Star Wars Sale
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN!

Weekly drawing for $100 credit. Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

More at Powell's


Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | June 20, 2014

Lisa Howorth: IMG So Many Books, So Many Writers



I'm not a bookseller, but I'm married to one, and Square Books is a family. And we all know about families and how hard it is to disassociate... Continue »
  1. $18.20 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Flying Shoes

    Lisa Howorth 9781620403013

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$17.95
List price: $26.00
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
4 Local Warehouse MEMOIR- WELLNESS

This title in other editions

The Heavy: A Mother, a Daughter, a Diet

by

The Heavy: A Mother, a Daughter, a Diet Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

For readers of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and Bringing Up Bebe, a mother’s unflinching memoir about helping her seven year-old daughter lose weight, and the challenges of modern parenting.

 

When a doctor pronounced Dara-Lynn Weiss’s daughter Bea obese at age seven, the mother of two knew she had to take action. But how can a woman with her own food and body issues—not to mention poor eating habits—successfully parent a little girl around the issue of obesity?

 

In this much-anticipated, controversial memoir, Dara-Lynn Weiss chronicles the struggle and journey to get Bea healthy. In describing their process—complete with frustrations, self-recriminations, dark humor, and some surprising strategies—Weiss reveals the hypocrisy inherent in the debates over many cultural hot-button issues: from processed snacks, organic foods, and school lunches to dieting, eating disorders, parenting methods, discipline, and kids’ self-esteem.

 

Compounding the challenge were eating environments—from school to restaurants to birthday parties—that set Bea up to fail, and unwelcome judgments from fellow parents. Childhood obesity, Weiss discovered, is a crucible not just for the child but also for the parents. She was criticized as readily for enabling Bea’s condition as she was for enforcing the discipline and, yes, the deprivation necessary to address it. Never before had Weiss been made to feel so wrong for trying to do the right thing.

 

The damned if you do/damned if you don’t predicament came into sharp relief when Weiss raised some of these issues in a Vogue article. Critics came out in full force, and Weiss unwittingly found herself at the center of an emotional and highly charged debate on childhood obesity.

 

A touching and relatable story of loving a child enough to be unpopular, The Heavy will leave readers applauding Weiss’s success, her bravery, and her unconditional love for her daughter.

About the Author

Dara-Lynn Weiss is a part-time freelance writer and producer of Internet, print, and television content. In March 2012, she wrote about helping her daughter lose weight in Vogue magazine’s “Up Front” column. She lives with her husband and two children in New York City.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780345541345
Author:
Weiss, Dara Lynn
Publisher:
Ballantine Books
Author:
Weiss, Dara-Lynn
Subject:
Biography - General
Publication Date:
20130131
Binding:
HARDCOVER
Language:
English
Pages:
256
Dimensions:
8.6 x 5.7 x 0.97 in 0.8 lb

Related Subjects

Biography » General
Engineering » Construction » General
Engineering » Home Construction » General
Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » Children's Health
Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » General
Health and Self-Help » Child Care and Parenting » Mothering
Health and Self-Help » Diet » General
Health and Self-Help » Health and Medicine » Medical Biographies
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
Health and Self-Help » Self-Help » Memoirs

The Heavy: A Mother, a Daughter, a Diet Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$17.95 In Stock
Product details 256 pages Ballantine Books - English 9780345541345 Reviews:
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.