Poetry Madness
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | March 17, 2014

Shawn Donley: IMG Peter Stark: The Powells.com Interview



Peter StarkIt's hard to believe that 200 years ago, the Pacific Northwest was one of the most remote and isolated regions in the world. In 1810, four years... Continue »
  1. $19.59 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$8.50
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Literature- A to Z

The Night Strangers

by

The Night Strangers Cover

ISBN13: 9780307394996
ISBN10: 0307394999
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 2 left in stock at $8.50!

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 3 comments:

judys2girl, January 19, 2012 (view all comments by judys2girl)
Typical great Bohjalian writing, but this time Chris has thrown in a Steven King-like spookiness that makes you shudder!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Kelly from Jersey, January 4, 2012 (view all comments by Kelly from Jersey)
Loved this quietly creepy story. The unexpected ending made it a memorable read.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Annelle, October 10, 2011 (view all comments by Annelle)
wow. just finished this last night. this is quite the departure from his last book, the secrets of eden. creepy neighbors, a little bit of witchcraft, home burial, and the white mountians are all ingredients to this great and interesting story. a great and must read for any chris bohjalian fan!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 3 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307394996
Author:
Bohjalian, Chris
Publisher:
Crown
Author:
Chris Bohjalian
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Ghost
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Horror - General
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20111004
Binding:
Hardback
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
9.39 x 6.39 x 1.3 in 1.38 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The End of the Wasp Season Used Trade Paper $10.50
  2. Skeletons at the Feast Used Trade Paper $7.50

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Horror » General
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z

The Night Strangers Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$8.50 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Crown - English 9780307394996 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Bestseller Bohjalian's latest novel (after Secrets of Eden) is a gripping paranormal thriller set in a remote New England town. Airline pilot Chip Linton is beset by survivor's guilt after crashing his plane upon takeoff, killing all but nine aboard. His family moves to Bethel, N.H., to escape the media glare while Chip recovers from PTSD, but they soon discover that the sleepy village harbors evil things. Their new home, once the site of a young boy's suicide, contains mysterious passageways, hidden weapons, and a secret crypt. And their neighbors, New Age gardeners and homeopaths, soon reveal themselves to be occultists with designs on the Lintons' twins. Chip begins receiving visits from his dead passengers, including an eight-year-old and her bloodthirsty father, who demands Chip find her a friend — at any cost. Meticulous research and keen attention to detail give depth and character to Bohjalian's eerie world, but the spookiness consistently gives way to silliness, and the Lintons' typical response to the strange goings on, an uneasy mix of suspicion and credulity, is a problem. Still, Bohjalian is a master,, and the slow-mounting dread makes this a frightful ride." Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
"Review" by , "Shades of The Shining make for a haunting tale...A modern-day ghost story worth losing sleep over."
"Review" by , "After losing passengers in a forced landing, a pilot seeks respite by moving his family to New England. But the house is haunted and local witches won't leave them alone. Good 'n' spooky."
"Review" by , "A page-turner of uncommon depth. Guilt, egotism, and fear all play parts in the genre-bending novel."
"Review" by , "Bohjalian has crafted a genre-defying novel, both a compelling story of a family in trauma and a psychological thriller that is truly frightening. Fans of Alice Sebold's The Lovely Bones and Margaret Atwood's Cat's Eye and The Robber Bride will find similar appeal here."
"Review" by , "Compelling...a practical magick horror story."
"Review" by , "A gripping paranormal thriller...Bohjalian is a master, and the slow-mounting dread makes this a frightful ride."
"Review" by , "Put a haunted man in a haunted house...and you have a Halloween hair-raiser. But it's more than that. Bohjalian, with a dozen well-received novels to his credit, understands trauma: how long it takes to recover from unimaginable pain, and how people who have never experienced it rarely understand."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.