Murakami Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | August 20, 2014

Julie Schumacher: IMG Dear Professor Fitger



Saint Paul, August 2014 Dear Professor Fitger, I've been asked to say a few words about you for Powells.com. Having dreamed you up with a ball-point... Continue »
  1. $16.07 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Dear Committee Members

    Julie Schumacher 9780385538138

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$4.95
List price: $6.99
Used Trade Paper
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Children's- Newbery Award Winners
2 Burnside Children's- Newbery Award Winners
3 Hawthorne Children's Young Adult- Newbery Award Winners

Other titles in the Yearling Newbery series:

When You Reach Me

by

When You Reach Me Cover

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 7 comments:

Erin M, July 28, 2011 (view all comments by Erin M)
This books feels like it was written a couple of decades ago, in a good way. It fits nicely into that YA subgenre of New York latchkey kids navigating interpersonal and family issues, and the time travel aspect is worked in seamlessly - it does nothing to pull you out of the fairly quiet and ordinary goings-on. It's very much written for middle readers (the central mystery, for instance, is not all that mysterious, and the brief discussions of time travel theory are at a pretty basic level), but it never talks down, and the emotions are so clear and natural that I never cared that I basically knew what was going on even when Miranda didn't.

The comparison to A Wrinkle in Time is obvious, of course, but it also bears similarities in tone and warmth to L'Engle's Austin family series (particularly The Young Unicorns, another New York-based mystery) - Miranda's family may not be quite as nuclear as the Austins, but the same down-to-earth, homey vibe is there.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
Kirstin Fearnley, January 28, 2011 (view all comments by Kirstin Fearnley)
2009's Newbery winner, this young adult novel is the story of a girl in 1970s New York who receives mysterious, prophetic messages which ask for a letter in return. Miranda, who's already having a rough year with her best friend no longer talking to her, must decide what it all means and what her role ultimately is going to be. This was a spectacularly good book and I'm so glad to have read it.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
previous  6-7 of 7

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375850868
Author:
Stead, Rebecca
Publisher:
Yearling Books
Author:
Berlin, Eric
Subject:
Family - General
Subject:
Lifestyles - City & Town Life
Subject:
Social Issues - Friendship
Subject:
Children s-General
Subject:
Situations / General
Subject:
Children s Middle Readers-General
Subject:
Interactive Adventures
Edition Description:
Paperback / softback
Publication Date:
20101231
Binding:
TRADE PAPER
Grade Level:
from 4 up to 9
Language:
English
Pages:
208
Dimensions:
27.75 x 10.5 x 6 in 6 lb
Age Level:
09-14

Other books you might like

  1. The House in the Night
    Used Hardcover $9.00
  2. The Tourist Used Trade Paper $7.50
  3. How Soccer Explains the World: An... Used Trade Paper $5.50
  4. Lamentations of the Father: Essays
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  5. Scalped, Volume 4: The Gravel in... Used Trade Paper $10.50
  6. California Studies in Food and... Used Trade Paper $15.50

Related Subjects


Children's » Awards » Newbery Award Winners
Children's » Awards » Oregon Reader's Choice Award
Children's » Featured Titles
Children's » General
Children's » Middle Readers » General
Children's » Middle Readers » Newbery Award Winners
Children's » Oregon Battle of the Books
Children's » Situations » General
Young Adult » Fiction » Newbery Award Winners

When You Reach Me Used Trade Paper
0 stars - 0 reviews
$4.95 In Stock
Product details 208 pages Yearling Books - English 9780375850868 Reviews:
"Review" by , "[W]hen all the sidewalk characters from Miranda's Manhattan world converge amid mind-blowing revelations and cunning details, teen readers will circle back to the beginning and say,'Wow ... cool.'"
"Review" by , "[T]he mental gymnastics required of readers are invigorating; and the characters, children, and adults are honest bits of humanity no matter in what place or time their souls rest."
"Review" by , "This unusual, thought-provoking mystery will appeal to several types of readers."
"Review" by , "Readers...are likely to find themselves chewing over the details of this superb and intricate tale long afterward."
"Review" by , "Smart and mesmerizing."
"Synopsis" by ,
For fans of The Westing Game and The 39 Clues, a third exciting Winston Breen adventure!
Winston Breen and his friends Mal and Jake accompany Mr. Penrose for a weekend of puzzles and games at the mansion of a famous musician. Over the course of the weekend, some guests’ prizes and belongings inexplicably disappear. As the group continues with the elaborate puzzles—which the reader is invited to solve too—some of the guests try to figure out who is stealing things, and others become suspects. But in the end it’s Winston who stumbles upon several clues, and eventually discovers the real culprit. A fast-paced whodunit, this latest Winston Beren installment will have readers hooked!
"Synopsis" by , Includes 6 copies of Liar & Spy (HC/9780385737432) and 3 copies of When You Reach Me (DG/9780375850868)
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.