Wintersalen Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Original Essays | November 10, 2014

    Peter Turchi: IMG Writing as Puzzle



    I loved books, loved stories, loved being read to at an early age and then reading for myself — that's true for most writers. But looking... Continue »
    1. $20.97 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$9.95
List price: $15.00
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Hawthorne Literature- A to Z

The Paradise Guest House

by

The Paradise Guest House Cover

ISBN13: 9780345522818
ISBN10: 0345522818
Condition: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $9.95!

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

A riveting and poignant novel of one woman’s journey to Bali in search of love, renewal, and a place to call home—perfect for readers of Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love and Alex Garland’s The Beach.

 

It starts as a trip to paradise. Sent on assignment to Bali, Jamie, an American adventure guide, imagines spending weeks exploring the island’s lush jungles and pristine white sand beaches. Yet three days after her arrival, she is caught in Bali’s infamous nightclub bombings, which irreparably change her life and leave her with many unanswered questions.

 

One year later, haunted by memories, Jamie returns to Bali seeking a sense of closure. Most of all, she hopes to find Gabe, the man who saved her from the attacks. She hasn’t been able to forget his kindness—or the spark between them as he helped her heal. Checking into a cozy guest house for her stay, Jamie meets the kindly owner, who is coping with a painful past of his own, and a young boy who improbably becomes crucial to her search. Jamie has never shied away from a challenge, but a second chance with Gabe presents her with the biggest dilemma of all: whether she’s ready to open her heart.

 

Look for special features inside. Join the Circle for author chats and more.

 

Praise for Ellen Sussman’s French Lessons

 

“[A] luscious novel of love and longing . . . The narrative feels as light as a glass of rosé at an outdoor café, but its insights carry the richness of a Burgundy.”—People (four stars)

 

“Sizzling escapist reading.”—Entertainment Weekly

Review:

"Two survivors of Bali's terrorist bombing find love and spiritual rebirth on an island whose inhabitants believe in reincarnation in Sussman's touching panorama of paradise. When Jamie Hyde deplanes in Bali to attend the one-year memorial ceremony of the bombing, she instantly relives the 'color, noise, pain' of the nightclub attack that left her body scarred and her mind broken. An adventure guide, Jamie had been scouting for a new tour in Bali with her boyfriend, Miguel, when the bombs exploded in 2002. While frantically searching for Miguel, Jamie became involved in rescue efforts with Gabe Winters, an ex-pat, ex-journalist who had left Boston after a devastating tragedy, and had settled in Bali. When Jamie became trapped in the wreckage, Gabe saved her life and cared for her at a quiet beach cottage. Days later, Jamie returned home, leaving only a good-bye note for Gabe. During the memorial visit, Jamie seeks out Gabe, who is still hurt from her abrupt departure the year before. They attempt to find their old footing, questioning whether their time in the cottage was real, or a 'shared experience' from their trauma. Throughout, Sussman (French Lessons) celebrates lovers, quiet healing, and the sweetness of the island and its people. Agent: Sally Wofford-Girand, Union Literary. (Mar.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

About the Author

Ellen Sussman is the author of the novels French Lessons and On a Night Like This, both national bestsellers. She has two daughters and lives with her husband in Northern California.

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 1 comment:

Silvers Reviews, March 19, 2013 (view all comments by Silvers Reviews)
Returning to beautiful Bali and reliving a nightmare was something Jamie had to do. The previous year she was injured in and her boyfriend was killed in the bombings in a night club in Bali. She still hadn't forgiven herself for saying no when her boyfriend, Miguel, asked her to marry him and for being the cause of Miguel's running into the night club that was bombed. Jamie also had another mission. She had to find Gabe, the person who saved her and helped her heal.

The book went back and forth in time right inside a sentence or paragraph...very clever. It was a bit tricky to keep track of what was going on, though. The writing was mostly dialogue. Each character had a death to deal with whether it was a child's death or another loved one, and each character felt responsible for the death.

THE PARADISE GUEST HOUSE is a book about healing, caring for others, and believing in another person. Despite this, it was just an ok read. The author did do a wonderful job with descriptions of the beautiful Bali landscapes and its caring people. 3/5

This book was won in a giveaway on Library Thing's website and in exchange for an honest review.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345522818
Author:
Sussman, Ellen
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Subject:
Literature-A to Z
Edition Description:
Trade paper
Publication Date:
20130331
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Language:
English
Pages:
288
Dimensions:
8 x 5.14 x 0.57 in 0.46 lb

Other books you might like

  1. The Racketeer
    Used Mass Market $2.95
  2. The Sunflower Used Trade Paper $2.95

Related Subjects

Featured Titles » General
Featured Titles » Literature
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Literature » Contemporary Women
Fiction and Poetry » Romance » Contemporary

The Paradise Guest House Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$9.95 In Stock
Product details 288 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780345522818 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Two survivors of Bali's terrorist bombing find love and spiritual rebirth on an island whose inhabitants believe in reincarnation in Sussman's touching panorama of paradise. When Jamie Hyde deplanes in Bali to attend the one-year memorial ceremony of the bombing, she instantly relives the 'color, noise, pain' of the nightclub attack that left her body scarred and her mind broken. An adventure guide, Jamie had been scouting for a new tour in Bali with her boyfriend, Miguel, when the bombs exploded in 2002. While frantically searching for Miguel, Jamie became involved in rescue efforts with Gabe Winters, an ex-pat, ex-journalist who had left Boston after a devastating tragedy, and had settled in Bali. When Jamie became trapped in the wreckage, Gabe saved her life and cared for her at a quiet beach cottage. Days later, Jamie returned home, leaving only a good-bye note for Gabe. During the memorial visit, Jamie seeks out Gabe, who is still hurt from her abrupt departure the year before. They attempt to find their old footing, questioning whether their time in the cottage was real, or a 'shared experience' from their trauma. Throughout, Sussman (French Lessons) celebrates lovers, quiet healing, and the sweetness of the island and its people. Agent: Sally Wofford-Girand, Union Literary. (Mar.)" Publishers Weekly (Starred Review) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.