks to the state of our world....Brilliant....Haunting and enchanting."
"Review" by , "This book must be read by everybody who is interested in the conservation of wildlife."
"Review" by , "Magnificent....To call [it] a page-turner is an understatement. It's riveting."
"Review" by , "The Tiger is the sort of book I very much like and rarely find....A book not only for adventure buffs, but for all of us interested in wildlife habitat preservation."
"Review" by , "A richly textured, compelling story of Nature and Man at odds — and at risk....John Vaillant does as much as any mortal hand or eye to frame the 'fearful symmetry' that burns in Blake's 'forests of the night.'"
"Review" by , "Absolutely superb." George Schaller, Wildlife Conservation Society vice president, and author of National Book Award winner The Serengeti Lion
"Synopsis" by , The hunt for a man-eating tiger across the forbidding landscape of Russia’s Far East.

When Yuri Trush was called in to investigate an attack by a Siberian tiger, what he found was unlike anything he’d ever encountered. Nothing remained of the victim but stumps of bone protruding from his boots. Even more chilling was the evidence that this attack had been carefully orchestrated, as if the tiger was seeking revenge. Before long, the beast struck again, and Trush, leader of a tiger conservation unit, found himself forced to hunt this animal through the brutal cold of a Siberian winter, becoming intimately acquainted with the tiger’s history, motives, and unique method of attack — until their harrowing final encounter.

John Vaillant recreates these astonishing events against the backdrop of Russia’s most remote frontier, a place where the native peoples worship tigers but poachers threaten the species’ survival. He describes the historic collisions between Chinese and Russian settlers (trappers, thieves, deserters, and exiles), and the struggles of their descendants, who, in the chaotic aftermath of perestroika, turn to poaching to survive — in this case with deadly consequences.

A haunting, gripping exploration of predators and prey, and an intimate portrait of a remarkable animal increasingly threatened by interaction with humans.

"Synopsis" by , A haunting, gripping exploration of predators and prey, and an intimate portrait of a remarkable animal increasingly threatened by interaction with humans, this work recreates the hunt for a man-eating tiger across the forbidding landscape of Russia's Far East.
"Synopsis" by , Acclaimed nature writer Rick Bass takes us on a journey into the Namib Desert to follow a group of poachers-turned-conservationists as they track the endangered black rhinos through their ancient and harsh African homeland.
"Synopsis" by ,
From one of our most gifted writers on the natural world comes a stunning exploration of a unique landscape and the improbable and endangered animal that makes its home there.

Rick Bass first made a name for himself as a writer and seeker of rare, iconic animals, including the grizzlies and wolves of the American West. Now hes off on a new, far-flung adventure in the Namib of southwest Africa on the trail of another fascinating, vulnerable species. The black rhino is a three-thousand-pound, squinty-eyed giant that sports three-foot-long dagger horns, lives off poisonous plants, and goes for days without water.

Human intervention and cutting-edge conservation saved the rhinos—for now—from the brink of extinction brought on by poaching and war. Against the backdrop of one of the most ancient and harshest terrains on earth, Bass, with his characteristic insight and grace, probes the complex relationship between humans and nature and meditates on our role as both destroyer and savior.

In the tradition of Peter Matthiessens The Tree Where Man Was Born, Bass captures a haunting slice of Africa, especially of the “black” rhinos that glow ghostly white in the gleaming sun.

  • back to top


Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at