Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »
  1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Flying Shoes

    Lisa Howorth 9781620403013

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$16.50
List price: $24.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Mystery- A to Z

The Doll

by

The Doll Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

“A heroine every bit as provocative as Stieg Larsson’s Lisbeth Salander.” –The Dallas Morning News

They took her. Then they took her family. Now she’s coming for retribution.

 

   Information specialist Vanessa Michael Munroe has a reputation for getting things done, often dangerous and not-quite-legal things. Scarred from a life of violence, pursued by her own demons, and as proficient with languages as she is with knives, when a human trafficking ring kidnaps her to transport a high-profile starlet, she’s prepared to destroy those responsible—until she discovers that to save one life, she will condemn the person she loves most. 

   Plunged into an underground world where women and girls are merchandise and a shadowy figure known as The Doll Maker controls her every move, Munroe must choose who lives, who dies, or find a way to outthink and outsmart a man who holds all the cards. In this high-octane thriller for fans of Lee Child, Barry Eisler, and Robert Ludlum's Bourne trilogy, Vanessa Michael Munroe will have to fight fast, smart, and furiously to overcome a dangerous nemesis and deliver her trademark brand of justice.

Review:

"Good and bad deeds alike have a high price, as dramatically shown in Stevens's harrowing third Vanessa Michael Munroe novel (after 2012's The Innocent). A sex trafficker known as the Doll Maker forces Munroe to deliver a nubile starlet to the starlet's purchaser by taking Munroe's best friend, Logan, hostage. Controlled at every step by the Doll Maker's nephew, Valon Lumani, she transports the 'doll' from Croatia to Monaco while trying to balance the lives in her hands. Back in Texas, Miles Bradford, Munroe's lover and sometime employer, seeks Logan, Munroe, answers, and revenge as new hostages are targeted. At story's end, none of the players is left unscathed. Trafficker-in-training Lumani is interestingly conflicted, and Munroe remains as compelling as ever: violent yet protective of innocence, imprisoned by not only her past but also the choices she has made in response to it, and painfully conscious of her closeness to sanity's edge. 5-city author tour. Agent: Anne Hawkins, John Hawkins & Associates. (June)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

TAYLOR STEVENS is the New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of The Informationist and The Innocent, both featuring Vanessa Michael Munroe. Her novels have received critical acclaim, have been published in twenty languages, and The Informationist has been optioned for film by James Cameron's production company, Lightstorm Entertainment. Raised in communes across the globe and denied an education beyond the sixth grade, Stevens broke free of the Children of God and now lives in Texas, where she is currently at work on the next Munroe adventure.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780307888785
Author:
Stevens, Taylor
Publisher:
Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Popular Fiction-Suspense
Publication Date:
20130631
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
9.5 x 6.3 x 1.21 in 1.25 lb

Other books you might like

  1. Defending Jacob Used Mass Market $4.50
  2. Windfall Windfall: A Novel a Novel
    Used Trade Paper $7.95
  3. Scent of Darkness Used Hardcover $9.50
  4. No Angel Used Trade Paper $7.95
  5. Dearie: The Remarkable Life of Julia... Used Trade Paper $10.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Suspense

The Doll Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$16.50 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Crown Publishing Group (NY) - English 9780307888785 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Good and bad deeds alike have a high price, as dramatically shown in Stevens's harrowing third Vanessa Michael Munroe novel (after 2012's The Innocent). A sex trafficker known as the Doll Maker forces Munroe to deliver a nubile starlet to the starlet's purchaser by taking Munroe's best friend, Logan, hostage. Controlled at every step by the Doll Maker's nephew, Valon Lumani, she transports the 'doll' from Croatia to Monaco while trying to balance the lives in her hands. Back in Texas, Miles Bradford, Munroe's lover and sometime employer, seeks Logan, Munroe, answers, and revenge as new hostages are targeted. At story's end, none of the players is left unscathed. Trafficker-in-training Lumani is interestingly conflicted, and Munroe remains as compelling as ever: violent yet protective of innocence, imprisoned by not only her past but also the choices she has made in response to it, and painfully conscious of her closeness to sanity's edge. 5-city author tour. Agent: Anne Hawkins, John Hawkins & Associates. (June)" Publishers Weekly Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.