The Fictioning Horror Sale
 
 

Recently Viewed clear list


Original Essays | September 15, 2014

Lois Leveen: IMG Forsooth Me Not: Shakespeare, Juliet, Her Nurse, and a Novel



There's this writer, William Shakespeare. Perhaps you've heard of him. He wrote this play, Romeo and Juliet. Maybe you've heard of it as well. It's... Continue »
  1. $18.19 Sale Hardcover add to wish list

    Juliet's Nurse

    Lois Leveen 9781476757445

spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Hardcover
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
1 Beaverton Psychology- General

More copies of this ISBN

The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science That Could Save Your Life

by

The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science That Could Save Your Life Cover

ISBN13: 9780446580243
ISBN10: 0446580244
Condition: Standard
Dustjacket: Standard
All Product Details

Only 1 left in stock at $5.95!

 

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 2 comments:

C Horne, March 11, 2009 (view all comments by C Horne)
Here's a club everyone wants to be a member of. It's probably human nature to wonder if you have what it takes to survive in a crisis. This thought-provoking book not only profiles dozens and dozens of people who have done just that, it also gives you a way to grade yourself on your likely survivorship, and tips on how to raise your score. You even learn which seats on an airplane are the safest (be near an exit, and forget about that window seat).

The three rules of the Survivors Club, according to author Ben Sherwood, are that everyone is a survivor, one person's crisis can't be compared to another's, and people are stronger than they know. Attitude has a lot to do with it. If you see yourself as a survivor, you'll likely be one.

You learn many of the reasons why people do not survive. One is called the Incredulity Response -- people simply don't believe what they are seeing. Two gripping stories bring this idea to life. In the first, a car-ferry sinking in the Baltic Sea, many victims didn't move or try to get out of the sinking ship, but were rather "frozen to the spot" looking like "marble statues, pale and immoveable." 852 passengers died. In the second story, a fire in London's Underground train station killed 31 people, with many commuters marching "right into the disaster, almost oblivious to the crush of people -- some actually in flames -- who were trying to escape."

"Brainlock" is another reason some people in crisis die. They respond to the shock of the situation by forgetting to think. "Under stress... people often display memory problems. They seem to forget what they're supposed to do." This isn't good if you're skydiving. As Sherwood puts it, "panic is the archenemy of survival."

The final section of the book is devoted to helping you understand your own survivor potential, with quizzes to take and a website to visit.

Reading this book will make you think about how you live your life, and ways to ensure you can keep on living. It's fascinating.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
B&b ex libris, March 3, 2009 (view all comments by B&b ex libris)
We all face difficult situations, but some people are resilient and some are not. Who is able to come out of tragedy or overcome a circumstance and survive? Survivors. Ben Sherwood describes survivors as those making the best of their remaining days no matter if it is 50 years after the situation or 3 days. They are overcomers, people who move on, walk forward with head held high. Sherwood interviews people who have overcome all different types of struggles, and obstacles and whom he considers to be survivors. At the end of the book the reader has the opportunity to see if he/she is a survivor and what are the strengths that she/he relies on to make it through tough times.

I LOVED this book. There is so much about The Survivors Club that appealed to me. It resolves mystery, gives explanations of ways the mind works, and brings psychology to the forefront of the study. I have always (well since High school) been interested why people survive when others don't. Some people go through hard times over and over and they aren't any worse for the ware, then other people seem to hit a slight speed bump and their whole world goes out the window. What is the difference between the two? How can someone survive the holocaust and then another person cannot cope with the death of a pet? The Survivors Club argues that it depends on resiliency, and if you are a survivor and good at coping or if you aren't. The most effective survivors reach deep within themselves and find the strength to live through it, whatever the 'it' may be.

Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(1 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
View all 2 comments

Product Details

ISBN:
9780446580243
Subtitle:
The Secrets and Science that Could Save Your Life
Author:
Sherwood, Ben
Author:
Author
Publisher:
Grand Central Publishing
Subject:
Accidents
Subject:
Medical emergencies
Subject:
General
Subject:
Safety
Subject:
Social Psychology
Subject:
Personal Growth - General
Subject:
Motivational & Inspirational
Subject:
Survival skills
Subject:
General Self-Help
Copyright:
Publication Date:
20100203
Binding:
CD-audio
Language:
English
Illustrations:
Y
Pages:
400
Dimensions:
9.23x6.24x1.29 in. 1.32 lbs.

Other books you might like

  1. Secret Ingredients: The New Yorker... Used Hardcover $6.95
  2. Life Is a Verb: 37 Days to Wake Up,...
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  3. Pain Free for Women: The... Used Trade Paper $12.50
  4. The Last American Man
    Used Trade Paper $7.50
  5. Deep Survival: Who Lives, Who Dies,...
    Used Trade Paper $6.50
  6. Little Pink House: A True Story of... Used Hardcover $14.00

Related Subjects

Business » General
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » Cognitive Behavioral Therapy
Health and Self-Help » Psychology » General
Reference » Science Reference » General
Science and Mathematics » Agriculture » General
Sports and Outdoors » Outdoors » General

The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science That Could Save Your Life Used Hardcover
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 400 pages Grand Central Publishing - English 9780446580243 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Sherwood (The Man Who Ate the 747), a writer for the L.A. Times, travels worldwide to gain insight from people who have survived a slew of near fatal phenomena ranging from a mountain lion attack to a Holocaust concentration camp, and interviewing an array of experts to understand the psychology, genetics and jumble of other little things that determines whether we live or die. Readers curious about their own 'survivor profile' can take an Internet test, which is explained in the book's later pages. Sherwood's assertion that survival is 'a way of perceiving the world around you' is enlightening, as are some of the facts he uncovers: you have 90 seconds to leave a plane crash before the cabin temperature becomes unbearable; luck has more to do with personal perspective than chance. But Sherwood's balance of self-help, scientific theories and first-rate reporting is diminished by occasionally overwrought prose as well as the countless survivors' stories, which can run together in a touchy-feely stream of faith and optimism." Publishers Weekly (Copyright Reed Business Information, Inc.)
"Synopsis" by , From a New York Times bestselling author and award-winning journalist comes a fascinating exploration of survival that can help prepare you for life's inevitable struggles, from cancer and crime to car accidents and airplane crashes.

Scientists use the phrase human factors in survival. Translation: Why do some people live and others die? Why do some bounce back and others surrender? THE SURVIVORS CLUB answers these questions with inspirational true stories, cutting-edge research, and the author's behind-the-scenes adventures in the US Navy and Air Force survival schools and the FAA's airplane evacuation course.

In the tradition of Freakonomics and The Tipping Point, THE SURVIVORS CLUB investigates the hidden side of life--and death--including:

  • why some people really have all the luck
  • if the will to live makes any difference

  • how much can the human body endure
Readers will be able to take an exclusive Internet-based test called the Survivor Profiler to find out their Survivor Type and Survivor IQ.

Each one of us eventually joins the club of millions who face life's inescapable tribulations and tragedies. THE SURVIVORS CLUB is the companion we need to prepare us for and guide us through the worst.

"Synopsis" by , We are a nation battered every day by stories about horrific calamities, tragic events, frightening statistics. Inevitably our thoughts turn personal and we wonder if we have what it takes to get through the worst thrown our way. While there are plenty of books about coping with adversity, it isn't until now, with WHO SURVIVES, that we discover the human factors that determine survival. It's a combination instruction audiobook and security blanket that blends compelling true stories with cutting-edge science to deliver some of the most important lessons we'll ever need to learn.

The book will:

--list the most important traits necessary for survival (Fear is #1.)

--identify the 5 types of survivors

--debunk myths (like only the strong survive), explore the frontiers of survival science (How much strain and punishment can a human body endure?), and introduce readers to counterintuitive thinking (Ever heard of posttraumatic growth?)

--provide a Survivors Tool Kit, including an online test that measures one's Survivor's Quotient

Each one of us eventually joins the club of millions who face life's inescapable tribulations and tragedies. WHO SURVIVES is the companion we need to prepare us for and guide us through the worst.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top
Follow us on...




Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.