25 Books to Read Before You Die
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 18, 2014

Ian Leslie: IMG Empathic Curiosity



Today, we wonder anxiously if digital media is changing our brains. But if there's any time in history when our mental operations changed... Continue »
  1. $18.89 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$10.95
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
9 Burnside DISP- OLD FAVORITES507ENDCAP, 509ENDCAP
11 Local Warehouse Literature- A to Z

The Paris Wife

by

The Paris Wife Cover

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 8 comments:

IslandPoet, February 10, 2014 (view all comments by IslandPoet)
McLain's book is presented as fiction, but based on what I have read elsewhere, it stays very true to the known facts about the lives of Ernest Hemingway and his first wife, Hadley Richardson. Courtship, marriage, the move to Paris, and birth of their son "Bumby" are all rendered in exquisite period details through the eyes of Hadley. What began as a story of true love deteriorates into a tale of nightlife, alcohol excess, and infidelity as the young Hemingways are surrounded by the Paris celebrities of the Twenties. Fitzgerald, Stein, Pound and other luminaries of the time all make their memorable appearances. It was interesting to me that the downhill course of Hadley's marriage coincided with the rising fame and success of Ernest. The story is told with restraint and respect. I felt my heart breaking for both of them, but especially Hadley. A must-read for any fan of Hemingway, the Jazz Age, Twenties literature, or Paris in general.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
tw.moran, January 31, 2013 (view all comments by tw.moran)
Beautifully written - Though it is a historical fiction, I felt like I was reading a biography on Ernest Hemingway and his first wife Hadley Richardson during the Jazz Age Pairs in the 20's. I found myself taking notes to learn more about the different places they traveled to or hang out at with their circle of friends from Gertrude Stein to F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 1 readers found this comment helpful)
Candence, January 30, 2013 (view all comments by Candence)
After viewing the fantastic movie "Midnight in Paris", it made perfect sense to read further on the life and adventures of Ernest Hemingway. This novel was well written and deeply engrossing as it captures the love between Ernest Hemingway and his first wife, Hadley, during their exciting years in Paris and abroad.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
jennithekid, January 30, 2013 (view all comments by jennithekid)
Great story and the writting style helps you feel emotionally involved with the characters.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
M Daly, January 28, 2013 (view all comments by M Daly)
This ficitional account of Ernest Hemingway's first wife, Hadley, is a must read for fans of Hemingway, Paris, Pamploma, the 1920s, or a good story. Meticulously researched, the book brings to life the women who was the author's first love and muse. Though only married to him for four years, they were packed with activity and growth. When she met him, he was an unpublished, green boy. When they divorced, he was a respected and famous author. The in-between time, makes a fascinating story.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
 1-5 of 8 next

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345521316
Author:
McLain, Paula
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Subject:
General-General
Subject:
Literary
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20121127
Binding:
Paperback
Language:
English
Pages:
352
Dimensions:
7.98 x 5.34 x 0.9 in 0.72 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Casual Vacancy
    Used Trade Paper $8.95
  2. Sweet Tooth Used Hardcover $5.95
  3. The Particular Sadness of Lemon... New Mass Market $13.50
  4. What's a Dog For?: The Surprising... Used Hardcover $14.95
  5. Paris: A Love Story
    Used Trade Paper $10.50
  6. Building Stories
    Used Hardcover $35.00

Related Subjects


Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Featured Titles » Miscellaneous Award Winners
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Biographical

The Paris Wife Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$10.95 In Stock
Product details 352 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780345521316 Reviews:
"Review" by , “A beautiful portrait of being in Paris in the glittering 1920s — as a wife and as one’s own woman.”
"Review" by , “[Paula] McLain has brought Hadley [Hemingway] to life in a novel that begins in a rush of early love....A moving portrait of a woman slighted by history, a woman whose...story needed to be told.”
"Review" by , The Paris Wife creates the kind of out-of-body reading experience that dedicated book lovers yearn for, nearly as good as reading Hemingway for the first time — and it doesn’t get much better than that.”
"Review" by , “Exquisitely evocative....This absorbing, illuminating book gives us an intimate view of a sympathetic and perceptive woman, the striving writer she married, the glittering and wounding Paris circle they were part of....McLain reinvents the story of Hadley and Ernest’s romance with the lucid grace of a practiced poet.”
"Review" by , “A novel that’s impossible to resist. It’s all here, and it all feels real.”
"Synopsis" by , An instant national bestseller, this stunningly evocative, beautifully rendered story told in the voice of Ernest Hemingway's first wife, Hadley, has the same power and historical richness that made Loving Frank a bestseller.

No twentieth-century American writer has captured the popular imagination as much as Ernest Hemingway. This novel tells his story from a unique point of view — that of his first wife, Hadley. Through her eyes and voice, we experience Paris of the Lost Generation and meet fascinating characters such as Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald, Gertrude Stein, Ezra Pound, and Gerald and Sara Murphy. The city and its inhabitants provide a vivid backdrop to this engrossing and wrenching story of love and betrayal that is made all the more poignant knowing that, in the end, Hemingway would write of his first wife, "I wish I had died before I loved anyone but her."

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.