The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Interviews | September 2, 2014

Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



David MitchellDavid Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »
  1. $21.00 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    The Bone Clocks

    David Mitchell 9781400065677

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Entering Normal

by

Entering Normal Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

In the tradition of The Good Mother and The Deep End of the Ocean, Anne D. LeClaire delivers a heartbreaking–and breathtaking–novel of two very different but equally loving mothers who face the most painful of losses and then find the courage not only to go on but to find meaning and hope in their lives.

Rose Nelson is a middle-aged woman with a broken past, a sorrow from which she cannot recover. Secretly guilty about her role in her teenaged son’s death five years ago, she has sealed herself off from life, enveloped by a grief that has slowly eaten away at her relationship with her husband.

Against her will, Rose is drawn into the world she has avoided when Opal Gates and her five-year-old son, Zack, move in next door. Determined to start an independent life for herself, twenty-year-old Opal has left her family and the father of her son in North Carolina. But when she quickly begins an affair with Tyrone Miller, a part-time mechanic and local musician, Opal unwittingly breaks the tacit rules of both her family and her new hometown.

Initially, Rose cannot bear the sight of Opal and her son. But later when Zack is injured, she instinctively lies to protect Opal from a single mistake that changes the lives of everyone involved.

Faced with a custody suit brought by Zack’s father and her own parents, Opal faces a trial in which each choice she has made will be used as ammunition in the battle to take Zack away from her.

Confronting such devastating loss and the questions it poses are at the heart of Entering Normal. How does one go on after great tragedy? What is a family? What sacrifices must a mother be willing to make for her child? And how can a good mother sometimes make bad choices?

Entering Normal is a story of family, a novel about courage, loss, risk, and betrayal. It is a story that goes to the heart of love.

From the Hardcover edition.

Synopsis:

Two women confronting devastating losses--middle-aged Rose mourns the death of her teenage son and twenty-year-old Opal battles for custody of her five-year-old boy--find solace together and become unlikely friends.

Synopsis:

Anne D. LeClaire is a novelist and short story writer who teaches and lectures on writing and the creative process. She has also worked as a radio broadcaster, a journalist, an op-ed columnist for The Cape Cod Times, and a correspondent for The Boston Globe. Her work has appeared in The New York Times, Redbook, and Yankee magazine among others. She is the mother of two adult children and lives in Cape Cod, Massachusetts.

From the Hardcover edition.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307415127
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Subject:
Fiction : Sagas
Author:
LeClaire, Anne D.
Author:
LeClaire, Anne
Author:
Anne D. Leclaire
Subject:
Sagas
Subject:
Bereavement
Subject:
Mother and child
Subject:
Middle aged women
Subject:
Custody of children
Subject:
Female friendship
Subject:
Mothers and sons
Subject:
Massachusetts
Subject:
Sons
Subject:
Death
Subject:
Family saga
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
20020702
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Language:
English
Pages:
336

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z

Entering Normal
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 336 pages Random House Publishing Group - English 9780307415127 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Two women confronting devastating losses--middle-aged Rose mourns the death of her teenage son and twenty-year-old Opal battles for custody of her five-year-old boy--find solace together and become unlikely friends.
"Synopsis" by , Anne D. LeClaire is a novelist and short story writer who teaches and lectures on writing and the creative process. She has also worked as a radio broadcaster, a journalist, an op-ed columnist for The Cape Cod Times, and a correspondent for The Boston Globe. Her work has appeared in The New York Times, Redbook, and Yankee magazine among others. She is the mother of two adult children and lives in Cape Cod, Massachusetts.

From the Hardcover edition.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.