Dr Seuss Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Interviews | September 2, 2014

    Jill Owens: IMG David Mitchell: The Powells.com Interview



    David Mitchell's newest mind-bending, time-skipping novel may be his most accomplished work yet. Written in six sections, one per decade, The Bone... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$15.95
List price: $30.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Local Warehouse Ethnic Studies- Asian American

Vietnamerica: A Family's Journey

by

Vietnamerica: A Family's Journey Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A superb new graphic memoir in which an inspired artist/storyteller reveals the road that brought his family to where they are today: Vietnamerica

 

GB Tran is a young Vietnamese American artist who grew up distant from (and largely indifferent to) his family’s history. Born and raised in South Carolina as a son of immigrants, he knew that his parents had fled Vietnam during the fall of Saigon. But even as they struggled to adapt to life in America, they preferred to forget the past—and to focus on their children’s future. It was only in his late twenties that GB began to learn their extraordinary story. When his last surviving grandparents die within months of each other, GB visits Vietnam for the first time and begins to learn the tragic history of his family, and of the homeland they left behind.

In this family saga played out in the shadow of history, GB uncovers the root of his father’s remoteness and why his mother had remained in an often fractious marriage; why his grandfather had abandoned his own family to fight for the Viet Cong; why his grandmother had had an affair with a French soldier. GB learns that his parents had taken harrowing flight from Saigon during the final hours of the war not because they thought America was better but because they were afraid of what would happen if they stayed. They entered America—a foreign land they couldn’t even imagine—where family connections dissolved and shared history was lost within a span of a single generation.

In telling his family’s story, GB finds his own place in this saga of hardship and heroism. Vietnamerica is a visually stunning portrait of survival, escape, and reinvention—and of the gift of the American immigrants’ dream, passed on to their children. Vietnamerica is an unforgettable story of family revelation and reconnection—and a new graphic-memoir classic.

Review:

"Like Art Spiegelman's Maus, this personal memoir tries to make sense of a shattered family history. Tran was born in America shortly after his family fled Vietnam during the fall of Saigon. However, he sees how deeply his parents still feel connected to their homeland, even as they can't fully admit their dismay at being cut off from it. They have been forced to keep many secrets from others, and learned to keep many secrets from themselves, too. By visiting Vietnam and exploring memories, Tran learns how his grandfather, a lifelong Vietminh supporter, was horrified at the brutal results of the Communist victory and how his father became a glum autocrat after his career as an artist was destroyed. He watches how his parents interact uneasily with the swarm of relatives and friends they left behind. Now Tran tries to make sense of it all. The comic utilizes a dizzying barrage of effects to depict the characters' confusing experience: different lettering styles, realistic action set against full-page government posters, sound effects swirling from panel to panel, action-packed panoramas breaking apart as South Vietnam collapses. The result is disturbing but also uplifting. (Jan.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)

Synopsis:

For fans of "Persepolis, Fun Home," and "Maus" comes a major new graphic memoir about family secrets, the immigrant experience, and the legacy of the Vietnam War. Full color.

About the Author

Gia-Bao (aka GB) Tran was born in South Carolina in 1976, a year after his parents fled Vietnam. He aspires to continue living the good life as a Brooklyn cartoonist/illustrator thanks, in large part, to the endless patience of his wife. His parents constantly remind him that if this “art thingy” doesn’t work out, he can, as the only family member born in the United States, be president instead.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345508720
Author:
Tran, G B
Publisher:
Villard Books
Author:
Tran, G. B.
Subject:
Personal Memoirs
Subject:
Graphic Novels-Nonfiction
Subject:
graphic novel;memoir;vietnam;non-fiction;comics
Publication Date:
20110131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Grade Level:
General/trade
Language:
English
Illustrations:
ILLUSTRATIONS THROUGHOUT
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
9.55 x 7.25 x 1 in 2.2 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Big Little Book of Butterflies Used Trade Paper $4.95
  2. At the Japanese Table: New and... Used Trade Paper $4.50
  3. The Leafcutter Ants: Civilization by... Used Trade Paper $9.95

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » General
Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Manga » General
Fiction and Poetry » Graphic Novels » Nonfiction
History and Social Science » Ethnic Studies » Asian American
Sports and Outdoors » Sports and Fitness » Basketball » General

Vietnamerica: A Family's Journey Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$15.95 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Villard Books - English 9780345508720 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Like Art Spiegelman's Maus, this personal memoir tries to make sense of a shattered family history. Tran was born in America shortly after his family fled Vietnam during the fall of Saigon. However, he sees how deeply his parents still feel connected to their homeland, even as they can't fully admit their dismay at being cut off from it. They have been forced to keep many secrets from others, and learned to keep many secrets from themselves, too. By visiting Vietnam and exploring memories, Tran learns how his grandfather, a lifelong Vietminh supporter, was horrified at the brutal results of the Communist victory and how his father became a glum autocrat after his career as an artist was destroyed. He watches how his parents interact uneasily with the swarm of relatives and friends they left behind. Now Tran tries to make sense of it all. The comic utilizes a dizzying barrage of effects to depict the characters' confusing experience: different lettering styles, realistic action set against full-page government posters, sound effects swirling from panel to panel, action-packed panoramas breaking apart as South Vietnam collapses. The result is disturbing but also uplifting. (Jan.)" Publishers Weekly (Copyright PWyxz LLC)
"Synopsis" by , For fans of "Persepolis, Fun Home," and "Maus" comes a major new graphic memoir about family secrets, the immigrant experience, and the legacy of the Vietnam War. Full color.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.