Master your Minecraft
 
 

Special Offers see all

Enter to WIN a $100 Credit

Subscribe to PowellsBooks.news
for a chance to win.
Privacy Policy

Tour our stores


    Recently Viewed clear list


    Best Books of the Year | December 9, 2014

    Aubrey: IMG Best YA Fiction of 2014



    So what is with all the hullabaloo about young adult literature these days? Do we have John Green to blame for getting us sucked in to the tragic... Continue »

    spacer
Qualifying orders ship free.
$5.95
Used Mass Market
Ships in 1 to 3 days
Add to Wishlist
Qty Store Section
5 Beaverton Mystery- A to Z

Killing Floor

by

Killing Floor Cover

 

Out of Print

What Our Readers Are Saying

Add a comment for a chance to win!
Average customer rating based on 6 comments:

Tinu, June 19, 2012 (view all comments by Tinu)
There are sixteen Lee Child - Jack Reacher novels, but I decided to start with Vol. 1, the one that started it all. I can honestly say that after reading this one, I am well and truly hooked!

I enjoyed the unique way this story began, with Reacher being arrested for murder and then introducing himself to the reader through his interactions with the police who, at least initially, wish he were guilty. Reacher starts the investigation from the suspect side of the equation, and then gradually moves to the private investigator side. It was an interesting and enjoyable twist of roles.

It feels that Lee Child has indeed breathed life into the protagonist, who's far from perfect! Right from the start till its conclusion, it kept me enthralled and I can't wait to get cracking on the next book in the series.....
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(7 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)
Katherine Chance, February 16, 2011 (view all comments by Katherine Chance)
Nothing is better than finding a new author and a new series. I am now in love with do-it-all, know-it-all, ass-kicking complicated hero, Jack Reacher. Based on a recommendation from a fellow book lover, I picked up “Killing Floor” by Lee Childs. Being a fan of reading book series in order, I started with this novel as it is the first focusing on ex-military police officer, Reacher.

Aside from introducing us to a new first-class leading man, the story itself is a twisted, clever mystery adventure set in a sleepy small southern town. Included in the suspense is a cast of well crafted supporting characters. A clever, star-crossed romantic angle is the icing on the cake.

If you’re a fan of novels driven by strong heroes in the vein of Lucas Davenport and Bobby Lee Swagger, “Killing Floor” will not disappoint.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(2 of 2 readers found this comment helpful)
Erica Horne, April 9, 2009 (view all comments by Erica Horne)
Wow, what a book! Lee Child has given us perhaps the most interesting and complex hero in some time. Jack Reacher is Clint Eastwood, John Wayne and Arnold Schwarzenegger rolled into one...but with much more personality and pizzazz! I'm only sorry it's taken me so long to read Mr. Child's book!
The story is a riveting one, focusing on Jack's involvement in a crime in a small town in Georgia. Boy, does he make a mistake in deciding to stop off in this little burg, just to find out about a blue singing legend named Blind Blake. But, what a story unfolds. The dialogue is brisk, economical, and very involving! Along with Jack, there are a ton of characters that are so remarkably fleshed out and described, you would think this was a true crime story!

There are scenes of nail-biting action; very graphic and disturbing scenes of violence; and amidst all this some really well-written scenes of sensitivity and poignancy. Jack's meeting with an old lady who once knew the old blues legend is outstanding in its emotional punch! Paul Hubble, the neurotic banker; Roscoe, the beautiful policewoman; Finlay, the chief of detectives; and the evil villains are some of the best written characters in recent mystery fiction.

What is so amazing about this book is the way Lee Child has not only woven a complex murder mystery, but also a chilling tale of greed, madness, and lost loves and lives.

This is an emotional, wrenching debut, and I cannot wait to start in on the rest of this series!

Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(3 of 5 readers found this comment helpful)
Dan Culver, January 13, 2009 (view all comments by Dan Culver)
Great first novel, gripping.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 10 readers found this comment helpful)
redrockbookworm, July 22, 2008 (view all comments by redrockbookworm)
Driving along Interstate 15 and enjoying another adventure with Jack Reacher made the miles just fly by. Didn't realize that "The Killing Floor" was the inception of the Jack Reacher character and series since I had either read or listened to other books by this author that featured this tough ex-military cop character and the stories are such that they do not have to be read in any particular order to be enjoyed. I did notice that a lot of the Reacher adventures seem to begin with our heroic drifter sitting in a restaurant enjoying a cup of coffee or eating breakfast when a chance occurrence pulls him into yet another crime situation awaiting his particular brand of expertise. This one is no exception.

Jack takes us down south for this thrill ride, to a sleepy little town called Margrave, Georgia. A murder has been committed and of course our hero is arrested for the foul deed since he is the only "stranger" in the area............and of course none of the upright town folk could have possibly committed the dirty deed. It appears that everyone has a part to play in this escapade from the local police chief and his assistant (a black cop who has relocated from the Boston area) to a couple of ancient town barbers, to a bank executive and even the FBI.

The story is liberally peppered with vicious bad guys committing brutal acts, damsels in distress, slimy town fathers, an ingenious scam, and enough action and surprises to keep you interested and on your toes (like the identity of the victim for whose murder Jack has been arrested).

Our fast thinking hero's abilities are put to the test, and of course he passes with flying colors. Give Jack and his creator, Lee Child, a B- on this one. 3 ½ stars.
Was this comment helpful? | Yes | No
(5 of 7 readers found this comment helpful)
 1-5 of 6 next

Product Details

ISBN:
9780515141429
Author:
Child, Lee
Publisher:
Jove
Author:
Child, Lee, Editor/Steve
Subject:
Georgia
Subject:
Mystery & Detective - General
Subject:
Private investigators
Subject:
General Fiction
Subject:
Mystery fiction
Subject:
Mystery-A to Z
Subject:
Suspense
Subject:
Thrillers
Subject:
Writing Skills
Copyright:
Edition Description:
Mass market paperback
Series:
Jack Reacher
Series Volume:
1
Publication Date:
20070828
Binding:
Paperback
Grade Level:
from 12
Language:
English
Pages:
544
Dimensions:
7.58x4.34x1.14 in. .66 lbs.
Age Level:
from 18

Other books you might like

  1. Dead Watch Used Mass Market $3.50
  2. Cold Service (Spenser Mysteries) Used Mass Market $1.50
  3. Infernal (Repairman Jack Novels) Used Mass Market $3.95
  4. A Small Death in Lisbon Used Mass Market $3.50
  5. Tell No One
    Used Mass Market $3.50
  6. The Third Option
    Used Mass Market $3.50

Related Subjects

Fiction and Poetry » Mystery » A to Z
Fiction and Poetry » Popular Fiction » Contemporary Thrillers

Killing Floor Used Mass Market
0 stars - 0 reviews
$5.95 In Stock
Product details 544 pages Jove Books - English 9780515141429 Reviews:
"Publishers Weekly Review" by , "Child writes with a hand as strong and steady as steel." Publishers Weekly
"Review" by , "Child...stretches coincidence outrageously in this would-be noir outing, whose hero is creepily amoral, violent, and generally unpleasant."
"Review" by , "Despite the crude, tough-naif narration, debut novelist Child serves up a big, rangy plot, menace as palpable as a ticking bomb, and enough battered corpses to make an undertaker grin."
"Synopsis" by ,
See Jack Reacher now in his first major motion picture.

When a woman is kidnapped off a Chicago street in broad daylight, Jack Reacher’s in the wrong place at the wrong time. He’s kidnapped with her. Chained together and racing across America toward an unknown destination, they’re at the mercy of a group of men demanding an impossible ransom. Because Reacher’s female companion is worth more than he imagines. Now he has to save them both—from the inside out—or die trying…

"Synopsis" by ,

Across the country women are being murdered by a killer who leaves no evidence, no wounds, no signs of struggle, and no clues to a motive. They are perfect crimes. In fact, only one thing links each victim: they all knew Jack Reacher.

spacer
spacer
  • back to top

FOLLOW US ON...

     
Powell's City of Books is an independent bookstore in Portland, Oregon, that fills a whole city block with more than a million new, used, and out of print books. Shop those shelves — plus literally millions more books, DVDs, and gifts — here at Powells.com.