Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Lists | July 16, 2015

    Annie Liontas: IMG "You Want Me to Smell My Fingers?": Five Unforgettable Greek Idioms



    The word "idiom" originates in the Greek word ídios ("one's own") and means "special feature" or "special phrasing." Idioms are peculiar because,... Continue »
    1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

      Let Me Explain You

      Annie Liontas 9781476789088

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$6.50
List price: $16.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton ADV- THRILLERS

Under the Eagle: A Tale of Military Adventure and Reckless Heroism with the Roman Legions

by

Under the Eagle: A Tale of Military Adventure and Reckless Heroism with the Roman Legions Cover

ISBN13: 9780312304249
ISBN10: 0312304242
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $6.50!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

It is the year 42 AD, and Centurion Macro, battle-scarred and fearless, is in the heart of Germany with the Second Legion, the toughest in the Roman army. Cato, a new recruit and the newly appointed second-in-command to Macro, will have more to prove than most. In a bloody skirmish with local tribes, Cato gets his first chance to prove that he's more than a callow, privileged youth. As their next campaign takes them to a land of unparalleled barbarity — Britain — a special mission unfolds, thrusting Cato and Macro headlong into a conspiracy that threatens to topple the Emperor himself.

Review:

"[S]pectacular tale of intrigue, adventure, and glory in the Roman legions....This enthralling historical drama is distinguished by its meticulously detailed portrayal of life in the mighty Roman army." Booklist

Review:

"A warmly welcome sequel looks assured." Kirkus Reviews

About the Author

Simon Scarrow is a high school history teacher living in Norfolk, England. This is his first book.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

Norman M., January 4, 2013 (view all comments by Norman M.)
Excellent detail and action in this tale of the Roman Army in Germania in the early years of the rule of emperor Claudius. Military adventures mix with political plots; equal to the best of Bernard Cornwell. It has many sequels!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Amanda Rott, October 24, 2012 (view all comments by Amanda Rott)
A classic military adventure novel in the tradition of C.S Forester and Bernard Corwnwell with likable heroes, exciting plot, political intrigue, and a dash of wit. Simon Scarrow balances historical fiction and easy reading adventure well in stories that you will find hard to put down once you have begun them. It is my deepest hope that Macro and Cato will march for many many years to come!
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312304249
Subtitle:
A Tale of Military Adventure and Reckless Heroism with the Roman Legions
Author:
Scarrow, Simon
Publisher:
St. Martin's Griffin
Subject:
Historical
Subject:
History
Subject:
Ancient - Rome
Subject:
Historical - General
Subject:
Germany
Subject:
Historical fiction
Subject:
Romans -- Great Britain.
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Trade Paper
Publication Date:
20021231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.26 x 5.46 x 0.725 in

Other books you might like

  1. In the Company of the Courtesan Used Trade Paper $1.50
  2. The Eagle's Conquest Used Trade Paper $9.50
  3. When the Eagle Hunts Used Trade Paper $6.95
  4. The Assassin's Touch (Sano Ichiro... Used Mass Market $4.95
  5. A Darkness More Than Night
    Used Mass Market $4.95
  6. A Single Step Used Hardcover $6.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Adventure
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers
History and Social Science » American Studies » Popular Culture

Under the Eagle: A Tale of Military Adventure and Reckless Heroism with the Roman Legions Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$6.50 In Stock
Product details 256 pages St. Martin's Griffin - English 9780312304249 Reviews:
"Review" by , "[S]pectacular tale of intrigue, adventure, and glory in the Roman legions....This enthralling historical drama is distinguished by its meticulously detailed portrayal of life in the mighty Roman army."
"Review" by , "A warmly welcome sequel looks assured."
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.