Summer Reading B2G1 Free
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Visit our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | July 15, 2015

    Frank Wilczek: IMG You Are... Who?



    Writing a book is an unnatural act of communication. Speaking to a person, or even to an audience, is an interaction. Very different styles are... Continue »
    1. $20.97 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
List price: $8.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton Children's Middle Readers- General
20 Local Warehouse Children's Middle Readers- General

The Mysterious Benedict Society (Mysterious Benedict Society #01)

by

The Mysterious Benedict Society (Mysterious Benedict Society #01) Cover

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 8 comments:

Nahuatl, July 22, 2010 (view all comments by Nahuatl)
I loved this book and could not put it down.
I know is a kid's book but it's a great adventure that you may enjoy at any age.
I strongly recommend it.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
Kristen M, February 7, 2010 (view all comments by Kristen M)
Sometimes I dearly wish that certain books had been written 20 years ago when I was a kid. The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart is one of these books. It was totally enjoyable now but I think it would have been even more so had I been able to read it in my youth.

This book is the first in a series and I think it will be a good standard for the new generation. It is empowering and puts a lot of emphasis on thought and reasoning but also values personality and physicality. Every kid will find someone to relate to and look up to in the Benedict Society.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
D.B. Pacini, May 8, 2009 (view all comments by D.B. Pacini)
This exceptional story will capture the awe and the attention of young readers. I certainly will purchase additional copies. I know a few young people that will relish it. Trenton Lee Stewart delivers beautifully. As a reader I enjoyed this novel, as an author I am impressed. Teachers and parents should definitely have this book in their libraries. It is not just for children either; people of all ages will love it.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(8 of 12 readers found this comment helpful)
previous  6-8 of 8

Product Details

ISBN:
9780316003957
Author:
Stewart, Trenton Lee
Publisher:
Little, Brown Young Readers
Illustrator:
Ellis, Carson
Author:
Geyer, Mark Edward
Author:
Foley, Elizabeth
Author:
Ellis, Carson
Author:
ey
Author:
Beasley, Cassie
Author:
Elizabeth Fol
Author:
Hicks, Deron R.
Author:
Shulman, Polly
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Children's 9-12 - Fiction - General
Subject:
Adventure and adventurers
Subject:
Schools
Subject:
Science fiction
Subject:
Children s-Adventure Stories
Subject:
Mysteries & Detective Stories
Subject:
Action & Adventure
Subject:
Students; Children; School; Adventurers; Good vs. evil
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Shakespeare;adventure;mystery;strong female protagonist;smart;fun;literary histo
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Cloth
Series:
The Shakespeare Mysteries
Series Volume:
01
Publication Date:
April 2008
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 2 up to 5
Language:
English
Illustrations:
black and white illustrations
Pages:
304
Dimensions:
9 x 6 in 1 lb
Age Level:
08-12

Other books you might like

  1. The Invention of Hugo Cabret
    Used Hardcover $5.95
  2. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Rodrick Rules...
    Used Hardcover $8.00
  3. Esperanza Rising
    Used Book Club Paperback $3.50
  4. Diary of a Wimpy Kid
    Used Hardcover $6.50
  5. Honus & Me: A Baseball Card... Used Trade Paper $2.95
  6. The Frog Princess Used Book Club Hardcover $4.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Oregon Battle of the Books
Children's » Sale Books
Featured Titles » General

The Mysterious Benedict Society (Mysterious Benedict Society #01) Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 304 pages Little Brown and Company - English 9780316003957 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Stewart's (Flood Summer, for adults) first book for young people begins with a bang. Gifted 11-year-old orphan Reynie Muldoon is sharing the newspaper with his tutor when she excitedly points out an ad: 'Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?' She encourages him to take the series of tests cited in the ad, and the entire process resembles the otherworldly experience of Roald Dahl's Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, with puzzles within puzzles and tests within tests — some mental, some ethical, some physical. Ultimately three children pass the first test and go on to the next: Reynie, Sticky (born George) Washington and Kate Wetherall — all of them essentially orphans. A fourth, the 'very, very small' Constance Contraire, joins them later, and Mr. Benedict describes why he has brought them together. Initially, readers — like the four children — may be unsure of what to think about this mysterious gent: Is he hero or villain? Mr. Benedict has recruited them to foil an evil plan, devised by a mysterious 'Sender,' to brainwash the population via secret messages — delivered by children — embedded in television and radio programs. The plot-driven novel follows many adventures among the four, whose unique talents all come into play; readers will likely warm to each of them. A couple of concluding twists involving Kate and Connie may throw readers a bit, but these do not detract from the book's entertainment value or from the author's sound overall structure. Though the book is lengthy, readers will likely enjoy getting lost in this fully imagined realm. Ages 8-12." Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Review" by , "Fans of Roald Dahl or Blue Balliett will find a familiar blend of kid power, clues, and adventure."
"Review" by , "With its lively style, fresh character portrayals, and well-timed revelations, this story flies past, thrilling us as it goes. Just be sure your flashlight batteries are well charged."
"Review" by , "The characters are well developed, mostly appealing, and evenhanded. Ellis's line drawings add a crowning flair. Do not miss this one. Buy two copies because they will be needed."
"Review" by , "[A] feel-good story with a happy ending for the four orphaned and runaway children who find friendship and family."
"Review" by , "Low in physical violence, while being rich in moral and ethical issues, as well as in appealingly complex characters and comedy sly and gross, this Lemony Snicket-style outing sprouts hooks for hearts and minds both..."
"Synopsis" by , The Daand#160;Vinci Code meets Nancy Drew in this galloping middle-grade mystery about twelve-year old Colophon Letterford and the ancientand#160;treasure left to her literary publishing family.
"Synopsis" by ,
Everyone in Remarkable is remarkable. Everyone except Jane, that is. While the rest of the town is busy being talented, gifted, or just plain extraordinary, she's never been anything but ordinary. Then Jane finds herself in school with the mischievous Grimlet twins, and her life suddenly gets a whole lot more interesting. And when a strange pirate captain appears in town, setting of a series of adventures that put the whole town in danger, it's up to Jane to save the day. Along the way, she might just find that she can be pretty remarkable after all.
"Synopsis" by , Twelve-year-old Colophon Letterford has a serious mystery on her hands. Will she discover the link between her familyand#8217;s literary legacy and Shakespeareand#8217;s tomb before itand#8217;s too late? Antique paintings, secret passages, locked mausoleums, a four-hundred-year-old treasure, and a cast of quirky (and some ignoble) characters all add up to a fun original adventure. Readers will revel in a whirlwind journey through literary time and space in real-world locales from Mont St. Michel to Stratford-Upon-Avon to Central Park!
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.