The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$11.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
2 Beaverton SF- B

This title in other editions

The Daylight War: Book Three of the Demon Cycle

by

The Daylight War: Book Three of the Demon Cycle Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

With The Warded Man and The Desert Spear, Peter V. Brett surged to the front rank of contemporary fantasy, standing alongside giants in the field like George R. R. Martin, Robert Jordan, and Terry Brooks. The Daylight War, the eagerly anticipated third volume in Brett’s internationally bestselling Demon Cycle, continues the epic tale of humanity’s last stand against an army of demons that rise each night to prey on mankind.

On the night of the new moon, the demons rise in force, seeking the deaths of two men both of whom have the potential to become the fabled Deliverer, the man prophesied to reunite the scattered remnants of humanity in a final push to destroy the demon corelings once and for all.

Arlen Bales was once an ordinary man, but now he has become something more — the Warded Man, tattooed with eldritch wards so powerful they make him a match for any demon. Arlen denies he is the Deliverer at every turn, but the more he tries to be one with the common folk, the more fervently they believe. Many would follow him, but Arlen’s path threatens to lead him to a dark place he alone can travel to, and from which there may be no returning.

The only one with hope of keeping Arlen in the world of men, or joining him in his descent into the world of demons, is Renna Tanner, a fierce young woman in danger of losing herself to the power of demon magic.

Ahmann Jardir has forged the warlike desert tribes of Krasia into a demon-killing army and proclaimed himself Shar’Dama Ka, the Deliverer. He carries ancient weapons — a spear and a crown — that give credence to his claim, and already vast swaths of the green lands bow to his control.

But Jardir did not come to power on his own. His rise was engineered by his First Wife, Inevera, a cunning and powerful priestess whose formidable demon bone magic gives her the ability to glimpse the future. Inevera’s motives and past are shrouded in mystery, and even Jardir does not entirely trust her.

Once Arlen and Jardir were as close as brothers. Now they are the bitterest of rivals. As humanity’s enemies rise, the only two men capable of defeating them are divided against each other by the most deadly demons of all — those lurking in the human heart.

Synopsis:

Following up on the internationally bestselling The Warded Man and The Desert Spear, Peter V. Brett continues his acclaimed Demon Cycle epic fantasy series, which will appeal to fans of Terry Brooks, George R. R. Martin, and Robert Jordan.

About the Author

Peter V. Brett is the internationally bestselling author of The Warded Man and The Desert Spear. Raised on a steady diet of fantasy novels, comic books, and Dungeons & Dragons, Brett has been writing fantasy stories for as long as he can remember. He received a bachelor of arts degree in English literature and art history from the University at Buffalo in 1995, then spent more than a decade in pharmaceutical publishing before returning to his bliss. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345503824
Subtitle:
Book Three of the Demon Cycle
Author:
Brett, Peter V.
Publisher:
Del Rey Books
Subject:
Fantasy - Epic
Subject:
Science Fiction and Fantasy-Fantasy-Epic
Publication Date:
20130231
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
656

Other books you might like

  1. The Enemy Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. Darkside: Book 1 (Darkside #01)
    Used Hardcover $1.75
  3. The Last Guardian (Artemis Fowl #8)
    Used Hardcover $12.50
  4. Alex Van Helsing #01: Vampire Rising New Hardcover $16.99
  5. Happenstance Found (Books of Umber... New Hardcover $16.99
  6. The Last Apprentice: Grimalkin the... Used Hardcover $7.95

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » General
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Adventure
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Adventure
Fiction and Poetry » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Fantasy » Epic

The Daylight War: Book Three of the Demon Cycle Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$11.95 In Stock
Product details 656 pages Del Rey Books - English 9780345503824 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , Following up on the internationally bestselling The Warded Man and The Desert Spear, Peter V. Brett continues his acclaimed Demon Cycle epic fantasy series, which will appeal to fans of Terry Brooks, George R. R. Martin, and Robert Jordan.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.