25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


The Powell's Playlist | August 6, 2014

Graham Joyce: IMG The Powell’s Playlist: Graham Joyce



The Ghost in the Electric Blue Suit is set on the English coast in the hot summer of 1976, so the music in this playlist is pretty much all from the... Continue »
  1. $17.47 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Shoe Addicts Anonymous

Shoe Addicts Anonymous Cover

ISBN13: 9780312364687
ISBN10: 0312364687
All Product Details

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Four different women. One common shoe size. And a shared lust for fabulous footwear.

Helene Zahariss politician husband keeps her on a tight leash and cancels her credit cards as a way of controlling her. Lorna Rafferty is up to her eyeballs in debt and cant stop her addiction to eBay. Sandra Vanderslice, battling agoraphobia, pays her shoe bills by working as a phone-sex operator. And Jocelyn Bowen is a nanny for the family from hell (who barely knows a sole from a heel but who will do anything to get out of the house.)

On Tuesday nights, these women meet to trade shoes and, in the process, form friendships that will help them each triumph over their problems---from secret pasts to blackmail, bankruptcy, and dating. Funny, emotional, and powerful, Shoe Addicts Anonymous is a perfect read for any woman who has ever struggled to find the perfect fit.

Review:

"Arriving just in time for beach-read season, the effervescent hardcover fiction debut of cookbook author and romance novelist Harbison features four D.C.-area women who meet weekly to swap and chat about... shoes. Trying to get a handle on her massive consumer debt, Lorna Rafferty posts an Internet ad looking to trade footwear with women who have good taste and wear size seven-and-a-half. A senator's trophy wife, Helene Zaharis, is dreaming of escaping her loveless marriage when she stumbles upon Lorna's post. Overweight phone sex operator Sandra Vanderslice struggles to overcome her agoraphobia long enough to attend the shoe meetings. After a few funny missteps, the threesome finds a fourth member, Joss Bowen, the nanny of a shrewish socialite's hellion boys. Joss couldn't care less about shoes, but uses the group as a reason to get out of the house. Harbison does a fine job of showcasing how each woman is trapped — Lorna by her debt, Helene by her marriage, Sandra by her self-image, Joss by her employment contract — and how the fresh eyes of the group allow them to see themselves in a new light. Harbison creates vivid, convincing characters and handles them well. Reading this novel is like eating a slice of cake. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)

Synopsis:

For fans of Sophie Kinsella and Emily Giffin--a hilarious, heartwarming novel about four women, one addiction, and the unlikely friendships they forge over a common love of shoes

Synopsis:

Four different women. One common shoe size. And a shared lust for fabulous footwear.

Helene Zahariss politician husband keeps her on a tight leash and cancels her credit cards as a way of controlling her. Lorna Rafferty is up to her eyeballs in debt and cant stop her addiction to eBay. Sandra Vanderslice, battling agoraphobia, pays her shoe bills by working as a phone-sex operator. And Jocelyn Bowen is a nanny for the family from hell (who barely knows a sole from a heel but who will do anything to get out of the house.)

On Tuesday nights, these women meet to trade shoes and, in the process, form friendships that will help them each triumph over their problems---from secret pasts to blackmail, bankruptcy, and dating. Funny, emotional, and powerful, Shoe Addicts Anonymous is a perfect read for any woman who has ever struggled to find the perfect ?t.

Synopsis:

Helene Zaharis's politician husband keeps her on a tight leash and cancels her credit cards as a way of controlling her. Lorna Rafferty is up to her eyeballs in debt and can't stop her addiction to Ebay. Sandra Vanderslice, battling agoraphobia, pays her shoe bills by working as a phone sex operator. And Jocelyn Bowen is a nanny for the family from hell (who barely knows a sole from a heel but who will do anything to get out of the house).

 

On Tuesday nights, these women meet to trade shoes, and, in the process, form friendships that will help them each triumph over their problems—from secret pasts to blackmail, bankrupcy, and dating.  Funny, emotional, and powerful, Shoe Addicts Anonymous is the perfect read for any woman who has ever struggled to find the perfect fit.

About the Author

Beth Harbison has written both cookbooks and romance novels, but this is her hardcover fiction and audiobook debut. She lives with her husband and two children on Maryland's Eastern Shore, where she enjoys a large collection of adorable flip flops and espadrilles.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Rosemary Simm, June 14, 2007 (view all comments by Rosemary Simm)
Beth Harbison wrote a very sensitive and quirky book. It was not at all what I expected and was surprized by the story developing four flawed women so well. I could feel the distress and dispair and yet the subtle humor left me wanting to read more. I will think of this book whenever I buy shoes and smile as I use my credit card.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(13 of 27 readers found this comment helpful)

Product Details

ISBN:
9780312364687
Publisher:
St. Martin's Griffin
Subject:
General
Author:
Harbison, Elizabeth M.
Author:
Cassidy, Orlagh
Author:
bison, Beth
Author:
Harbison, Beth
Author:
Har
Subject:
Shoes
Subject:
Female friendship
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Contemporary Women
Subject:
Romance - Contemporary
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20110607
Binding:
Electronic book text in proprietary or open standard format
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
7 CDs, 9 hours
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
5.9 x 5 x 0.9 in

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women

Shoe Addicts Anonymous
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 352 pages St. Martin's Press - English 9780312364687 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Arriving just in time for beach-read season, the effervescent hardcover fiction debut of cookbook author and romance novelist Harbison features four D.C.-area women who meet weekly to swap and chat about... shoes. Trying to get a handle on her massive consumer debt, Lorna Rafferty posts an Internet ad looking to trade footwear with women who have good taste and wear size seven-and-a-half. A senator's trophy wife, Helene Zaharis, is dreaming of escaping her loveless marriage when she stumbles upon Lorna's post. Overweight phone sex operator Sandra Vanderslice struggles to overcome her agoraphobia long enough to attend the shoe meetings. After a few funny missteps, the threesome finds a fourth member, Joss Bowen, the nanny of a shrewish socialite's hellion boys. Joss couldn't care less about shoes, but uses the group as a reason to get out of the house. Harbison does a fine job of showcasing how each woman is trapped — Lorna by her debt, Helene by her marriage, Sandra by her self-image, Joss by her employment contract — and how the fresh eyes of the group allow them to see themselves in a new light. Harbison creates vivid, convincing characters and handles them well. Reading this novel is like eating a slice of cake. (June)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of Sophie Kinsella and Emily Giffin--a hilarious, heartwarming novel about four women, one addiction, and the unlikely friendships they forge over a common love of shoes
"Synopsis" by ,

Four different women. One common shoe size. And a shared lust for fabulous footwear.

Helene Zahariss politician husband keeps her on a tight leash and cancels her credit cards as a way of controlling her. Lorna Rafferty is up to her eyeballs in debt and cant stop her addiction to eBay. Sandra Vanderslice, battling agoraphobia, pays her shoe bills by working as a phone-sex operator. And Jocelyn Bowen is a nanny for the family from hell (who barely knows a sole from a heel but who will do anything to get out of the house.)

On Tuesday nights, these women meet to trade shoes and, in the process, form friendships that will help them each triumph over their problems---from secret pasts to blackmail, bankruptcy, and dating. Funny, emotional, and powerful, Shoe Addicts Anonymous is a perfect read for any woman who has ever struggled to find the perfect ?t.

"Synopsis" by ,
Helene Zaharis's politician husband keeps her on a tight leash and cancels her credit cards as a way of controlling her. Lorna Rafferty is up to her eyeballs in debt and can't stop her addiction to Ebay. Sandra Vanderslice, battling agoraphobia, pays her shoe bills by working as a phone sex operator. And Jocelyn Bowen is a nanny for the family from hell (who barely knows a sole from a heel but who will do anything to get out of the house).

 

On Tuesday nights, these women meet to trade shoes, and, in the process, form friendships that will help them each triumph over their problems—from secret pasts to blackmail, bankrupcy, and dating.  Funny, emotional, and powerful, Shoe Addicts Anonymous is the perfect read for any woman who has ever struggled to find the perfect fit.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.