The Good, the Bad, and the Hungry Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | July 22, 2014

Nick Harkaway: IMG The Florist-Assassins



The three men lit up in my mind's eye, with footnotes. They were converging on me — and on the object I was carrying — in a way that had... Continue »
  1. $18.87 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Tigerman

    Nick Harkaway 9780385352413

spacer

This item may be
out of stock.

Click on the button below to search for this title in other formats.


Check for Availability
Add to Wishlist

Brain Jack

by

Brain Jack Cover

 

Synopses & Reviews

Publisher Comments:

Another terrifying sci-fi page-turner from the author of The Tomorrow Code!

Las Vegas is gone—destroyed in a terrorist attack. Black Hawk helicopters patrol the skies over New York City. And immersive online gaming is the most dangerous street drug around. In this dystopic near-future, technology has leapt forward once again, and neuro-headsets have replaced computer keyboards. Just slip on a headset, and it’s the Internet at the speed of thought.

For teen hacker Sam Wilson, a headset is a must. But as he becomes familiar with the new technology, he has a terrifying realization. If anything on his computer is vulnerable to a hack, what happens when his mind is linked to the system? Could consciousness itself be hijacked? Before he realizes what’s happened, Sam’s incursion against the world’s largest telecommunications company leads him to the heart of the nation’s cyberdefense network and brings him face to face with a terrifying and unforeseen threat.

Brian Falkner, author of The Tomorrow Code, has created an action-packed and thought-provoking science fiction adventure in which a brilliant young computer hacker fights to prevent the human race from being deleted.

Fans of Cory Doctorow’s Little Brother and M. T. Anderson’s Feed will love this high-octane techno thriller.

Synopsis:

In a near-future New York City, fourteen-year-old computer genius Sam Wilson manages to hack into the AT&T network and sets off a chain of events that have a profound effect on human activity throughout the world.

About the Author

Since his childhood, Brian Falkner has been surrounded by computers. His older brother built one out of spare parts, and Brian was programming it at a time when nobody could imagine the PC revolution that was to come. As computers developed, so did Brian’s love affair with them. His first major in college was computer science.

Brian has been fascinated by the gradual emergence of the cyberworld alongside the real one. When he read the first articles about neurotechnology, he was hooked, seeing this as the start of the convergence of those two worlds.

In the real world, Brian lives in the beautiful country of New Zealand, in the South Pacific. In the cyberworld, you can find him at www.brianfalkner.com.

Product Details

ISBN:
9780375893230
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Subject:
Fiction : Mystery & Detective - General
Author:
Falkner, Brian
Author:
Brian Falkner
Subject:
Juvenile Fiction : Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Juvenile Fiction : Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Fantasy & Magic
Subject:
Action & Adventure - General
Subject:
Science Fiction, Fantasy, & Magic
Subject:
Children s-Science Fiction and Fantasy
Subject:
Children s Young Adult-General
Subject:
Children s-Adventure Stories
Subject:
main_subject
Subject:
all_subjects
Publication Date:
20100928
Binding:
ELECTRONIC
Language:
English
Pages:
368

Related Subjects

Children's » Action and Adventure » Adventure Stories
Children's » General
Children's » Historical Fiction » Military and War
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » General
Children's » Science Fiction and Fantasy » Science Fiction

Brain Jack
0 stars - 0 reviews
$ In Stock
Product details 368 pages Random House Children's Books - English 9780375893230 Reviews:
"Synopsis" by , In a near-future New York City, fourteen-year-old computer genius Sam Wilson manages to hack into the AT&T network and sets off a chain of events that have a profound effect on human activity throughout the world.
spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.