The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 22, 2014

Nick Harkaway: IMG The Florist-Assassins



The three men lit up in my mind's eye, with footnotes. They were converging on me — and on the object I was carrying — in a way that had... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Tigerman

    Nick Harkaway 9780385352413

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.95
List price: $14.95
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

More copies of this ISBN

This title in other editions

The Translation of Dr. Apelles: A Love Story (Vintage Contemporaries)

by

The Translation of Dr. Apelles: A Love Story (Vintage Contemporaries) Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Dr. Apelles, a translator of ancient texts, has made an unsettling discovery: a manuscript that has languished for years, written in a language that only he speaks. Moving back and forth between the scholar and his text, from a lone man in a labyrinthine archive to a pair of beautiful young Indian lovers in an unspoiled and snowy woodland, David Treuer weaves together two love stories. Enthralling and suspenseful, The Translation of Dr. Apelles dares to redefine the Native American novel.

Synopsis:

A daring new novel that "may be David Treuer's best book" (Charles Baxter)

"He realizes he has discovered a document that could change his life forever."

Dr Apelles, Native American translator of Native American texts, lives a diligent existence. He works at a library and, in his free time, works on his translations. Without his realizing it, his world has become small. One day he stumbles across an ancient manuscript only he can translate. What begins as a startling discovery quickly becomes a vital quest--not only to translate the document but to find love. Through the riddle of Dr Apelles's heart, "The Translation of Dr Apelles "explores the boundaries of human emotion, charts the power of the language to both imprison and liberate, and maps the true dimensions of the Native American experience. As Dr Apelles's quest nears its surprising conclusion, the novel asks the reader to speculate on whose power is greater: The imaginer or the imagined? The lover or the beloved? In this brilliant mystery of letters in the tradition of Calvino, Borges, and Saramago, David Treuer excavates the persistent myths that belittle the contemporary Native American experience and lays bare the terrible power of the imagination.

About the Author

David Treuer is an Ojibwe Indian from Leech Lake Reservation in northern Minnesota. He is the recipient of a Fulbright Fellowship to Canada, a Pushcart Prize, the 1996 Minnesota Book Award and was a finalist for the Penn West prize in 1999. The Translation of Dr Apelles is his third novel. He divides his time between his home on the Leech Lake Reservation and Minneapolis.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307386625
Author:
Treuer, David
Publisher:
Vintage Books USA
Subject:
Literary
Subject:
Indians of north america
Subject:
Translators
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Series:
Vintage Contemporaries
Publication Date:
20080231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
336
Dimensions:
8.00x5.50x.76 in. .54 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Living Our Language: Ojibwe Tales &... New Trade Paper $22.95
  2. The Porcupine Year Used Trade Paper $4.95
  3. The Lesser Blessed Used Trade Paper $4.95
  4. The Periodic Table Used Trade Paper $4.95
  5. Mending Skins (05 Edition) Used Trade Paper $9.00
  6. The Leisure Seeker
    Used Hardcover $1.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

The Translation of Dr. Apelles: A Love Story (Vintage Contemporaries) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.95 In Stock
Product details 336 pages Vintage Books USA - English 9780307386625 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , A daring new novel that "may be David Treuer's best book" (Charles Baxter)

"He realizes he has discovered a document that could change his life forever."

Dr Apelles, Native American translator of Native American texts, lives a diligent existence. He works at a library and, in his free time, works on his translations. Without his realizing it, his world has become small. One day he stumbles across an ancient manuscript only he can translate. What begins as a startling discovery quickly becomes a vital quest--not only to translate the document but to find love. Through the riddle of Dr Apelles's heart, "The Translation of Dr Apelles "explores the boundaries of human emotion, charts the power of the language to both imprison and liberate, and maps the true dimensions of the Native American experience. As Dr Apelles's quest nears its surprising conclusion, the novel asks the reader to speculate on whose power is greater: The imaginer or the imagined? The lover or the beloved? In this brilliant mystery of letters in the tradition of Calvino, Borges, and Saramago, David Treuer excavates the persistent myths that belittle the contemporary Native American experience and lays bare the terrible power of the imagination.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.